We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophies Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #19 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
“Sophies Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Room was great. Check In and Check out work without any hasitations. Was the best dinner experience I ever had! Especially the service was great in sophies bistro. The waiter paid attention to everything and was very ploite. You could see the passion for profesion. I'm really looking forward for my next dinner their!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    631
    172
    79
    43
See reviews for
365
918
208
565
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The Sofitel hotel is placed perfectly around all the city attractions in Munich, Germany. The staff are very kind and helpful, always at the ready to help with a map, plus they speak a variety of languages. The breakfast at the hotel is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a birthday treat for him. On checking in the reception staff were pleasant and welcoming, if rather "stiff"". When we got to our room we couldn't believe how dirty the room was! The partial wooden floor was filthy and sticky. There was some sort of scum on the bathroom window, the taps and sinks were dirty, and when we decided to have a coffee, as there was an espresso machine in the room, even the cups were dirty and hadn't been cleaned! This is all from a supposed 5 star hotel????

When i went down to reception to ask to be moved to another room, the pleasant welcome soon disappeared and I was told Housekeeping would be sent up. Sure enough a maid appeared with a mop, but she was appalled at the state of the room. Eventually we had to be firm and state that we required another room, after some debate we were shown to another room, and although cleaner, (but also very tired, chipped furniture, stained carpet in areas) the view was absolutely dismal.

We had planned a birthday celebration dinner in the hotel, but after the dirt we experienced there was no way we were about to chance eating in the hotel, so that was a real disappointment. I have since written to the hotel and received a letter from the manager stating that on our next stay we could have an upgrade to our room!! Shouldn't this have been offered on our original stay?!

We've stayed many times at the Pullman Hotel in Cologne which is a 4 Star hotel, another Accor hotel, it's immaculate in every way, the staff are so friendly and helpful and the food is fabulous........time to take a leaf out of their book, Sofitel Munich.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my wife and 2 year old daughter and had a perfect stay. The hotel has an off-street parking area in front of the entrance to use when checking in and out and secured underground parking, which was a plus having arrived by car. When we checked it, the front desk saw our daughter and immediately offered to put an extra bed in the room for us. By the time we got up to our room, hotel staff was already almost finishing setting up the twin bed.

The rooms themselves are very nice, with good beds and bathrooms and are very quiet. Our room overlooked the train station but we never heard a thing. The rooms seem very well soundproofed.

The breakfast buffet is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I am sorry this is going to be a very short review but my husband and I only spent one night at this hotel and so I didn't really have time to experience everything about it. Overall, it was a great hotel.

I loved a ton of things about this hotel. Lots of storage space for our luggage, free wifi, a docking station for an iPhone, lots of easily accessible power outlets, nice shower and bathroom, efficient staff, had our room ready early, convenient location, and a helpful concierge.

We only had one complaint, I asked for a queen and instead we had two twins pushed together, which I could have dealt with except they made the bed with two twin comforters which makes snuggling a little less cuddly.

Room Tip: Its more of a hotel for couples rather than families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The hotel itself is situated right next to the central train station which is comfortable for people arriving by train. The interior of the hotel is truly unusual. The rooms are quite small with a bathroom door that opens sideways. There is not much privacy because of all the glass in the room, but it's really not that bad. The beds are very comfortable and the room is very well-lit and decorated.
The breakfasts are very expensive, depending on your choice, prices vary from 29-49 Euro (Per Person). We found the prices very expensive so we decided to eat at a bistro across the road.

The Spa is also very well-decorated and well taken care of. There is a nice steam-bath and sauna, and a very uncanny pool with a sort-of 'labyrinth'.

The hotel staff is very helpful and professional as well as sophisticated.
This was truly a great hotel to stay in Munich.

Room Tip: Book a suite if you enjoy more space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed on 15/16 August, check in was a breeze, good upscale lobby and sitting areas. Room is a bit small, but EuroTech and very quiet- lots of little extras here and there and very comfortable bed.

Had some drinks in the bar, checked out the spa and pool, had great service at all areas, good value, a different eclectic spa experience- the pool in itself is interesting enough by itself.

The immediate neighborhood is a bit seedy, being right next to the main train station, just as it would be in any city, but a quick 10 min walk down the street gets you into high-end shopping, the Glockenspiel, and of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

We ended up having to leave about 0500 and the restaurant coffe shop was not open, but the desk staff poured us a cup from their own pot- good friendly and very courteous service- definitely worth the money to stay here, and the price was very reasonable

Room Tip: Can be a bit of a walk to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#8 Business Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#15 Family Hotel in Munich
#20 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.