We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even worth the low price....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Express Restaurant

China Express Restaurant
Sonnenstrasse 4, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,815 of 2,702 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not even worth the low price....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The only reason I went here was that I was getting hungry and I was at a loose end.

Although the buffet is under 7 euros with a soft drink (you pay extra for a beer), the choice is minimal and they are slow to replenish the food. I had some very plain noodles and some over-crunchy won ton (out of a packet) with watery sweet and sour sauce. The food is so unforgettable that I have forgotten the uninspiring fayre on offer. Even at the price, it was not worth the money. This surely cannot be a place that people plan to visit. I just stumbled across it and went there out of desperation.

I nearly stumbled again on the greasy stairs going down to the toilet after my meal.

Try going to Vinzenzmurr a couple of doors away for very tasty and authentic German food in a relaxed environment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

44% Recommend
    0
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sushi, Hot Noodle Soup and Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This restaurant just the exit at SonnenstraBe street, from Karlsplaz (Stachus), they serve very nice HOT noodle soup, they also serve buffet for 6.50 Eur and if you come for Night Buffet you paid additional 0.30 Eur, you get a small cup of beer :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Never go there!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I think I found the worst Chinese Restaurant in Munich!
Ok, of course, like all those Mittagsbuffet, this is cheap and you have lunch for 6,50€
But this is not all-you-can-eat!!
Samosa were almost empty, nems were filled with a weird and suspicious white cream.
Vegetables stank, and so on-
A very bad experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Buffet,cheap, average taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

we visit this restaurant for lunch, its quiet busy in lunch time here. they offer some variety of Asian food from Japanese sushi, Chinese dim sum , sweet sour soup to Thailand famous pad thai and vietnamese roll. the sushi is not in the buffet menu, you have to order and also some soup or noodle dish is not in the buffet menu. The value is ok but the taste is average, its a buffet menu :p what else we can expect with ? :) so if you very very hungry budget travelers this can be your choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient after eight joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Many street and station eateries seem to shut down after seven or at most eight in the evening. China Express, at that time provided reasonably good fares to hungry travellers. The rates are cheap and they even hav package deals like "all you can eat for Euro 6:80. I enjoyed the simple fried rice and the noodles - enough on my plate - being a small eater.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Express Restaurant also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to China Express Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Express Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.