We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the final leg of our Europe trip. We loved Munich!! This hotel is about 25 minute walk to the city center where the Christmas markets were in full swing! It is absolutely beautiful! We were also able to experience the Tollwood festival which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel... More markets, mulled wine and live music! Just great! The hotel itself is simple, clean, beds are good, on a quite street, wifi was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple. We felt we got good value for our money.. And if you don't mind waking you don't have to use public transport. We only used the subway to get to and from the airport. Otherwise we just walked everywhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    224
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
179
261
39
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

There is only word to describe this Hotel - wonderful.The Hotel is well located to all major locations,5 minutes to Theresienwiese,10 minutes to Hauptbahnhoff,20 minutes to Sendlinger Tor.The staff is very friendly and helpful (Thank You for a little bottle of wine to ours Honeymoon:) )The breakfast was always fresh and tasty,one day they did opened the dining room especially for us at 6:45,because we needed to leave early. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet (helps to the healthy sleep). Near the hotel locates nice and not expensive Linz restaurant.
The only thing that need an improvement - Wi-Fi, a couple of evenings we couldn't connect to internet (maybe it is a problem of the last floor rooms)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Uhland is on a quiet street, about 2 blocks from the Oktoberfest grounds, and a 15-20 minute walk to Marienplatz in the city center. We arrived in Munich from the US on the last day of Oktoberfest, and the hotel couldn't have been closer to the fairgrounds. If you are going to Oktoberfest, you absolutely should book a room at Hotel Uhland. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. They gladly provided a map and directions to various locations in Munich. Our room was small, but that seems to be typical for rooms in Europe, compared to the United States. The complimentary breakfast buffet was very tasty. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only downside of staying here is that we were required to pay in advance to secure a room during Oktoberfest, since this is understandably one of the busiest times a year. I was nervous about mailing a traveler's check, but they emailed me to confirm they had received my payment and everything worked out fine. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

While planning our recent visit to Munich I researched many different hotels to find the perfect fit for our group of six. Early on I identified Hotel Uhland as a potential choice but still continued the search. Every time I looked at a different hotel I found myself comparing it to Hotel Uhland and nothing quite measured up.
When we arrived at the hotel last week we were greeted like old friends. Nate gave us the opportunity to get settled in our rooms and then come back at our leisure to complete the necessary paperwork. While the building itself has some age to it, the rooms are all clean and well cared for. Sleeping at night I heard no traffic or other guests. Breakfast had a nice variety and fresh coffee was brought directly to our table by the staff.
Better than the actual accomodations was the staff. Every person we interacted with was friendly, knowledgable about the city, restaurants, and excellent with directions.
Take my advice and say yes to Hotel Uhland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My father and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. The hotel is on a quite road but the windows still kept out any street noise. We were in room 35 - we got one of the larger rooms that they offer. It was worth the extra money. The room was clean and the bathroom was a really good size.Just watch your head! There's a few places you can hit it.

The location is excellent. We weren’t there for Oktoberfest but it’s really, really close. If I ever do go – this is the hotel I would stay at. It’s also close to several u-bahn stations and about a 20 min walk to the mail train station.

The people at the front desk were really amazing. All of the staff were great and I want to give an extra thank you to tall man at the front desk. He was extremely personable and helpful – he made us feel very welcome and is a huge asset to Hotel Uhland. I’m sorry I don’t remember his name. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here next time I’m in Munich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel Meran is located on a quiet street and close to public transportation so it is easy to get around. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The staff at the hotel really made our stay very enjoyable. They were very helpful with transportation questions and restaurant recommendations (all of which were great). Nate was wonderful. We traveled with 2 other couples and had a lot of questions. He was very helpful and patient.

We would highly recommend Hotel Uhland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is only 15-20 minutes walk from Munich train station, or 1 stop away by U bahn, so very convenient. Its about a 25 minute walk to Marienplatz, which is the central sightseeing location in the city.
Three of us girls stayed in a triple room (family room no 15) which was spacious and comfy. It was already mid Oct, so cold in Munich, but the room was cosy, and warmed up after first day. Breakfast was good, quite a variety, the only complaint: the bread didn't seem freshly baked(baked from frozen maybe?), and in Germany its so easy to get used to delicious fresh bread from lovely neighbourhood bakeries.
Every little detail in the room had been considered: black out curtains, good lighting, plenty of space to hang clothes/coats, colour coded towels(three colours for three people!) The double bed was big, with separate duvets, and the single bed was also large.
A minor complaint about the bathroom: it had a slight stench, like sewerage, which didn't seem to go away. Also, the shower head needed cleaning.
The reception staff was very helpful with maps and suggestions where to eat. They sent us to Lenz, a lovely local restaurant 5 minutes away. All in all, I would recommend this to anyone looking to visit Munich!
A suggestion for the owners: providing tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms would really help enhance guest comfort, especially after along day of sightseeing. Whilst the coffee in the common room is a nice touch, why can't guests take coffee or tea up to their rooms from there?

Room Tip: Room 15 is a triple room, called a family room. Very comfortable and spacious for 3 adults or 2 adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#65 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.