We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 379 hotels in Munich
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here when visiting the Oktoberfest, good choice. We normally stay at their sister hotel which isn't so good, but to be fair is quite a bit cheaper.
The staff were excellent, in particular the young guy in the bar who ran things very professionally.
The room was a good size, albeit a bit sparse, saying that I find that quite common in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
20
1
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during Oktoberfest. Our room was very nice and the bathroom had heated floors which was amazing! The bathroom was very clean and the shower was nice although the doors to the shower could be annoying. They kept swinging open in the middle of my shower. The hotel bar and staff were awesome and we had a great time having a few drinks there. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and was included in the room price. The hotel is situated outside of the city and it only took us 10 minutes by tram to access the Munich City Center. We arrived 3 hours prior to check in and the staff was very accommodating and stored our luggage as we enjoyed lunch in the hotel restaurant. They brought us our room keys in the middle of our lunch telling us our room was ready. It was a nice surprise when we found out they even took our luggage to our room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking to stay away from the hustle and bustle of the city. You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Only a one night stay but this hotel was in short walking distance to the subway and therefore easy to get into Munich, we had room facing road, maybe for longer stay and for quieter nights sleep a back room could be requested! Friendly staff, good sized room and excellent dining. Would def go back

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from a nice long weekend in Munich. Stayed at the Prinzregent in a Junior Suite. Originally given room on top floor, but quickly realised that headroom on my side of the bed would be a real problem. Moved to room on lower floor without a fuss. No aircon so had to settle for a fan. Room was a bit stuffy and had to have shutters closed (no curtains). Didn't really sleep well any of the 3 nights, but probably a combination of overeating, overdrinking and the pillows which I really didn't get on with.
Good breakfast selection and same for the evening menu, presentation and quality were very good.
Not having a car, it felt a bit out of the way, despite only 10 min walk to station then 20 mins into centre of Munich.
Overall the hotel was spotlessly clean, the service good (which was more friendly than attentive at times), and I would say definate value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms on top floor have space compromised by sloping ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We showed up very early (9AM) but we were still allowed to check-in with no problems. Staff at the front were extremely helpful and made the experience very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent and included with the room rate. The room was clean and all standards were met for the price. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night. It was okay but nothing to write home to mom about. The street noise was a bit much early in the morning, but nothing too bad. The WiFi was expensive so we went without it. The city center is actually very easy to get to from the hotel. The train station is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the train ride is about 15 minutes. Trains run pretty frequently as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel in July 2012. We found it via hotels.com and were reasonably pleased with it. The hotel is not very easy to get it though not difficult either. We bought an unlimited use pass from the Munich airport and used the train to get to Leuchtenbergring and then changed over to get to Riem. With kids and luggage this does take some effort especially after a red-eye flight from the US.

From Riem, the hotel is about a 10 min walk. The hotel checkin process was smooth. The room did not have air-conditioning and it was pretty hot and humid. We had the room with sloping roof so there was some space constraint as well since we had the couch opened as a sofa-bed for the two kids. The bed themselves were fine and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with regular toiletries, bath robe, towels, slippers etc. The closet had a safe as well. There as a tube (CRT) TV as well but since all programming was in German and we were hardly in the room we didn't use it at all.

The buffet breakfast was extremely large - lots of variety of everything. There is a nice garden area where we ate dinner once and it was pleasant since the evenings cooled down. The menu isn't extensive especially for a vegetarian (like me). Prices are reasonable. There is a pizza place run by Indians just across the road and we used those the next night. Quite good (perhaps we were too hungry).

The hotel has a spa and a tiny exercise room in the basement but we didn't use those. The train from Riem station into the main city center area and all other areas of attraction runs every 20 min so by the time we managed to make the kids leave the hotel room and get somewhere was almost an hour (walk to train station, missed the train, next is 20 min, then change trains etc. etc.). The hotel does not offer free WiFi but there is a computer in the lobby that one can use for 20 min using a login/passwd that the front-desk will hand out readily.

I would have given it 5 stars if the location was better for tourists. Maybe the location is good for those visiting the Riem neighborhood.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've been to Munich several times and this hotel was the best accommodation by far. Cosy rooms, really nice b'fast, well-informed staffs, free parking and most of all, great value considering the price we paid.
Strongly recommend this place to any travelers with children!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel

Address: Riemer Strasse 350, 81829 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 379 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinzregent An Der Messe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.