We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place, no need to look anymore.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Munchner Kindl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Munchner Kindl
Save
You added Hotel Munchner Kindl to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damenstiftstrasse 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the place, no need to look anymore.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

7 Euro taxi fare from the Hauptbahnhof. Very polite staff, fantastic breakfast. Very clean rooms, nice big windows opened towards the street, perfect place to hear all the church bells on a vacation Sunday. Five minute walk from the Marienplatz and associated subway stop, 10 minutes from the Viktualienmarkt and Obletter toy store. Bar on the first floor, perfect place for a nightcap after a day of sightseeing.

Staff was very helpful in pointing out the nearby sights.

Our new home for future Munich visits!

No elevator, good practice for climbing stairs during daily sightseeing :)

Room Tip: Take a taxi from the train station if you are arrving tired. You can learn how to walk to the stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    35
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the place we always select to stop for a night or two en route to/from our regular ski trips to Austria. Nice location, friendly service and a very decent breakfast make Münchner Kindl a perfect choice for tourism and shopping in downtown Munich. Please take into account that the hotel is in an oldish house without a lift.

Room Tip: Lower floors, less climbing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not sure of the name of the lady at the desk (Renata?). She speaks English. Gunter, the man, has limited English, but both nice. Room clean and quiet despite it being on the front. Downside is that the curtains are thin (as I found in all other hotels) so the light comes in and there is a lighted sign right outside the room. Breakfast OK.

Conveniently located to all the places I wanted to walk. Lots of restaurants nearby.
Upon arrival at train station, I was at first taken aback by the migrant workers hanging around the station, but I did feel safe everywhere I went.

Renata happily called other city and helped me make hotel reservations. No computer for guest usage in hotel.
Computer cafes found near railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Centrally located hotel only minutes from Munich's historic city center and pedestrian mall full of shopping and sightseeing. Also near metro station and a 15 minute walk to Munich's central train station. The location cannot be beat. Breakfasts are what one would expect. Read the fine print on your confirmation as you must check-in on your first night before the hotel "closes" for the night, or make arrangements to contact them after hours. Otherwise, you'll be locked out without a place to stay as happened to me. Staff was apologetic and did not charge us for the night, but this oversight was not a pleasant experience. Aside from this hiccup, I would recommend the hotel and all other experiences were positive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is a great small place in an excellent location in a wonderful town. We stayed several nights. They have a nice breakfast. They have no lift, but lots of personality. The owner (Reonita ?) was very friendly and helpful. We would gladly go back to Hotel Muncher Kindl.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, left town and then came back for 2 nights before flying home. We stayed in the room on the 5th floor, which had 4 beds, a room with a toilet & sink and another room with the shower & a sink. It was plenty of space for 4 of us. Being July, it was a bit warm, but the room had a fan and we noticed an unused fan in the hallway, so we used that as well for the 2nd sleeping area (I would imagine as long as there were enough fans for each room being used, they didn't mind). The hotel was clean, smoke-free and the staff was very nice & helpful. The breakfasts were good and we enjoyed cocktails at the bar one evening also. The location was great...within walking distance to the Karlsplatz & Marienplatz, but far enough removed that it was quiet. Not only was this a Rick Steves recommendation, but family/friends stayed there in March 2012 and had a good experience also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We tend to stay in this hotel every year en route to and from our two-family ski trip to Austria. The location couldn't be better for shopping and airport/railway station transfers. The breakfast is tasty and what you ask you will get in no time. However, it's a small hotel in an old building without lift. So if you are physically challenged or travel with lots of luggage you'd better consider other options.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Munchner Kindl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Munchner Kindl

Address: Damenstiftstrasse 16, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Munchner Kindl 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W-Lan Internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Munchner Kindl Hotel
Munchner Kindl Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Munchner Kindl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.