We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel at great location but ...staff needs more training and supervision” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel at great location but ...staff needs more training and supervision”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel has a very modern European contemporary design and it is just 100 meters away from the Munich Central Railway Station with easy access to the main shopping area at Kaufinger Strasse. It is well maintained and it offers state-of-the-art equipment in the rooms, including hi-fi, TV Internet access and Nespresso coffee machine. Bed is really comfortable but the hotel should also offer some thinner pillows for those who cannot sleep on highly elevated pillow.

I have noticed a great deal of confusion among staff from the reception to the concierge desk. There is no seamless coordination between the various departments, so you need to explain several times what you need. There was a kind of "supervisor" strolling between the reception and the entrance who was totally useless. When there was a backlog of people at the reception he did not interfere to call additional receptionists. The "I am sorry" attitude could not relieve guests and reduce their waiting time. He was also trying to ask people near the front door why they were waiting, while they were simply waiting for their cabs to come... The Concierge Desk also had communication problems between the team members. On departure they have forgotten to put my suit hanger in the cab so I had to go to the storage room and look for it myself...

I believe that some more training and supervision of the staff will be beneficial for all parties concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear that our hotel convinced you with its quality and offers.

I am sorry that you perceived confusion among the staff. We will continue to take a serious look at how we go about managing exceptionally busy times in our lobby and at the reception. A manager available in the lobby is supposed to help with the coordination among front office staff. I apologize if on the day of your departure we did not meet your expectations.

I hope that you will give us a chance to prove that we can do better.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    634
    174
    79
    43
See reviews for
365
931
209
566
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A 2 minutes walk to the train station to reach Munchen airport stressless, 5 minutes to the city centre, the Sofitel Munchen is a perfect place to stay in the Bayern capital: contemporany decoration, nice room with all required equipment, and a must with a great italian shower...
An all you can eat breakfast with delicious home made cocktail fruits to help you to fight the frozen december weather....
Don.t miss it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Offering our guests our best service and quality in a relaxing atmosphere with all the advantages of our location in central Munich is our most central goal. I am glad that we achieved this during your stay. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

comfortable, good services, lovely dinner and great spa facility! nice interior, modern decor and convenient location! good for city break, close to main attractions and central station for day trips as well as travel to nearby countries!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for appreciating our efforts to make our guests' stay a relaxing experience of quality and service. It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Fantastic hotel- perfectly located by the train station, and walking distance to the Christmas markets (7 minute walk to one end of marineplatz- Christmas markets)
The hotel has all the modern features needed-, with a spacious room.

Nice to get Hermes toiletries too!

Highly recommended- I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

We love to always give a little more than expected to make our guests feel at home at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel design is great. Good looking Public area i.e. lobby and etc. Love the lighting treatments in room. Sliding doors connected between room and bathroom are frosted glass and another one is mirror. When you slide to shut the door, you still can see the light coming out from the bed light behind the frosted glass, created nice atmosphere. I stay in a standard room. The size is good. have sufficient storage for m baggage and stuffs. Good circulation in room. Bath accessory is Hermes!

The hotel staff is helpful and friendly. The location is very convenience. You can find good food and grocery in the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for all your kind words. It is a pleasure to hear that our guests appreciate the design of our hotel and especially the lighting which is a core element of our interior design.

I hope to welcome you again soon at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although we booked the highest available category in the Rooms, the view was awful. We complained to the staff several times. They didn't do any thing for 2 days and on 3rd day they offered an upreared but a paid one. We have been to hotels with no membership and we were upgraded free of charge after facing similar problems. Furthermore, the options for the in room dining are limited. The bed sheets were dirty but were not replaced for 2 days. I don't believe that we will book in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Our most important goal is to make each guest feel at home with our best quality and service. Unfortunately we didn't achieve this in your case.

We always strive to give our guests the best rooms in the booked category. Since our hotel is placed right next to the main train station in the city center the view might on some floors not be a highlight. If possible we offer our guests a change of rooms should they desire so. I am sorry that apparently we didn't communicate that to you quite clearly.

If bed linen is dirty, of course, you are completely right expecting it to be changed during cleaning process. I thank you for this remark as we use it to train our staff again on the details of stayover-room cleanliness.

I hope that you will give us a chance to prove that what you experienced did not meet our own high standards.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Business Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.