We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of English Garden

English Garden
80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 38666390
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$50*
and up
Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian...
Ranked #1 of 428 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Very popular scenic park, more internaitonal than its name would suggest, it contains a Greek temple, Chinese pagoda and Japanese tea house.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I wandered around in the morning. There are some people jogging. There seems to be used as a relaxing spot by residents. The garden is very huge. If you bring a bike, you'll enjoy it more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,872
    1,768
    275
    32
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Spacious greenery and lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Walked through parts of the English Garden on our way to the Seehaus restaurant.

Lots of local joggers and friendly football matches on the grass. The lake is gorgeous with resident swans.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“English Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. It is very large and it takes you a while to get around. In the center there is a biergarden and you can rent boats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“It really is 'English'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A beautiful and huge park in central Munich. Best reached via Odeonsplatz station, then walk through the Residence park.
We went twice during our stay- once in the afternoon and once in the evening. Both times it was buzzing with tourists and locals. Being English, I found it weird how much the layout reminded me of home! We sat on picnic benches at the smaller beer garden by the water and watched the ducks, with beer and excellent food- it is quite expensive to eat here but really you can have one dish between two. The BBQ ribs are amazing.
On our second visit we went to the larger beer garden by the pagoda- this is a lot more German, with the band playing. Beware of the wasps.
Other than the beer gardens, you can just sit on the grass and enjoy the atmosphere, or maybe watch the surfers!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“English Garden, a good choice to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Definitely one of my highlights on my trip to Munich!
I spend there many hours on the beautiful grass plains, and also in the beergarden, of course.
The beergarden at Chinesischer Turm is a good place to sit, drink delicious beer, eat bavarian dishes and watch people.
As a surfer myself, I enjoyed also the famous wave in the Eisbach.
On a beautiful day with hot weather, this was a real great experience and a challenge too!
I did quite well, I think...

If you happen to go to Munich, don´t miss to spend time in this beautiful parc!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English Garden also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to English Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.