We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in October 2013. Very friendly staff, good location, and affordable prices for Munich. The hotel is close to the Theresienwiese where the Oktoberfest is held, and a convenient U-bahn station is located. The rooms are clean and come with free breakfast and wifi. Their website is a little odd, so just e-mail them for availability. As others have noted, the hotel is a little bit away from the city center, but with the local public transport I was able to go anywhere I wanted with ease. I would highly recommend this hotel for travelers who enjoy something more cozy than a business style hotel, but something with more amenities and privacy than a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    224
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
180
263
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tudela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is excellent! We stayed for 4 days there and were absolutely happy with everything! The room was very spacious, warm, the beds are extremely comfortable. The treatment at the reception is wonderful, they would explain you with lots of patience everything you needed to know. The breakfasts were delicious. What I loved most is that, apart from lots of variety, they had a BIO corner with different organic food. The hotel had lots of small details for their clients, like putting typical sweets during the tea time, and having the free machine for warm drinks 24 hours. The location is also great, no noise on the streets, close to everything, we went walking to places even though we had a 3.5 year old child : ) I would absolutely recommend the hotel and would sure come back there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
485 reviews 485 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent a night in room # 11 last week. It's small but we knew that as we've stayed in that room before and really spent very little time at the hotel other than sleeping. The bathroom is small -- beware of that. The room had an old (small) CRT old-style TV which was a bit surprising since I've read that some of the rooms have been recently renovated. Other than those two things we had no complaints about the room. Breakfast was great as usual although the coffee is kinda weak.

All hotel staff we met were as always charming and pleasant.

While Uhland is a bit far from the centrum of Munich with bikes (which we brought) get you into town quickly. Free parking and the lack of hustle and bustle of the surrounding neighborhood make this hotel our go-to place for Munich.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

2nd time staying here, this time with two very young children in tow! Room was perfect for us - three twins and a baby cot made up. Love the location - 15 mins walk or a short U-Bahn ride from Marienplatz. Service is always attentive, whether at the front desk or breakfast (which is always tasty). Inside is modernized - but not too modernized- if I wanted to stay at a hotel that looked like every other hotel at home, why would I travel! This trip cemented that this is our first pick for staying in Munich and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the final leg of our Europe trip. We loved Munich!! This hotel is about 25 minute walk to the city center where the Christmas markets were in full swing! It is absolutely beautiful! We were also able to experience the Tollwood festival which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel... More markets, mulled wine and live music! Just great! The hotel itself is simple, clean, beds are good, on a quite street, wifi was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple. We felt we got good value for our money.. And if you don't mind waking you don't have to use public transport. We only used the subway to get to and from the airport. Otherwise we just walked everywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

There is only word to describe this Hotel - wonderful.The Hotel is well located to all major locations,5 minutes to Theresienwiese,10 minutes to Hauptbahnhoff,20 minutes to Sendlinger Tor.The staff is very friendly and helpful (Thank You for a little bottle of wine to ours Honeymoon:) )The breakfast was always fresh and tasty,one day they did opened the dining room especially for us at 6:45,because we needed to leave early. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet (helps to the healthy sleep). Near the hotel locates nice and not expensive Linz restaurant.
The only thing that need an improvement - Wi-Fi, a couple of evenings we couldn't connect to internet (maybe it is a problem of the last floor rooms)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Uhland is on a quiet street, about 2 blocks from the Oktoberfest grounds, and a 15-20 minute walk to Marienplatz in the city center. We arrived in Munich from the US on the last day of Oktoberfest, and the hotel couldn't have been closer to the fairgrounds. If you are going to Oktoberfest, you absolutely should book a room at Hotel Uhland. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They gladly provided a map and directions to various locations in Munich. Our room was small, but that seems to be typical for rooms in Europe, compared to the United States. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very tasty. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only downside of staying here is that we were required to pay in advance to secure a room during Oktoberfest, since this is understandably one of the busiest times a year. I was nervous about mailing a traveler's check, but they emailed me to confirm they had received my payment and everything worked out fine. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.