We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oktoberfest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laimer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laimer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Laimer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Bloomfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oktoberfest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

My stay for a few days was made extremely comfortable by Sebastian & Alexandra! The Hotel is very conveniant to the tram/train system & nearby beer garden (largest in Europe!) as well as the massive park with one of King Ludwig's palaces. Great place to visit & walk in the woods! The rooms are a little small but, comforable & clean and the neiborhood is quiet & friendly. I will stay again without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,055
    254
    60
    18
    1
See reviews for
356
698
62
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I only had one, action-packed night in Munich at Oktoberfest, but this was the perfect place to stay.

The staff was very welcoming and helpful; the room (while small) was ideal for a solo traveler like myself; the breakfast had everything you could want.

It was accessible by tram and subway, the tram being a shorter walk, and it was easy to get to/from Munich Airport and the hauptbahnhof (Central rail station).

My only regret is I didn't have more than 36 hours to enjoy Hotel Laimer Hof and Munich.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I found the owners, Sebastian and Alexandra, and staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful. They made you feel like you were old friends. We stayed at the Laimer Hof in September 2011 for 3 nights from the 19th to 21st. Our room was clean and the breakfast delicious.

The hotel was located in a nice quiet neighborhood with easy access to the S bahn train and tram and nearby Nymphenburg Palace, botanical gardens and the Hirschgarten biergarten.

They suggested eating at the Kurgarten which was excellent; loaned us bicycles so we could bike across the city.

On our trip to Germany, Munich was one of 8 cities we visited. The staff at the Laimer Hof helped to make Munich the most enjoyable stop of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Upon arrival in Munich a day early and no room available, the front desk could not have been more accommodating even though I was sure I had the dates right (a transposition of day/month). Calls were made to several boutique hotels to find a room for us until one was found. We were told that we would be charged for the room if it could not be filled. Fortunately it must have been filled as we have not been charged. Even though we did not stay at this hotel the staff made our "transition" seamless and for that they should be commended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed here for 3 full days during Oktoberfest. Its a nice little hotel a bit off the beaten path. It was quiet at night & everyone seemed genuinely nice and welcoming. My single room was small, had windows that opened, was very clean, and had a little bathroom. The breakfast was good but was not included in the price. It runs about 8 euros/day. The internet is free but lasts about 1 hour and then you have to enter a new code. There is a public computer in the lobby. The tram is about a 10 minute walk away, the subway a bit further. It's a 15-20 minute tram ride to the central train station and downtown. Be sure to get the 24 or 72 hour pass for the central area, it's a good deal and you'll need to use it to go just about anywhere. You can buy the passes at any train ticket kiosk (you might have to use cash as if you have a US credit card) or individual tickets on the tram. Just be sure to stamp your tickets the first time you get on board the tram or subway. Overall it was a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I came to Munich for Oktoberfest and stayed at this hotel because of it's price and great reviews. What a wonderful hotel! The staff are completely amazing and never tire of giving recommendations or directions. It is a quiet neighborhood but close to the Munich Palace and Hirshgarten (largest beer garden in the world). Public transportation (streetcars and subway) is also close, and the hotel and the front desk sells day passes if you're going to do a lot of running around. We highly recommend staying here. We had no trouble navigating our way to Oktoberfest grounds either. Thank you Alexandra and Sebastian!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyama, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

People may worry about the location. It is not right in the center of the city. But that is exactly the reason why I chose this hotel. It is very close to the Nymphenburg Palace. I went there for jogging when I stayed in the hotel. That was wonderful. It is close to the biggest Biergarten as well, a place one has to go to experience Bavaria.

Since it is not right in the center of the city, it is quiet, nice and clean, completely different from hotels around the central train station. There are two tram lines that one can take to go to the city center. It takes slightly longer than 10 minutes, and I normally just need to wait for about 5 minutes to get into one of those two.

To summarize, if you want to experience Munich not just as a tourist, it is a great place to stay. Otherwise, stay close to the central train station to make sure that you won't miss your train to the next city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laimer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laimer Hof

Address: Laimerstrasse 40, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Munich
#2 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Business Hotel in Munich
#32 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Laimer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a young family of hoteliers, Alexandra and Sebastian Rösch took over the Hotelvilla in summer 2003 and in the meantime are managing it as one of the most popular hotels in Munich, according to numerous evaluations by the guests. The neo-Renaissance villa was built in 1886 and is one of the buildings with the longest tradition in the town district of Nymphenburg. The Hotel is very popular for weddings and offers two romantic tower rooms for overnight stays. The location of the hotel is one of the finest in Munich, very close to Nymphenburg Palace, and simply unique. Europe's largest beer garden, the Königlicher Hirschgarten (the Royal Stag Garden), is only five minutes away on foot. Direct public transport connections to all the sights and attractions of Munich by bus, tram and rapid-transit railway can be reached from the hotel in only a few minutes. Free bike rental for our clients! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laimer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laimer Hof Hotel
Laimer Hof Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laimer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.