We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just have to like the color!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocoon Stachus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cocoon Stachus to your Saves list
Hotel Cocoon Stachus
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Just have to like the color!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It is not often that you see the bright lemon lime color in a hotel's decor, but it does give you a sense of the cocoon, trendy, modern look they are trying to have with their latest renovations. Staff was great, the 9 Euros for breakfast I thought was a wonderful deal for all that it offered, if you are a breakfast eater! Room was perfect. Shower with glass wall could be very tight for some hotel visitors...as most European places are with compact bathroom areas because they believe everyone is slim...but a heavy-set person would find they could not turn in my shower stall. Get a room a few floors up so you are away from noise. Great location to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the main area. Staff were very helpful, but I did miss the fact until my last day that they had bicycles available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    126
    46
    14
    3
See reviews for
36
107
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The location for the Cocoon was great for seeing much of Munich. While the rooms were not especially large, the design certainly makes you smile. Things were clean and comfortable. If you are driving, be aware that there are only four parking spots, and they are relatively small. What made the hotel stand out, though, was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The outgoing personalities and willingness to acommodate our requests, whether for a special beer glass or for help in understanding how things worked or for bringing luggage upstairs, really makes the visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear David B.,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback.
We really appreciate your comment and all of our staff will do their best to make our guests feel at home and to make their stay as special as we can.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Your Coocon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We chose this hotel based on central location and good rate. Also the rooms looked quite nice with modern design in the photos. In real life the rooms were newly renovated in a trendy way but the compact size came to us as a surprise. On the other hand, I guess "Cocoon" refers to that in a way. Also the shower with a glass wall could be awkward to some guests. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Pausonen,

thank you for your feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Cocoon Stachus.
The hotel does offer different room types.
Our double rooms do have glass showers however our twin rooms do offer the bathroom in a seperate room to guarentee the guests privacy.
The twin rooms are available to book or alternatively guests can ask at check in if a twin rooms is available, however we do recommend to book this in advance to avoid dissapointment on the day.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and thank you again for your feedback.
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Super location walking distance to everything. Friendly staff. Rooms small but cool design. A little noisy at busy times. Great value. A real find.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Sile R,

thank you for your fantastic feedback.
Hotel Cocoon Stachus would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and please do recommend us to all your friends and family as your special find.
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is very well located in Munich, just a few minutes walk to the central station and main shopping street. About a 15 min walk to the Hofbrauhaus. Parking is available across and down the road 50m in a large shopping complex car park (however be aware of opening & closing times). The staff are young, friendly and helpful.

The hotel decor is bright and colourful in the main reception however, once you step through to the bedroom hallways, this can vary. Carpets were well worn and the walls dirty and damaged in parts. However, there did seem to be some renovation work going on too - so hopefully this will improve.

The rooms are smaller then expected. A room for two would fit no more, with no real space for socialising. The room design is "funky" but not real practical for just friends, the reason being that the bathroom is part of the main room, with the shower door opening up directly into the room. There was no hanging space for towels or clothes, therefore if you are little bashful, you may want to plan shower times. Additionally, the shower door is a sliding door shared with the toilet, therefore if the shower door is closed, the toilet door is open. It could be a little awkward for just friends sharing a room, especially those that like their privacy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Aussiedave73,

thank you for your feedback.
You are correct, the hallway is not refurbished yet, however we have started to replace the carpet and the final touches will follow soon.
We do have twin bedded rooms available in the hotel , two seperate beds for friends a perfect choice to share a room. The bathrooms & toilets in our twin rooms are in a seperate room too.
Our double rooms are with glass showers as you mentioned.
The option to book twin rooms is available for our Cocoon guests to avoid the awkward moment you have described as well as to offer a choice to our customers.
Thank you again for your comment and we do hope to welcome you back to the Cocoon Family in the near future.
Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

When we arrived in Munich and walked to the hotel we were very curious how the inside would be. Outside it was gray, the neighborhood was not exactly where you want to stay and on the facade was (still) the name Eckelmann Hotel. But inside Cocoon am Stachus was a pleasant surprise. Nice staff, cheerful colors and a bright interior and clean. We have been inspired for the home interior. The rain shower was great, I could shower for hours ... The breakfast was generous, everything you needed and was sufficiently supplemented. We parked the car in the parkinghouse Stachus (1 minute walk from the hotel) and paid € 17.50 per 24 hours. It is 5 to 10 minute walk to the center of Munich. WIFI internet worked fine and we felt safe on the streets near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Bartho0,
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and of course the unique design. The Cocoon Stachus Team would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best wishes, your Cocoon Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good hotel, location is very good
Staff is wonderful ,if any one go there just ask for Micky in reception he is wonderful man and he will help any one to get good information really he add value to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Stachus, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Chujaa,
thank you for your nice feedback.
Our Cocoon Staff is very attentive and will make your stay as special as we can. We are delighted that Micky did make your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you again very soon. Your Cocoon Stachus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocoon Stachus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Stachus

Address: Adolf-Kolping-Str. 11, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cocoon Stachus 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Lobby at the Bar, from the room to the Alps, from the house door to the Oktoberfest, new ideas from your neighbours of the whole world: 69 rooms for contrarian thinkers and late risers, swift-travellers and dawn-breakers, evergreens and striplings, business people and holiday-freaks. City-located, fresh and last but not least… keep-smiling priced. Cocoon: designed with mind open for new impressions to touch your soul. Offering you nights to remember in the pumping heart of Munich ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Stachus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocoon Stachus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.