We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with excellent transport to Munich city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with excellent transport to Munich city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have recently stayed in this hotel and found the service to be outstanding. The owners go out of their way to help and assist travellers. We have been very impressed!
The rate was very good for a hotel so close to the city. It included a super breakfast and within 15 min on the tram, major Munich sites were available. The owners also gave us very helpful information for a trip to Neuschweinstein! Also, the Nymphenburg palace was so close we visited it everyday!
The rooms are clean and welcoming with a modern ensuite. The hotel also offer free wifi and a computer to use. Surrounding the hotel are many excellent Bavarian restaurants.
Really impressed and would stay here again.
Thank you Hotel Laimer Hof.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    238
    60
    16
    1
See reviews for
347
661
60
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were made to feel extremely comfortable as soon as we walked in the front door. Jan welcomed us, explained the facilities available and all the restaurants within a short walk. Nothing seemed too much trouble and our 3 nights there were thoroughly enjoyable.
We had a ground floor double room which was comfortable, spotless and well furnished and suited our needs.
Wi-fi was a welcomed benefit and the breakfast was beautiful and plentiful.
Would readily recommend this hotel to anyone and we can easily see why they have won awards for the highest ranking hotel in Munich via Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. The staff are gentle, helpful and made me feel welcome.
The building is beautiful, well made and well maintained. The location is good in a beautifull neighbourhood and has easy access to downtown.
The room are wonderful, clean, warm and comfortable. The only one bad point is the shower place, really small.
The breakfast was splendid with good choices and all of then good quality.
Overall, this place was worth the trip advisor award and definitely worth your stay. Is my place in Munich.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator, so try to get a room at the groung floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is pleasing to report that the hotel is located in a quiet residential area and that although the hotel car park was full we were easily able to park in the street. Further, the free WiFi connection is good. However, we have encountered much superior amenities in a hotel ranked #83 in the same city. We have so far stayed in 9 hotels in various European countries both rural and city based. All, including the two in Poland and the one in Praha, were superior and often cheaper than Laimer Hof. The twin room we were given was on the second floor and despite us having two suitcases and two cabin bags there was no offer of assistance lugging the luggage up the stairs. This brings us to the room itself. Room 24 is half to two thirds the size of rooms we have had in all other hotels. It was difficult to place our luggage in such a way as to avoid falling over it. To describe the furniture as antique is being kind. The mattresses were too small for the metal beds. The wooden furniture was scratched and damaged. The bathroom was modern and clean yet again the smallest we have encountered. The main lighting in the room was inadequate. The manager was very attentive and apologetic informing us when we were leaving that we had unfortunately been booked into the smallest of their 4 Twin Rooms. Although we should have mentioned our dissatisfaction regarding the room size upon arrival, we felt uncomfortable to complain as then another couple would have been delegated to this 'single' room. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was of a very good standard as we have come to expect in Germany. All in all, the attentiveness and friendliness of the manager did not compensate for the small size and inadequate furnishings in our room.

Room Tip: One should avoid booking rm 24 as a Twin or Double Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laimer_Hof_Munich, Manager at Hotel Laimer Hof, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
I am very sad to learn that our guests from Australia did not like their room. I am running the hotel Laimer Hof together with my wife and approximately 10 employees since 2003. We have many regular guests and try to do all we can to make their stay pleasant. As our hotel is not too big (23 rooms), we are almost always successfull. Otherwise we would not have been able to "survive" for nearly 10 years...

One of our policies is to permit room changes as long as this is possible.

If there was any problem with the bed or the room size we could have offered a different room without any hesitation. Each of our 23 rooms is unique.

Our hotel is a "historical building" and we are not allowed to change the room sizes, exterior aspect and so on.

We are in the hotel 12 hours a day. Our guests from Australia did not inform us.

For us, guests who do not tell us that they would like to have a different room, are very difficult to handle. When leaving the hotel it is too late to change and we may only apologize.

So dear readers and guests, please come to the reception, come to us and inform us. Give us the chance to make your stay as pleasant for you as possible. We will do our very best!

Best greetings from Munich and Nymphenburg Palace

Yours sincerely

Sebastian and Alexandra Rösch (Manager) and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Laimer Hof hotel in April on the last leg of our travels through Germany. The room was large by European standards, it was exceptionally clean and quiet. It was the staff that really made our stay great. Friendly, outgoing, helpful. There are numerous good restaurants within walking distance, the tram is a 5 minute walk and the Nymphenberg Palace is about a 10 minute walk. Sebastian and high crew are exceptional hosts.... highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

In 2010 we stayed at this superb, family-run hotel. Our experience was so positive we made a point of staying there again this year, when we returned to Germany. My wife was recuperating from a broken ankle and when we checked-in the owners--who work there seemingly for all hours--immediately --and without making a fuss--gave us a large room on the ground floor. This was just one example of this exceptional hotel's service. The location is wonderful--within an easy walk to the trams--and the immediate meighborhood has several excellent restaurants and, obviously, the wonderful Nyphenburg Palace and its grounds. When we return to Munich we will stay there again. I wake each morning at home thinking of the superb breakfast and the "stop-at nothing" attitude of the proprietors and staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The four of us stayed in December when it was snowing, as we came to visit the Christmas markets, it made our stay even more special. The breakfast was great. All the staff in this hotel were excellent, going out of their way to explain where to visit and the cost of the transport etc. Sebastian was a perfect host, his English is impeccable and he has a great sense of humour. Very easy to get around Munich from the hotel, just a short walk to the tram. if you have time, please do visit the palace which is 5 mins walk, it will take your breath away. if you are coming from the airport, you can get a ticket for 5 people for 20 euros which you can use unlimited travel for 24 hours. All in all, a great place to stay, thank you Sebastian and Co.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#1 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Business Hotel in Munich
#20 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.