We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful bed and pillows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Anna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzenstrasse 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nyon, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awful bed and pillows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good location and spacious room. The room is decorated with the theme of funky graffiti, which is subject to personal preferences. The problem I have is with the bed and pillows. The bed is way too soft and lack of support. Remind me of the sponge bedding in the old days. For this level of hotel, you would imagine they understand customers are used to different levels of pillows. Not here. I miss the Swissotel Metropole where they have a pillow menu.

Good location near the train station. Lots of noise at night.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    166
    62
    14
    7
See reviews for
49
174
41
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A corporate client first introduced me to the Anna Hotel, and from 1997 to 2005, my husband and I stayed there for up to 5 nights every 4 months.

We decided to visit Munich again last month (April 2015) for the first time in 10 years, and of course, we wanted to stay at the Anna.

We were so happy that we were able to return. The hotel has one of the best restaurants (Asian and Continental), with one of the best breakfasts, in Munich. It's also located in the best place to see all of Munich. It's within walking distance--literally seconds--of the train station, the best pedestrian area of Munich, and the tram.

The staff are friendly and efficient, and the rooms are clean with spacious bathrooms.

This is NOT a luxury hotel. It's a super boutique hotel with character, charm, and a great location.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff was friendly and the rooms were adequate. This hotel is parallel to a department store and within earshot of the train station and Karlsplatz. I read previous reviews that mentioned the excessive noise level from the city streets. My sleep fan app drowned it out. The location made up for any inconveniences.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tiffany S,
Thank you for your kind review.
It is great that you enjoyed your stay and especially our location, in the heart of Munich. Noise from outside cannot be limited completely due to our position, although all our windows are sound proofed. However our hotel is the ideal starting point for exploring Munich with its sights, shopping and cultural offers; and public transportation is just a few steps away. I am very pleased to hear that exactly the advantages of our property´s location prevail for you and we hope to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great stay at this boutique hotel in january. Couldn't ask for a better location, near to the main train station but also facing out over the very beautiful and central karlsplatz. We had an interesting room fronting the square and it allowed us to get out and about sight seeing early and never have to worry about finding our way home. Only niggles would be that all the beds are singles awkwardly pushed together to make a double - even in the plushest suites. Also they tried to double charge us, but I think it was a genuine mistake and we picked up on it so no harm done.

Room Tip: Loved our room at the front of the hotel. Only thing to note is that this hotel is in the centre of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Richmond2014,
I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us and the trip advisor community.
With pleasure I read your kind words on our hotel and I am happy that our central location was very convenient for the purpose of your stay.
I understand that the problem regarding a double charge has been corrected already at your complete satisfaction. However if you require any further assistance, please feel free to get in touch with me directly.
We hope to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Julia Sprung (+49 (0) 89 55 1378191; j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de, Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Considering the price that we were paying per night (€200+) we were very disappointed with this hotel in general. We went for a birthday treat so we thought this would be a special treat. The lifts were tiny so sometimes had to wait so long for them so had to use the stairs. The rooms, although spacious and clean, were quite barren - no mini-bar, no room service options, no complimentary teas/coffees. Our iPod dock didn't work so had to wait a day to get a new one. The hotel doesn't have any facilities such as a spa/gym/pool - though they say they do in their sister hotel which would have been available for us to use but would have been massively inconvenient. Breakfast options were very limited. The bar/restaurant area is open to the general public so when we wanted a nice quite drink we were met with a noisy, bustling bar that was always full so no room for us - the hotel guests.

We realised quickly that the price of our room was basically due to the location - it is very central so you can walk to all the touristy landmarks from there quite easily. But we felt that this hotel was, in itself, a bit of a tourist trap.

Up side was that the staff were lovely, polite and helpful, though all of the restaurants that they recommended to us were complete tourist traps so we had to do a bit of research ourselves to go off the beaten path.

I was hoping for a bit of a treat by staying here and generally was disappointed with most of the aspects of this hotel. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Dazzaroni_cheese,
Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for this special occasion last year.
With pleasure I read your compliments on our staff and I am happy that my colleagues assisted you with your requests during.
On the other I regret you had been disappointed with your stay and that we could not satisfy you with our facilities and our service.
Kindly be advised we bother a fair pricing and a good value of money.
All our rooms provide a minibar and we offer very reasonable prices, compared to other hotels, of € 1.00 per item.
Please be ensured we are always keen to arrange a reservation in our restaurant for our hotel guests and I feel very sorry that this time it was not possible.
I am sorry you received a negative impression of our hotel during your stay and that your experience did not meet your expectations.
With best regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a very central location just minutes away from Marienplatz and the train station. The room (456 - 4th floor) was a good size with a lovely decor, a large comfortable bed & a generous size bathroom with a deep bath. We had a view into the mall at the side of the hotel. On our return visit we stayed in room 552 on the 5th floor with views over roof tops. The bathroom was a different configuration with a large shower & rainfall shower head - very relaxing. The double glazing keeps any street noise to a minimum. Windows can also be opened which is nice for checking the weather! The staff were very friendly providing information on Munich and held some of our luggage while we were away from the hotel for a few days. The room was reasonably expensive as the was a conference on in town. The buffet breakfast was also expensive so we opted to order from the menu or eat away from the hotel although there is not a lot open early in Munich (before 10am) so choices are limited. The entrance to the hotel is not on the main street but in the mall so not obvious on first look. There is a step up into the lobby which is a little difficult with large suitcases. Our only other minor complaint was there was no water supplied in the room. The hotel can be easily reached by the airport train which we should have researched before paying 72 euro for a taxi.

Room Tip: Room 456 on the 4th floor faced into the side street and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear LucyIntrepid,
Thank you for your great review.
With great pleasure I read your kind words on our hotel and facilities and I am particular happy that our services came to your satisfaction.
I regret that you missed a bottle of water provided in your room. Kindly be advised we offer water in our minibar at a very reasonable price of € 1.00 per bottle.
We hope to seeing you again soon and remain until then with best regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A perfect hotel with interesting design, spacious rooms, spectacular panoramic views from lots of rooms. Not cheap, of course, and could be a little bit noisy in the morning because it is facing Karlsplatz (Stachus), but all the rest is wonderful. I like it very much. Please notice that normally it is full, so it's better to book at least two weeks before the arrival.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia S, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear MarinaKomarkova,
I thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, especially on our rooms and I am very pleased that you felt comfortable staying with us.
We all hope to seeing you again in the near future and remain until then with best regards from Munich
Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Schutzenstrasse 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Munich
#36 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
#63 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "anna hotel" and its "anna next door" are located in the middle of the city centre of Munich, directly at the famous Karlsplatz/ Stachus. The hotel provides 75 exclusive rooms including the luxury Tower suite on the upper floor. The round balcony on the 6th floor offers a great view over Munich, the Frauenkirche and the magnificent palace of justice. The apartment "anna next door" is unique in the hospitality industry. Its own design is characterized not only by modern furniture as an iPod-Docking station or a flat screen-TV in the restroom but also by a kitchen and a free standing overflow bathtub. The 2 minutes walking distance to the hotel is highly appreciated by the guests. The hotel combines modern design with grace and comfort, which is emphasized by the membership of Lifestylehotels and awarded by the renowned magazine "Architektur & Wohnen" as one of the 100 best Design hotels in Europe. The "anna restaurant", a central hot-spot, is appreciated by the hotel guests and the locals for its modern restaurant concept, the individual service, the euro-asiatic cuisine and for a broad selection of cocktails. Due to its special ambience the "anna restaurant" offers the perfect event location for up to 180 persons ("anna rondell" for up to 30 guests). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.