We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Bremerhaven, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Last minute booking in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute for a short family trip to Munich. On arrival the staff were extremely helpful as they were throughout. The location is outside the Umwelt Zone (so no green sticker required) but only 10 minutes walk from the train station into Munich. The breakfast was typically German but the best we have had on our travels i Germany with fresh fruit and a good selection of Tea!

We asked for a Cot for our son and this was in the room when we arrived. The room and en suite were clean if a little dated but generally no complaints. The only let down was the wall ajoining the neighbouring apartment was very thin and we could hear all their bathroom activity until about 11pm when they finally went to bed.

This aside, we would definitely visit again but specify a family room. Overall a good experience and any minor shortfall is more than made up for by the superb staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,050
    254
    60
    18
    1
See reviews for
355
695
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Laimer Hof for 10 days in March and I am so very glad we stayed here! The location is amazing, charming neighborhood just outside of city center and close to the Romanplatz Strassenbahn station which will take you downtown in 5 minutes. I ran five miles per day in the Nymphenburg Palace nature preserve! There is a biergarten close by as well as many good restaurants. The best part of the stay was the staff! Sebastian and Jan make you feel like you are the only people staying at the hotel! Simply cannot say enough good things about Hotel Laimer Hof.
Bottom Line: If you are going to Munchen, for whatever reason, STAY AT HOTEL LAIMER HOF!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've just come back from a week at the Laimer Hof hotel. We chose it partly because of the reviews and we weren't disappointed. It's a really charming place in a good location. Not in the town, but easy to reach from the centre by tram and very close (a few minutes walk) from Nymphenberg Palace and the Botanical Garden. It's on a quiet street with lots of really good restaurants nearby. The real charm, though, as others have said, is the staff. Everybody who works there was helpful, friendly and welcoming, they really know Munich and are happy to help with any questions. It made such a huge difference compared to stays we've had at bigger, chain hotels. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was good, too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in May and it is a nice area to stay although a bit out of the city center. Stay here if you are staying for more than 2 nights as the location is in a residential estate. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the tram stop. Room is small and there is heating so good for cold weather. Service is great and breakfast is fresh and the spread is very thoughtfully prepared. Will stay again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in January 2013, on a short weekend getaway in the middle of a business trip (in boring old Frankfurt). We had an amazing time in Munich, and that was 100% due to the attention and help we received from Jan at the Hotel Laimer Hof.

For the record, the rooms are clean and quite comfortable. Also, the hotel is located about 50m from the Palace (Schloss Nymphenburg) and also very close to the city.

But the best aspect of our stay by far was the friendly staff and in particular Jan. He was absolutely awesome! Jan greeted us at check-in with a traditional "Bavarian breakfast beer". I mean who can say no to beer at 10am? Come on, it's Munich after all!

Anyway, after our beers, Jan helped us with directions and train tickets to the Allianz Stadium. He also gave us tips on getting tickets to the Bayern Munich football game. He also recommended a restaurant for us in the city for dinner.

The following morning he once again took the time to plan our itinerary, recommending we visit the Schloss Nymphenburg and after a long walk that we make our way to the Bavarian beer garden down the road for a hearty Bavarian lunch.

All of Jan's recommendations were spot on! Seriously, this guy deserves a tourism medal for his knowledge, friendliness, professionalism, enthusiasm, not to mention his pride in promoting Bavarian beers at 10am on a saturday morning. What a legend!!!

Thanks Jan, you made our trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanddulas, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

stayed here 21st of march 2013, from the the moment we arrived we where made to feel special, sebastian and his team are the most amazing hosts, they are so helpful and friendly, quiet hotel, we had a problem with our shuttle to the hotel,(did not turn up) not the hotels fault it was the fault of expedia with whom we had booked, we had to get a taxi. Jan at the reception did all the phoning about so we could get on with our holiday, he resolved the issue and made sure that we got arefund from expedia. if your transport does not show up dont get taxi get S Bahn from airport wich Jan said would only cost 13 or so euros not the 65.00 we paid, will definately go back to laimer hof, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff truly make this place. SO helpful, welcoming, friendly and humorous. There was no aspect of information they left uncovered on our arrival and they always greeted you with big smiles and bags of patience. However....we weren't so impressed with our room. I get that its meant to be 'cutesy and homely' but to be honest it felt a bit like we were staying in our grandparents house in the 80's. Very dated and mismatched, though not really in a 'cool' way. Beds were comfortable enough though they were two singles pushed together (quite the norm in the other places we visited in Germany too)bathroom was ok, small and clean ish. The room was made up nicely each day with a cute shape made by the maid in our PJ's waiting for us on our beds! the breakfast was continental and varied and the waitress lovely and polite, though I think they should definitely include the cost of this is the room rate and not charge an additional £10 per person for it, quite ludicrous for what it was.
Overall this is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location with outstanding staff, and if trip advisor hadn't spoken so highly of it I probably wouldn't have set my expectations so high and therefore would be more satisfied with it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Business Hotel in Munich
#25 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.