We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos

Nostos
Blutenburgstrasse 2, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 12027766
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,806 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

One of the best restaurants in Munich, the staff are so nice , we ordered veita cheese and meat balls as an appetizer and main course of lamb and mixed seafood all of them were wonderful , would visit again whenever I am in Munich. They also offered us a desert as a gift from the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    33
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great food, great price, unbelievable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

After getting our fill of heavy German cuisine we searched TA for something different on our last night in Munich. We found Nostos at #2 and decided to give it a shot. We were not disappointed! The food was amazing, the prices were ridiculously cheap and, not only did we NOT get treated like scum for speaking English, we received complimentary ouzo and desert! Many thanks to everyone at Nostos for a great last meal in Munich and a welcome change from wurst and Spetzel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We went here as the reviews have been so good on Tripadvisor. The food was fine, nothing special. I would say the menu was very limited- from a person that goes to Greek restaurants regularly I was disappointed. Service was ok, but our waiter thought he knew better than my request for no dressing on my salad. To be fair he apologized and gave us a 'free' dessert but this turned out to be something that everyone received. We had a lovely evening, but it is a reasonable distance from the centre. I'm sure they are better places to eat in Munich.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The service fantastic; the food as good as it gets. Bravo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Are my wife and I glad we choses Nostos for our first dinner in Munich. It was very welcoming. The waiter/owner advised us very well (try Greek water instead of sprite). The sea bream from Cephalonia done in the Ionian style was most tasty. The Santorini style fava beans appetizer was devine. Everything else was wonderful as well. Delightful retzina and some ouzo complemented the Greek water. Friendly, casual, Greek, and even very reasonable cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Greek restaurant really worth visiting in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Studied many TA restaurant reviews and luckily chose this one.

We had a reservation and were seated at a table outside. Sceneries are not very exciting - only cyclists or cars on a street under renovation.

Nostos menu is very impressive, including not only "classic" Greek restaurant dishes but also numerous other alternatives. Also, they offered an extra starter and a glass of ouzo as a digestive and a special dessert.

Quality and taste of the food was excellent. Both lamb fillets and fish were very tasty and a Greek salad was more than enough for two persons.

Last, but not least, was the the owner: he took the orders, brought most of the dishes to tables but had also time for a chat with customers.

Only thing we were missing was a bouzouki music in the background....

Last pleasant surprise was the bill: two persons enjoying a three-course dinner with retsina plus Greek coffee with Metaxa was just 70 euros, Really good value for your money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostos also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Nostos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.