We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, great hotel, great location. Doesn't get any better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 378 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, great hotel, great location. Doesn't get any better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just spent 3 nights here and it was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful and great fun to talk to. They gave great insight into where to go and made our stay perfect. The location is great too, 5-10 mins from Laim station, and the Hirschgarten is close too. Literally a few mins from Nymphenburg palace, a very romantic location. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,022
    244
    60
    16
    1
See reviews for
349
672
61
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I can only amplify what other reviewers have written: this hotel is a gem located in a quiet and tony neighborhood an easy 15 minute tram ride to the heart of Munich. The rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated. The bathroom more than adequate for all needs. The wifi actually is peppy (on the ground floor anyway) and the breakfast great. The beautiful Schloss Nymphenburg is a pleasant two minute walk away and their are restaurants in the neighborhood. But what really seperates this hotel from the others is the manager Sebastian and his staff, including Jann. If ever two people were born for the job of hotelier, it would be these two extremely friendly, competent young men. The only other experience that came close to this was when my wife and I stayed in Prague at the House of the Big Boot (Dum um velke boty). Frankly it's the only hotel we've ever stayed in anywhere, that we would go back to if for no other reason than to visit the staff. I wish Sebastian, his family, and staff much success in the future. Tschuss Sebastian!

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was quiet and had good internet connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fantastic hotel. Only minutes outside Munich - in very nice neighborhood (a block away from the Palace). Very nice, spacious rooms - wireless internet, breakfast. The owner, Sebastian was very helpful. He made me feel at home - spending time giving me directions, and recommendations of things to do and see. Easy walk to street car for ride downtown - Sebastian will even make sure you get a ticket at the hotel Will definitely stay here again and I highly recommend this hotel and Sebastian's knowledge of Munich.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and we agree with all the other very positive reviews.
The staff are truly welcoming - special thanks to Jan (?) who was very friendly and he gave us some great restaurant suggestions in the local area and kept us up to date with the rather chilly weather! We ate locally at a steak restaurant and a Bavarian restaurant and the food was great. The room was reasonably spacious, clean, tidy and warm. Bathroom was always clean - the shower was on the small side but we have had smaller and the water pressure was great. The breakfast was tasty with a good selection of foods. It is easy to get around and into the city centre by the tram or by the S-Bahn which is either 2 stops on the bus or you can walk it. We really liked the area as it was quieter and away from the bustle of the city yet it was only 15 minutes by tram to the centre. This was one of the best hotel experiences we have had since travelling over the last 2 years and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This lovely hotel is situated in a very pleasant area of Munich. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the tram which takes you into the centre. It has some good restaurants nearby.
Staff were so helpful and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast room was very light and pleasant with a good choice of food.
We sat and had a bottle of wine in the lobby at night.
Some bathrooms and very small

Room Tip: Our friends were in 2 rooms on ground floor and they had large bathrooms. Upstairs, we tried 2 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Laimer Hof for five nights this past summer. It was the perfect hotel for us. We felt welcome and were treated perfectly! The staff is more than friendly and speaks perfect English.

Laimer Hof is located in a quiet residential neighborhood with the Nymphenburg Schloss within walking distance. It is close to grocery stores, charming little restaurants, and a large beer garden. It is close to the tram that takes you directly to downtown Munich. Every evening, many of the guests gather in the lobby for a drink and conversation. We met all sorts of interesting people, including a group of guys traveling across Europe in their Volkswagen Bugs.

After we left Laimer Hof, we met up with a tour in downtown Munich and stayed at a very large (impersonal) hotel in a somewhat dicey neighborhood across from the train station. If this had been our only view of Munich, it would have been totally different.

I really can't say enough nice things about this hotel. Thanks so much for the fabulous time in Munich. (I'm finally writing my review!!)

Danke!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

It is a bit hard to add more to all positive reviews about this hotel. Quality is in the details and how you are treated as a guest.

Upon check-in, instead of asking for a print of my credit card, I was asked if we had map of the city and they offered suggestion for dinner.

Next morning, the maid was so happy to see us, took time to discuss and welcome us.

In the breakfast room, I ordered a double espresso, and all following morning, no need to ask, they knew my preference.

In a nutshell, we fell we were the only one guest in this hotel.

Few practical points: Staff speak German, English, French, and maybe other language, VERY EASY to travel from the hotel, Hotel sell transportation tickets, very good French bistro close to the hotel, Quiet area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#21 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.