We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bavarian Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Montville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Bavarian Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had 2 nights here on our working trip through Germany. Sebastian and Jan are incredibly helpful, and very friendly. We were made to feel very welcome from the start. The rooms are relatively small, but there is a communal living area where you can relax and order a coffee, or wine! Free wifi for multiple devices throughout the property is a welcomed inclusion. The hotel is in a beautiful part of Munich within walking distance to public transport. There are also plenty of restaurants in the region, and it is a short stroll to the Hirshgarten, which Sebastian assures us is the largest Beergarden in the world! This hotel will be definitely one we will return to for our next stay in Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    292
    69
    18
    3
See reviews for
398
805
74
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife, 9 year old son and I stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for 5 days in August 2013. The best thing about this hotel is Sebastian and his staff. They were incredibly helpful to us and they speak excellent English so there is nothing lost in translation. They were able to point us in the right direction for tram and subway stops and even sold us the tickets. Sebastian told us about the Sea Life place, the Deutches Museum and everything else we wanted to know about. The location is only a few blocks from the tram stop where we easily caught the tram downtown to shopping and the subway. It's also only a few blocks walk to Hirschgarten, the most amazing beer garden ever!! The rooms are pretty basic but had everything we needed. The breakfast was great. When we arrived at the airport in Munich, we took a taxi to the hotel which cost us 75 Euro. Sebastian sold us a train ticket for 20 Euro which took us straight to the airport for our trip home. I can't emphasize this enough -- the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our recent trip to Munich I booked the Hotel Laimer Hof by recomendations from TripAdvisor, Were they correct. We loved this place. We arrived by tram 16 to the Romanplatz stop and walked to the hotel.
As soon as we arived, we were greeted by a nice young man that checked us in and took our bags to the room. Very confortable room, firm bed. No air conditioner, but we didn't need it the first week of September. He told us of the near by surroundings and suggested the Nymphenburg Palace for a tour. We had a short time there, but also found a restaurant I read about there in the palace. (later review)
The area around the hotel is so nice and safe to walk in. Romanplatz Metro stop is with in walking distance, So is Laim Rail station. Also the breakfast was nice. It's European so don't expect fried eggs and bacon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the groundfloor instead of stairs (No Elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof in July. This hotel exceeded our expectations. We wanted to stay somewhere off the beaten path and quiet but also within a reasonable distance to all the sights in Munich. We were so pleased with everything. The hotel proprietor Sebastian, his wife and staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We felt very taken care of. We will be going back next year for a second time and look forward to staying at Hotel Laimer off again.

Pros:
Located in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood that is a short walk from public transportation and an amazing beer garden.

A staff that makes you feel right at home and will help you with whatever you need. I had a medical emergency and Sebastian helped me get to a doctor and even spoke with the doctor's office on the phone to let them know what was going on (I do not speak German so this was extremely helpful).

A beautiful, quiet breakfast every morning.

Simple but very comfortable and clean rooms.

They have bikes you can use if you reserve them in advance.

They have a free wifi and a computer/printer available in the common area.

Overall charm and a good feeling in this hotel. Personal service that makes you feel like you never want to leave.

Cons:
The shower in our room was extremely small. My husband is 6ft 5in so it was kind of hard for him to take a shower. He was a good sport and just made it part of our adventure.

Overall we would highly recommend Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a few nights and enjoyed the warm welcome, tourist advice and breakfast. The room was a haul up the back stairs from e parking lot, but Sebastian did the heavy lifting. Room was a little smaller than we would have liked but met our needs. Great location - close to palace and public transportation options.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights after arriving from California for our first visit to Munich. Sebastian and his staff were very welcoming and knowledgable about what to see and do. The hotel and our room were very pleasant, and we slept well with the quiet surroundings. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The location was very convenient, with access to the S-bahn an easy walk. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet, and what felt like residential, area close to trams, the Nymphenburg Palace, excellent French and Italian restaurants and a great local bakery: excellent hot chocolate and apple strudel. The hosts and their staff are very friendly and helpful. Sebastian assisted me with emergency dental treatment on a holiday. The rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#4 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#9 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
3.8 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#11 Business Hotel in Munich
#27 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.