We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel to your Saves list
Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Otley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group unfortunately only for one night. It is 5 minutes from the rail station and only 6 stops from Marienplatz right in the centre of Munich. The reception even sold us the tickets. It was certainly a quiet location away from the centre of Munich but was easy to access and the trains were modern up to date and at regular times!!!!!!!
It is an extremely well appointed hotel nicely decorated and superbly clean. The room was spacious and we were supplied a fan but this did little to ward off the extreme heat and an uncomfortable night. It was comfortable despite the heat and we lacked for nothing. Breakfast was excellent with a variety of hot and cold dishes.
Service was excellent as it should be in a four star establishment.
However as this hotel is situated in an area popular for trade fairs you would expect FREE WIFI but sadly no. I was told in no uncertain terms by an unsmiling receptionist that most hotel in German cities charge for wifi therefore I don't know if I could recommend this hotel to my business clients. Other than that a very acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    47
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
43
4
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent 5 days at this hotel in June 2013.
Was really satisfied with everything.

The room was a good size and very clean and quiet (cleaned everyday). The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.The spa and wellness facilities (free) were exactly what I needed at the end of my very tiring days. The receptions also prints documents for free (ex travel docs). The food (I had breakfast and dinner) was excellent - lots of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Finally got my chance to visit Munich. Wanted a hotel that was nice, not too expensive and easily accessible. The reviews for this hotel were excellent as was the price, so decided to give it a try. Hotel is located 5 min walking distance from a local train station, and it takes 20 min to get to downtown Munich from there. Parking at the hotel was free. The hotel is nice, clean, very friendly and helpful staff, and the buffet breakfast has lots to choose from. Internet is only free in the lobby, but that was not an issue for us. One thing to point out is that there is no A/C in the rooms. So it can get hot. They do offer complementary water during the hot months and there is a fan in the room. I suggest getting a room from the courtyard, as the street is loud at night. We had the street side room and it was loud when the window was open at night. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the courtyard if you plan to have your windows open at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in hotel for a few nights in January of this year while on business trip at local company.

Hotel is medium sized traditional German / Bavarian hotel of good standard with nice rooms, friendly staff and good food. There is also a nice Italian restaurant a short walk from hotel.

Hotel is on the outskirts of Munich but has good public transport connections to the city center.

Some of the rooms towards the top of hotel floors can be on the small side but sufficient. Hotel is clean and well presented with nice public areas including breakfast room and bar – outside area for eating in good weather.

Parking is a little limited sometimes when hotel is busy.

For a smaller non-chain hotel, the Prinzregent is good value with a pleasant stay experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Since car park at hotels that are in the city center would have run $25 a day or more, I started looking for options on the outskirts of Munich where parking would be free and yet there would be fast train connections to the city for sightseeing trips. Prinzregent was a perfect choice on both counts. Rather than pay even a nominal fee for the hotel's underground parking, we parked our rental car on the quiet residential street on the side of the hotel property and walked the easy ten minutes to the train station to go to Munich. We were at the city center in 20 minutes.

The hotel was excellent in other ways as well. While the room was not quite luxurious, it was nicely furnished with period furniture but, thankfully, had a modern bathroom with a separate toilet, a very useful amenity for two people sharing a bathroom. The small but inviting hotel lobby had a computer with free internet, such a relief considering that the better hotels in most parts of the world charge up to $20 a day for what, in this day and age, should be free like electricity and water. The richly wooded bar and white table cloth restaurant were both great places to spend the evening. Both seem fairly priced, especially after the sticker shock of Switzerland.

The buffet breakfast was absolutely fantastic. My 20-year old daughter took full advantage of Germany's lower minimum drinking age by enjoying a mimosa with her breakfast every morning, not to mention a stein of Bavarian beer at the historic Hofbrauhaus in the city. The waitresses at the Prinzeregent were nice enough to let me take a cup of coffee to my room every morning. They did not have in-room coffee set up, and I need a cup within five minutes of waking up. Once there was a quick exchange with one of the waitresses that did feel awkward but I decided to ignore it. I had been gone to the restaurant just for coffee as soon as it opened in the morning and came back an hour later with my daughter for breakfast. The waitress asked if I hadn't been there earlier. Not sure if she was subtly accusing me of freeloading, I gave her the benefit of the doubt as she was not an English speaking person and perhaps only meant it as an innocent comment. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and were reasonably pleased with the food and prices even though the selection was rather limited. For the sake of variety, there is a little cafe across the street that has Indian food and also pizza, if I remember correctly, but it was not very inviting as a sit-down restaurant. Of course, being of Indian descent and very particular about my cuisine, I wasn't about to try Indian food at some random joint on the outskirts of Munich.

Unlike other small, boutique type hotels that are usually full of little quirks, often not very charming ones, this small hotel seemed very accustomed to business travelers and had their system down pat. The staff had instant answers to most of the usual questions and requests for directions. Apparently there is a convention center close by that attracts the globetrotting business types. We had a unique need for a clothes dryer one night as we had taken a walking tour of the Third Reich (highly recommended) and got completely drenched in rain. The housekeeping said they did not have a dryer for the guests' use, and I wasn't about to ask them to throw our clothes in with the hotel sheets in one of those big commercial dryers. We managed.

I wouldn't mind repeating this hotel even if didn't have a car to park. If arriving in Munich by train, one could easily switch to the local train that goes to the station near the hotel, and then walk the ten minutes to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have stayed at the prinzregenten a couple of times now and it has not disappointed. The hotel has a family owned feel about it with staff who are attentive and care. The restaurant is typically Bavarian . Typical main course is €22. Good for informal business lunches or dinners since the tables a quite far apart. In the summer the beer garden opens with a do it yourself BBQ concept.

Room Tip: I was upgraded to a suite - worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located away from the city, but only a 10-minute drive to the Glockenspiel in the city center. Without a car, you can take the train into town, and it runs every 20 minutes. So, you get a quiet location and lovely place to stay. I would easily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Address: Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.