We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills - Just What We Were Looking For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munchner Kindl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Munchner Kindl
Save
You added Hotel Munchner Kindl to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damenstiftstrasse 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Knoxville, TN
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
683 helpful votes 683 helpful votes
“No Frills - Just What We Were Looking For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was a busy time in Munich, and we were lucky to have found enough rooms at this little hotel for our few rainy days. The weather was dreadful, but the hotel was just perfect for us. I'm glad to have stayed with them and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here in May 2013. Just a short walk from the Karlsplatz station on the S Bahn. Great location from which to visit the Marienplatz, local restaurants and beer gardens. Very reasonable room rate, expecially considering the great breakfast provided by Renate and the staff, who were also very helpful with directions and recommendations. If you are looking for a more traditional lodging choice in central Munich, this is definitely one to consider. We would absolutely put it on our return visit list.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for two nights in May 2013. Location was great, easy walk to anywhere in the old town. Beds were comfortable and room was quiet. Extra communal toilet and shower room on each of the two floors we stayed on. which was helpful when you have more than two people in a room. Staff is friendly and helpful. Good value hotel for Munich old town stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

7 Euro taxi fare from the Hauptbahnhof. Very polite staff, fantastic breakfast. Very clean rooms, nice big windows opened towards the street, perfect place to hear all the church bells on a vacation Sunday. Five minute walk from the Marienplatz and associated subway stop, 10 minutes from the Viktualienmarkt and Obletter toy store. Bar on the first floor, perfect place for a nightcap after a day of sightseeing.

Staff was very helpful in pointing out the nearby sights.

Our new home for future Munich visits!

No elevator, good practice for climbing stairs during daily sightseeing :)

Room Tip: Take a taxi from the train station if you are arrving tired. You can learn how to walk to the stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the place we always select to stop for a night or two en route to/from our regular ski trips to Austria. Nice location, friendly service and a very decent breakfast make Münchner Kindl a perfect choice for tourism and shopping in downtown Munich. Please take into account that the hotel is in an oldish house without a lift.

Room Tip: Lower floors, less climbing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not sure of the name of the lady at the desk (Renata?). She speaks English. Gunter, the man, has limited English, but both nice. Room clean and quiet despite it being on the front. Downside is that the curtains are thin (as I found in all other hotels) so the light comes in and there is a lighted sign right outside the room. Breakfast OK.

Conveniently located to all the places I wanted to walk. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Upon arrival at train station, I was at first taken aback by the migrant workers hanging around the station, but I did feel safe everywhere I went.

Renata happily called other city and helped me make hotel reservations. No computer for guest usage in hotel.
Computer cafes found near railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Centrally located hotel only minutes from Munich's historic city center and pedestrian mall full of shopping and sightseeing. Also near metro station and a 15 minute walk to Munich's central train station. The location cannot be beat. Breakfasts are what one would expect. Read the fine print on your confirmation as you must check-in on your first night before the hotel "closes" for the night, or make arrangements to contact them after hours. Otherwise, you'll be locked out without a place to stay as happened to me. Staff was apologetic and did not charge us for the night, but this oversight was not a pleasant experience. Aside from this hiccup, I would recommend the hotel and all other experiences were positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Munchner Kindl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchner Kindl

Address: Damenstiftstrasse 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Munchner Kindl 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W-Lan Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Munchner Kindl Hotel
Munchner Kindl Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munchner Kindl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.