We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocoon Stachus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cocoon Stachus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cocoon Stachus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 383 hotels in Munich
Gobabis, Omaheke, Namibia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here overnight because I wanted to do some shopping. I would recommend this hotel to any businessman. Small, cosy and comfortable room. Not too great an area, but it is off the main road, so it is quite at night and a 5 min walk from "Marienplatz".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    26
    10
    0
See reviews for
22
64
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very nice hotel, near the train station and the city center!! All the spaces are designed to give the impression of being in a relaxing open nature, rather than in a busy city. Nice hanging chairs egg shaped, wall fountain as a waterfall, ceiling and walls decorated with trees and leaves!
The rooms are well equiped, although not too spacious, and the bathroom has a great rain-like shower!
The breakfast (optional for 9 euro), is totally worth it with a wide selection of fruits, juices, cakes or salty dishes. All are freshly made and of good quality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I was slightly put off booking the hotel because of poor reviews about surly reception staff.

On our visit they couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. No attitude.

The hotel had a good location. There were some fantastic bars and restaurants and it is in quite a vibrant area. Lots of people were out despite it being a Monday. 20 minute walk in to the centre of town.

We booked a junior suite because of complaints about room sizes on the web. It didn't cost much more, it had some nice design features, and was clean. Bed was very comfortable.

No complaints. The room could do with a lick of paint. Good value for money and I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I'm very pleased to recommend this hotel. No frills, modern, clean, quite, reasonable price. Slightly quirky with the forest theme design. Booked via ebookers.com as they had 20% off that time then confirmed with hotel directly via email to ensure they have the reservation. Room size is a bit tight, but it is designed efficiently.

PRO:
- Modern, clean, comfortable bed. Got elevator (albeit it’s rather ancient). Amenities includes TV (mostly German channels), hair dryer, branded rain shower
- Free wifi, fast enough for skype call and to stream youtube with no delays
- Walking distance to train station, metro, regional train and bus. Indeed location is near night clubs and casino, some shady characters hang around but I did not feel threatened
- Early check in was given without extra charge (I arrived 8.30 am!)
- Sound proofing was okay (I heard some club noise and room across the hall doin it) but did not disturb me
- Seems like 24 hours front desk. They are helpful as well as they are willing to exchange my notes for coins.
- if you're willing to forego the daily room service, they will give you 5 euro drink voucher

CONS:
- Room size is a bit tight, I travel light so it didn't bother me but if you travel with lots of luggage, that's something to consider
- Interesting room layout, somehow the sink is inside the bedroom and not the bathroom
- No room safe or refrigerator

Overall, solid choice for no frillls hotel. Highly recommended! If you find my review to be helpful, pls click that helpful vote, thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppland
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here one night, and were very pleased with the hotel. We had chosen a deluxe room, and we liked it a lot. It had a nice sofa, a bathtub in the room, a separate shower and a separate toilet. It was all designed in a very tasteful way.
We also appreciated the TV which could be turned either facing the bed or the sofa, and which also had a DVD-player (even though it was a bit hard to find).
In the morning we had breakfast that cost 9 euro per person, and definitely was worth it. The orange juice was maybe not of the highest quality, but otherwise the breakfast was really good.
The staff were nice and helpful, and we will be happy to stay here again when we visit Munich the next time. The location of the hotel is very good, only a few hundred meters from the central railway station, and close to the city centre.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the Main train station. Look for the Bayerstrasse exit, from there is just a 2 minute walk. Perfect location if you are using the public transportation to get around, It is also close to Marienplatz which is the heart of Munich.
For the price it is a very good choice. Very clean, friendly and trendy, however the trendy decor includes a see through shower which limits the demographic to couples only, unless you feel comfortable being naked around your roommate. Breakfast selection is very good including fruit, cold cuts, eggs, bread, yogurt coffee and teas. Our rate had breakfast included so I can not comment about the price.
Wifi is free in the lobby and rooms, but be prepared to have to login every 15 min or so! The rooms are small but comfortable. They include an iPod dock so we were able to enjoy our own music.
Make sure you ask for an inside room since the noise of the street can keep you awake.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight with our little 3 year old girl and found the location perfect, 2 minute walk to the train station and 5 minutes to the main shopping square. The staff were helpful and polite. No complaints at all

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Stachus

Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cocoon Stachus 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Lobby at the Bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocoon Stachus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.