We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #18 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    598
    161
    69
    40
See reviews for
343
874
204
522
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only had one night in Munich and chose to stay here as it was close to the old part of town. Easy to find and get into car park. Car was parked for us. Reception was very helpful even giving us ideas on where to go and see some sights and directions. Inside the beautiful old building it is very modern and clean. Our rooms were of good size and the bathroom was really well set out with two shower heads and a seat in the shower. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Every member of staff strives for making our guests stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost one of highest quality and service. We are glad to surprise our guests by always giving a little more than expected. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Sofitel Munich is located right next to the main train station. Although this means it is very conveniently located for transport to the airport and also close to Munich attractions, the immediate area around the train station is seedy, ugly, and uninviting. The hotel itself is modern and stylish. They actually seem to have placed a completely new, purpose-built construction inside the old 19th century facade. The standard room I stayed in was small - too small for my liking - and lacked a bathtub. Otherwise, the room was tastefully designed and well equipped (nespresso machine, kettle, good stereo). One negative is the lack of elevators. There is only one central elevator lobby with four elevators and if you are unlucky like I was, your room is more than a hundred metres away from it and you have to trek for what seems like an eternity through long, winding corridors. The spa is beautiful with a unique kind of swimming grotto and a nice sauna and steam bath. There is a nice bar as well, but EUR 15 for a normal glass of white wine is a crazy price, even in that kind of hotel. Service was flawless; very, very good and friendly. If it were not for the awful immediate surroundings of the hotel, I would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room not too far from elevators to avoid long and confusing corridor expeditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. As you well have noticed our hotel was built within the historical façade of the old Bayerpost, formerly a major post office in Munich. Design is a core element of Sofitel hotels always connecting local history with a French touch. A lot of details reflect this throughout the entire hotel as for example our front desk reminding of counters at an old post office.

It is our most important goal to offer our guests a remarkable experience of quality and service in an atmosphere of calm and relaxation. I am glad that we reached this goal during your time of stay even though we did not meet all your expectations.

Thank you again for your recommendation.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A simply fantastic experience to stay at the Sofitel Munich next to the main railway station. Notable are the great rooms with ecerything you need to lock the door and relax in the tub, watch TV (slides back & forth for room or bathroom viewing!), sample room service and the minibar. Next is the great pool & spa with it's subterrainean atmosphere. Finally indulge and 'go European' in the unisex steam room, ice baths & showers and sauna - just pray that you don't share the experience with an obese businessman.

Room Tip: Don't be concerned at all about the trains nearby - you won't hear/feel them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for all your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a great time at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel with unbelievably comfortable beds, just what we needed after 20 hours of travel from the US West Coast. The location was excellent, across the parking lot from the main train station and a few minutes to all the restaurants and shops. If I return to Munich, I will definitely return to the Sofitel!

Room Tip: A littlle pricy but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is our most important goal to make our guests feel at home. All our beds are equipped with the MyBed-System offering a high sleeping comfort. The interior design of the entire hotel adds to this by creating a relaxing atmosphere. It is great to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A truly lovely stay. We stayed in the "Suite Natural" - which is a beautiful wood themed room and one I would highly recommend.

The staff were all very helpful, the hotel was immaculate and room service breakfast was fantastic. The only thing that lets the hotel down if I am being super critical, is the location which is right by the station. Not because of any train noise as there was none, but because of the busy road and pedestrian traffic you have to cope with when you walk out. Once you get past this though its fine.

We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost in general and our Suite Naturelle. All eight of our Opera suites have their own design theme. The Suite Naturelle is designed al around Bavarian nature with such small details as the pair of carpet slippers at the foot of the bed.

I hope to welcome you again soon, maybe to another Opera suite?

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

What a great surprise when we arrived in the hotel - architecture and ambience were outstanding. The front desk and the concierge team were kind and provided an exceptional service. We got a room upgrade since we were in honeymoon; as we arrived earlier than check-in time, the front desk team storage our luggages while our room wasn`t ready and committed to call us while it was and advised us to take our time in Munich. When we returned, our luggage were already in the room and it was amazing. The size and amenities are excellent (Nespresso machine in the room? Love it!!). We didn`t have time to enjoy the SPA and swimming pool, but we went there just to see and we loved it. The downside was the price of breakfast, 33 Euro per person, which is almost a lunch in a nice restaurant nearby for a couple. One night we had dinner in the Bistro at the entrance of the hotel and the waitress also provided amazing dinner service. If you had an opportunity to stay in this luxury hotel, please do it, as the experience you will face will remark in your memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your fantastic stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time at the Bayerpost. Every day we do our best to surprise our guests with small and unexpected details. Thank you for appreciating our efforts and for all the nice words that I gladly shared with our team.

I hope we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Business Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.