We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Westfalia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Westfalia
Save
You added Pension Westfalia to your Saves list
Mozartstrasse 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
“Great stay in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Pension Westfalia for 5 nights and had a lovely time. Peter was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was much nicer than we expected. The room was comfortable and we felt very safe. Although it is a little far from the main tourist areas, the metro was very easy to navigate. I would stay here again if I ever have the good fortune to return to Munich!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
15
19
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at pension westfalia during our 7 day stay in munich. Overall it was a good stay. The room was spacious with a window that opened out to views of therenweisse grounds. The bed was comfortable and the room was cleaned each day with fresh towels and sheets. The host peter was very hospitable and helpful. Breakfast each morning was cereals, bread , deli meat and cheeses. It was basic but satisfying. The pension is only 2 metro stops from marienplatz and in a safe and quiet location (different during oktoberfest of course!) We had a room with no shower which was fine but could be an issue during busy periods due to only one shower being available. The price was good for the room and location and would definitely recommend staying here when in fabulous munich.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Basic room with free wi-fi, clean and comfortable, for the reasonable price. Staff was very helpful and spoke English. Breakfast was adequate and the coffee was good. Would be a great location during Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our family of 4 adults stayed in a family room at the Pension Westfalia for 2 nights in September.
It is a very short walk from the underground station & only 2 stops from the centre of Munich. Peter was extremely helpful & our rooms were comfortable, clean & quiet. The hotel is located on the upper floors of the building & there is a lift. Only problem was that the run off of water from the shower into the bath, drained very slowly, but Peter pointed this out to us beforehand & didn't really worry about. Breakfast was very good.
Peter answered all emails promptly & spoke excellent English.
Earlier this year, my son decided to extend his holiday to include Octoberfest. The Westfalia is directly over the road from the grounds. Peter had a cancellation, so my son was able to return there for 6 more nights for Octoberfest & said it was the best location you could possibly hope for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Munich for a single night and just wanted a place to crash. We chose this place because it is a private room at the same cost as a youth hostel/ dorm, and I am glad to have chosen PW. The room was quaint and very European. Shared bathroom didn't really feel all public, it was just across our room. Breakfast was good as well. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I had a good stay at this hotel, and it was good value for the money. I unknowingly planned my trip during a major conference, so most hotels in Munich were booked or charging ridiculously high prices. Even with slightly higher-than-normal prices, my room at the Pension Westfalia was inexpensive. The shared bathroom was not a problem. There are two toilets, and there was never anyone using the bath when I wanted to. You get keys to the building and to the room, allowing you to come and go when you want. The breakfast was very convenient and filling. A few minor quibbles that I didn't really mind, but that others might: the bed was a little hard (and the single room has two single beds for some reason), the wifi occasionally didn't work, and the shared bathroom only has a tub with a handheld showerhead. Overall, I would definitely still recommend Pension Westfalia as an excellent budget option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Pension Westfalia is fantastic and the rates really did save me plenty of money. Its location in Goetheplatz is ideal, not too far away from the city and not too close either, which makes it less "touristy" than the perpetually crowded Marienplatz area. Other than the location, there are also a few more things that made this place such a great stay - Peter's warmth and friendliness, the two bakeries/cafes nearby which served scrumptious cakes and croissants ( I was in these two cafes almost every day for breakfast and tea) and the fact that the building looks old but filled with character. Just a note for people who plan to stay here - bring a torchlight. When you return to the pension at night, the lift area on the first floor will be completely dark. And scary. But even this scary bit made my stay memorable. I heartily recommend this place, especially for solo travelers!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Westfalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Westfalia

Address: Mozartstrasse 23, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Pension Westfalia Hotel Munich
Westfalia Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Westfalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.