We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very style room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Muenchen Sued

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Muenchen Sued to your Saves list
Ibis Muenchen Sued
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raintaler Str. 47, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Lahti, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very style room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The room is recently renovated and very styled and clean. It is not in the city center but still in the 1 zone. It takes about 1h to get there form airport. The check-in time is too late. We must wait until 15 o'clock. The room is larger than other hotel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    133
    58
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
98
12
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

good room, clean, comfortable, cosy, quite with the window closed. Excellent bed.
Service is good, but they "forget" too often to clean your room.

Nowhere around to have diner.

The internet connection in the room is awful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Location was not so good, but it was quiet. Service, comfort and cleanliness of the rooms were impeccable!! The breakfast all u can eat buffet was very adequate, so was the wireless internet signal. Would definitely stay there again the next time i'm in Munchen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Relatively new hotel located at the residential area, within 5 minutes walk to U stations (U1 & U2).
Avg. breakfast, comfortable bed, clean amentities.

(Room rate during Oktoberfest is around 200 which is more than two times of their regular rate...)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have stayed in the Ibis Muenchen Sued for a week during a major fair. The hotel seemed to be close to fully occupied and thus I guess this was a good way to prove its preparedness.

The hotel is newly refurbished, for what I can gather, so it is all up to the new Ibis standard. On the one hand, this means from now on it can deteriorate as the hotel ages, on the other - the hotel, probably with new personnel, passed the test brilliantly despite operating, for what I can understand, only for months or weeks prior to our arrival.

The hotel is not really anywhere close to any points of interest, and in the middle of an "Arbeiterviertel", as I was explained. The surroundings do not appear to be dangerous, but there is nothing and nothing to do and scantily anywhere to eat around the hotel (we spent our evenings in the town centre).

There is no easy way to get to the hotel from the airport - you either need to change trains or take a taxi. There is a short 5-10 min walk to the U-bahn station Silberhornstrasse, which takes you either into the centre (10 mins) or to the fairgrounds (15-20 mins).

Tegernseer Landstrasse is one of Munich's major thoroughfares, but this makes reaching the hotel by car/taxi harder than on foot, as the Landstrasse is divided into one-way multi-lane sections. The hotel is new, so even the taxi drivers get confused. Make sure you or the taxi driver do not confuse the Ibis Muenchen Sued with a nearby "Ibis Budget" (blue pillow logo).

Navigation tip: put in "Reintaler Strasse" rather than "Tegernseer Landstrasse" into you nav device or ask the taxi driver to do so. The hotel is at the corner of the two, but the nav should provide a shorter and clearer way to Reintaler Strasse

There is little to write about the actual setup of the hotel and the rooms, as this is the same in all new or refurbished Ibis properties. I find the design and the details well thought-out and absolutely satisfactory.

Three minor issues one can have are:
1. The shower has no door or curtain, so it is very easy to get the bathroom floor wet in no time.
2. There was no actual closet (only a set of open shelves and a space for hangers), and there were only three garment hangers. Take your own ones if you intend to stay at an Ibis for longer :p
3. The rooms are smallish - you will have a hard time being comfortable there with two persons in the room if you stay for longer, as part of my party experienced

On the other hand, the room window did open, which to me is majorly important as I prefer fresh rather than air-conditioned air.

On the service front, the hotel was again totally satisfactory. Despite the full occupation, the staff proved very efficient. Everybody I interacted with spoke good English and German, even though the team had an interesting mix of nationalities so typical of the service industry in contemporary Germany.

One letdown was that once that we left a bit later than the housekeeping started (and they DO start early!) and left the "do not disturb" notices on the door handles not to be interrupted during our morning preparations, we have found our rooms barely touched by housekeeping on arrival. It was far too late and not distrubing enough to notify the front desk.

Then there was an issue of the hotel staff informing me repeatedly how they only had ONE iron and ironing board, and keeping strict tabs on borrowing those. I've had no problem with that, but found this a bit amusing in a Fawlty Towers way.

Still, the hotel offered free Internet that worked brillianty. You have to log in each of your device separately using a code you get at the front desk, but one login suffices for the entire stay.

I also have to command the breakfast buffet - for an economy hotel, I have had nothing to complain about regarding the range or quality of products available. This is no lavish five-star buffet, but I really enjoyed it.

I can't say that the hotel was great value, as we paid 200 EUR per room per night as the Muenchen hotels know very well how to take advantage of the fair/Oktoberfest season.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with x01-x08 overlook the courtyard/parking/garden and are thusly quite quiet. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Muenchen Sued? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen Sued

Address: Raintaler Str. 47, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen Sued 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened for our guests in summer 2012: The ibis Hotel is situated in the Munich district of Giesing and enjoys good transport links. All 133 rooms have air conditioning and WIFI. Reception is open 24/7 and our employees are happy to provide assistance at all times. Start your day with a tasty breakfast from our hearty buffet. You can purchase drinks and snacks from the bar around the clock. We offer secure parking in our indoor car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Muenchen Sued reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Muenchen Sued, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.