We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viet in Munich...Yes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocosnuss

Cocosnuss
Zweibruckenstrasse 15 | 80331, München Munich, Bavaria, Germany
89 45081911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 2,769 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Walt Disney World, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Viet in Munich...Yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Following TripAdvisor reviews, we 4 took the short walk from the Hilton to this tiny restaurant that one would normally pass by. Ordered a variety of 4 completely different meals and 2 appetizers. Everything was great. With only tea for all, 68 Euros total...wow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great food. Nice atmosphere. Knowledge sommelier. Prompt service. Everything just clicked to make it a very memorable night. Will definitely go back and also recommend others to do so. Good job guys,

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

As other people have noted, you could easily pass this place by without really noticing it, but the understated exterior conceals a real gem. The food is delicious: fresh, tasty, and full of spices. It tastes really authentic, not watered down to suit European tastes, and the menu offers a great selection. The service is friendly, quick, and welcoming. Overall, one of the best Asian meals I've had in Germany - highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent small Vietnamese restaurant in central Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I came upon this place one evening in Munich. It's fairly unassuming from the outside, a long, narrow restaurant between Isartor and the Deutsches Museum. Upon entering I was given a very warm welcome by the English speaking woman who was serving and shown to a well presented window table and given an English menu.
I ordered Goi Cuon Bo (Summer rolls) as an appetiser, which were excellent. As a main course I had a green Vit Curry (duck) which was also very nice, fresh tasting and spicy but not overpowering. Portions of both dishes were generous.
The service in the restaurant was extremely friendly and just attentive enough without being intrusive.
This is a place that's fairly easy to overlook as there are a lot of restaurants on this street however I'd highly recommend it and will certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Honestly, I've tried a few Vietnamese restaurants and I struggle to think of a better one than Cocosnuss. The owner/waitress really shows you Vietnamese hospitality like you are a welcome guest in her home.

The restaurant takes a confident pride in the quality of the food which is well merited.
I had the sate to start, which was prepared so you grill the sate yourself - although I was not a big fan because the meat was cooked and then you 'grill' over a flame yourself. That is, you pass it over the flames, but you don't really get the true grilled taste. Clearly they try to be fun and different but for me it meant I enjoyed the sate somewhat less because the meat wasn't properly BBQed. That said, the chicken was tender and moist, with a good homemade sate sauce.

I then had the noodle and beef with spring rolls - a dish I've had many times before but wow, the flavours were fresher and more intense here than anywhere else.

Accompanied with the warm service and great food, this is truly a very hidden gem in Munich.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocosnuss also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cocosnuss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocosnuss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.