We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Wallasey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We wanted a family friendly hotel and the Laimer Hof is certainly this. We had a lovely cosy room on the first floor and our Daughter Son in law & 2 grandchildren aged 5 & 3 had a very large family room on the ground floor.The breakfast room was really nice and there was plenty of variety to choose from for breakfast. Sebastian and his staff are very helpful showing you how to get to different places and were to have nice meals in walking from the hotel.The Nymphenburg Palace is a short walk away and well worth a visit. There is public transport a short walk from the hotel that takes you to city. We would recommend the Hotel Laimer Hof for your stay in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    254
    60
    18
    1
See reviews for
357
702
62
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our group has visited Germany the 1st week of Advent for the past 22 years and stayed in a total of 25 hotels (all 3 star). Without any doubt, the Laimer Hof was the very BEST. From the moment we arrived until the morning we departed Sebastian and his staff couldn't make us feel more welcome or offered more service. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfast room was charming and offered a variety of fruit, meats, cheeses, eggs and cereals and the delicious brochen. This hotel is in an excellent location. You can safely walk the neighborhood at all hours and public transportation was very close. The apartment was extremely spacious and is great for a family or 3-4 adults. A short walk to Hirchberger Gardens brings you to the largest beer garden in Germany and much nicer than the more famous Hofbrau Haus. Highly recommend you try this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I had an absolutely amazing experience. The staff was so incredibly friendly and the hotel had a fantastic bed and breakfast feel. Although it was only a one night stay, the staff was wonderful at helping us navigate Münich and all the wonderful sights. I highly recommend that anyone looking to stay in Münich chooses Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here with my family the first two nights I was in Germany. I arrived in Munich with my wife and 2 small children early in the morning. Our rooms weren't ready yet but the hotel staff rushed to get them ready so we could rest. We waited in the lobby while they served us drinks and snacks (from the breakfast buffet). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were on the third floor, but you should know there is no elevator. The breakfast was very good. I would call a continental plus. There were lunch meats, boiled eggs, pates, cereals, fruits, pastries and a nice selection of juices. It was not very expensive and they let our children eat free. We were walking distance to the Nymphenburg Palace and many restaurants including the best beer garden I visited in Munich, Königlichen Hirschgarten. It was the best because it had by far the best food menu of any that I tried in Munich, and we tried several. The hotel was also in walking distance of the train which took us right into the city. The staff is what really makes this hotel great though. They were above and beyond courteous and helpful. They provided us with recommendations, directions and help that were all just what we needed. I very pleasant stay overall and mostly due to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. We were made most welcome and, several days before arriving, we were given very useful information about travel from the airport to the hotel. Our room was spacious, warm and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. Everybody was friendly and very helpful. Although the hotel appears to be on the fringe of the city, it is, in fact, within very easy reach of the centre via the excellent tram system.
We have just booked again at the Laimer Hof for a few days in the new year! Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I was traveling with a friend last month and we enjoyed our stay at the Laimer Hof. This hotel is located outside the heart of Munich's main urban center which allowed for some peace and quiet while still being accessible to sites around town. We did hit one snag upon arrival in that the Laimer Hof website allowed us to book a single bed with an extra bed added to the room for a small cost. Apparently, they don't typically do this because the single rooms are too small to accommodate an extra bed, but they were able to make this work in our case. I believe they were going to look into their website options in order to remedy this for future guests. This caused only a slight hiccup, and the rest of our stay went very smoothly. The staff is incredibly helpful with making tourist recommendations as well as offering discount train advice. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintore, Aberdeenshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, and were not disappointed. From the minute we walked into the reception for the first time, we received a great welcome. Also given loads of information (without even asking).
The room was a bit on the small side, but we were out every day. It was spotless as was the bathroom, and lovely and warm.
Continental breakfast was good, plenty of choice each day.
Every day, there were different staff working as well as regulars. Their wealth of knowledge was really good when deciding what to do with ourselves. We mentioned that buying a train ticket was a bit complicated at the stations. No problem! We purchased all of our tickets through the hotel, and of course, the staff were able to advise us on the best tickets for our journeys.
Like other guests have said, location of local transport is not far, and there are a few good restaurants nearby, excellent.
On our return to the hotel at night, we sat in the little lobby, which indeed, was like a small living room. It was nice to have some wine at the end of the day with fellow guests. And of course, Sebastion was the perfect host.
Would recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to stay their again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Business Hotel in Munich
#33 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.