We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newmarket Christmas Markets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel to your Saves list
Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Newmarket Christmas Markets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel for 3 nights as part of the Newmarket Christmas Markets short break. There were two choices of hotel for this break and without doubt we made the right decision in paying the supplement to stay at the Prinzregent. We could not fault the hotel, in fact it is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at for some time. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was lovely, as was the bar area. December 6th was St Nicholas's day and we awoke to find a chocolate filled stocking outside our door - a lovely touch. The choice of breakfast was excellent and far more than the continental breakfast we were expecting, the hotel obviously works hard to cater for as many tastes as possible.

There is a train station at the end of the street opposite the hotel (5 mins walk), trains are every 20 mins into the centre of Munich (takes about 10-15 mins) and it costs 10.20 euros for a partner return ticket (which you can buy at the hotel and validate on the platform).

Munich was excellent and as the first time we had travelled with Newmarket holidays we were impressed and well done on selecting such a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
43
4
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of a Newmarket travel holiday. It is well out of the city centre but the train is a ten minute walk from the hotel and takes you stright into Munich. Put it this way, it must have been easy as we went once into Munich for lunch and then back again for Dinner.

Th breakfast was superb, they had everything, even sparkling wine and smoked salmon. Rooms were comfortable and furnished very well in an old antique style. Someone here clearly has pride in their hotel and how it is presented. It also has a nice small bar. Not sure if it has a restaurant but if you get chance, I would advise going into Munich as it's so easy and there is so much choice there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's a friendly small hotel in a quiet environment close to the Messe and with very good access to the city center also. S-Bahn station only five minutes away. Staff were quite friendly and room comfortable enough. Breakfast was just OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here when visiting the Oktoberfest, good choice. We normally stay at their sister hotel which isn't so good, but to be fair is quite a bit cheaper.
The staff were excellent, in particular the young guy in the bar who ran things very professionally.
The room was a good size, albeit a bit sparse, saying that I find that quite common in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during Oktoberfest. Our room was very nice and the bathroom had heated floors which was amazing! The bathroom was very clean and the shower was nice although the doors to the shower could be annoying. They kept swinging open in the middle of my shower. The hotel bar and staff were awesome and we had a great time having a few drinks there. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and was included in the room price. The hotel is situated outside of the city and it only took us 10 minutes by tram to access the Munich City Center. We arrived 3 hours prior to check in and the staff was very accommodating and stored our luggage as we enjoyed lunch in the hotel restaurant. They brought us our room keys in the middle of our lunch telling us our room was ready. It was a nice surprise when we found out they even took our luggage to our room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Only a one night stay but this hotel was in short walking distance to the subway and therefore easy to get into Munich, we had room facing road, maybe for longer stay and for quieter nights sleep a back room could be requested! Friendly staff, good sized room and excellent dining. Would def go back

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from a nice long weekend in Munich. Stayed at the Prinzregent in a Junior Suite. Originally given room on top floor, but quickly realised that headroom on my side of the bed would be a real problem. Moved to room on lower floor without a fuss. No aircon so had to settle for a fan. Room was a bit stuffy and had to have shutters closed (no curtains). Didn't really sleep well any of the 3 nights, but probably a combination of overeating, overdrinking and the pillows which I really didn't get on with.
Good breakfast selection and same for the evening menu, presentation and quality were very good.
Not having a car, it felt a bit out of the way, despite only 10 min walk to station then 20 mins into centre of Munich.
Overall the hotel was spotlessly clean, the service good (which was more friendly than attentive at times), and I would say definate value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms on top floor have space compromised by sloping ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Address: Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.