We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very short stay, decent impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anna Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anna Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anna Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Schutzenstrasse 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 383 hotels in Munich
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very short stay, decent impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at the Anna on a short business trip. The hotel is well located centrally and the service from the staff was good. The bar and restaurant area seemed good though we did not use them. Negatives from my very short stay (nearly resulted in a 3 star rating instead of 4 stars) were unpleasant drains smell in the room coming from the shower area and also the central location also meant noisy trams and revellery late into the night / morning. Honestly would say a better hotel for a couples weekend in Munich than for a business trip but the Anna was decent and it would be unfair to mark it down too much

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Stephen H., Thank you for your review and the related very positive feedback on our colleagues. I will forward your email on to our team. Your comment on the smell from the bathroom has taken us by surprise. I will follow up with the appropriate department regarding this issue. As a city hotel we are conveniently located directly in the city centre of Munich. Due to this central location noise from outside is not completely avoidable. We recommend our more quite rooms on a higher floor facing the pedestrian precinct. However most of our guests really like being downtown, walk to the main sights or use the good public transportation next by.
We hope to seeing you again soon in our hotel. Warmest regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    143
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
136
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We've been there with my wife for 5 days and it was a lovely time. The personal of the hotel is very friendly and ready to help. We asked for bathrobes and kettle and these were immediately delivered. Interier of the room was also nice and sharming, especially nathroom with unusal lighting system:)No jokes, it was really nice! Location of the hotel is very convinient since it is close to the main sights and shopping centers. The minor thing I have to mention is the size of the bed that was really small..we are not fat with my wife but even for ordianry people it is quite small:)

Room Tip: We stayed in 565
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Quality Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear SizovM, Many thanks for taking your valuable time writing this nice review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we could delight you. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards Julia Sprung (Quality Manager) and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I will say the best thing going for this hotel is the staff which was always attentive and pleasant from the moment we arrived until we left. The location is very close to the central station and S-Bahn to the airport making it very easy to connect. The internet is free and all items in the minibar are 1 euro which was the first I have ever seen in a hotel. The items which made this stay average was a very worn out bed in the room which had both me and my partner super stiff in the morning. The curve of the mattess could be seen with the nake eye. Also for decent hotels I think they should off bath gel for the body and a separate shampoo and conditioner. A multi-purpose cleansing gel left our hair super dry. The breakfast in our room rate was not included and was very pricey for what it was! 57 euro for two which apparently warm eggs were not included in the price and the breakfast was modest. If I had known that we would have grabbed a coffee and croissant somewhere else and opted for a pricier better lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear mbryant73,
Thank you for your kind words on our staff. I will pass your compliments on to the entire team. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed some of our benefits we offer for your hotel guests. On the other hand we feel sorry that we could not fulfill your expectation on our guest supplies and our breakfast selection. There might have been a misunderstanding regarding the breakfast. The price for our buffet is € 20.00 per person and includes warm dishes as e.g. eggs. Please feel free to contact if you want to clarify your invoice (j.sprung@geisel-privathotels.de; +49 (0) 89 55137 8191). I will discuss your comment about the mattress with our housekeeping manager and would like to apologize for any inconvenience.
Nevertheless we hope to seeing you again soon and convince entirely from our hotel. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here at the end of a 2 wk trip through Bavaria & Austria for the Christmas Markets. Hotel is well located to the train station, local transportation options, and is just outside the city walls. A very nice breakfast buffet is included in the room rate, although we were not aware that cooked to order eggs, etc were also available until our waiter told us on the 2nd morning. Our room was modern, very comfortable, with plenty of storage, although not large. The bathroom & shower was ver nice. Staff were very welcoming & helpful. Our only complaint was the street noise, particularly on Sat night/ early Sun AM. We were on a lower floor, facing the main street & I think, a night club. I'd recommend asking for a room on a higher floor & on the non- Main Street side we would stay here again, with those parameters.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear travelmadCleveland, We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to summarize your impressions of our hotel. How lovely that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Christmas market which is always a very special time in Munich. Thank you for your kind words on our staff. I will pass your compliments on to the team. We would like to apologize that you had been disturbed by street noise. But as you written we recommend our more quite rooms on a higher floor facing the pedestrian precinct (Schützenstraße) for your next stay. We hope to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, super helpful and friendly staff (it's the people that make the place fantastic). Small rooms but comfortable beds, great breakfast, WHAT MORE DO YOU WANT???? Will only stay here on my next trip to Munchen :).

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear RoshanDutt, How nice! We are honored and want to personally thank you for your efforts and your great review. I will pass your compliments on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

the Anna hotel is in a great position in Wein. don't be misled by the tine entrance foyer and noise from the restaurant, once in you room it is large, clean and very comfortable.this combined with the position that was close to transport shop and historic buildings the hotel was a good find.
Breakfast was also good with plenty of variety.
The staff at the foyer were extremely helpful, and always greeted us with a smile. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: We were lucky with the allocated room it was at the back of the hotel and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Robin R, It was entirely our pleasure having you as guest. Good that we were able to inspire you with our staff, breakfast selection and rooms. It is great to hear that you also enjoyed our central location. The next time you are in town we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel again. Warmest regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabanac, Aquitaine, France
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel with good size rooms and bathrooms.
Met my 4 criteria ... Clean, comfortable bed, good pillows, good shower.
On top of this the location is right in the centre of Munich and a few minutes walk to the Xmas markets, restaurants and shops.
We were there for 3 nights (our second visit) and came away contented.
Staff are helpful and friendly.
Restaurant has good food (extensive sushi/sashimi menu) with large selections. Bar is buzzy. Breakfasts are excellent. Good room-card based security.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socialex, Sales and Marketing Manager at Anna Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear LesH211,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you have chosen our hotel again for your three nights stay and that you enjoyed our central location, our rooms as well as our restaurant. Thank you for your compliment on our staff. We hope to seeing you again soon. Best regards Julia Sprung and the team of the anna hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anna Hotel

Address: Schutzenstrasse 1, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
#59 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#65 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anna Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.