We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oktoberfest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 383 hotels in Munich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oktoberfest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose Hotel Uhland due to the amazing reviews we read on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We were in Munich for Oktoberfest and the location alone made it an amazing stay. The hotel was only 1/2 block from the grounds and an easy walk to the S-Bahn (15min) and U-bahn (5min). The rooms were very spacious and well maintained. In addition it had a beautiful modern bathroom. The stay included a nice breakfast and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Munich next.

Room Tip: Triple room has a nice living room/sitting area which was wonderful after stay at some tiny hotel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    386
    218
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
165
249
34
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Hotel Uhland for seven nights. It is a well run, clean, ideally located home base for anyone visiting Munich. Nestled in a beautiful neighborhood with lovely homes, you could easily walk to the Hauptbahnhof (10 minutes) or up to the Marienplatz (15 minutes if you don't stop at the lovely shops near the Sendlinger Tor. Want to hop on the u-bahn? Hotel Uhland is a short 5 minute walk to the Theresenwiese stop, which is one stop from the Hauptbahnhof. I was there in August so I missed Oktoberfest but was able to see the construction of all the tents and rides at Theresenwiese. The hotel is ideally situated for festival attendees.

Since I was travelling alone, I had a single room. It was small, but had everything you could need. The bed was comfortable, there was a desk, phone, mini-fridge, a closet with a safe, tv with lots of channels, and a tiny yet efficient bathroom with a shower. I had a nice window that looked out at the side of the hotel so I saw trees and the neighboring mansion. It was very quiet and relaxing. The hotel is a few buildings down from the busier road so you mostly just hear local traffic. I didn't hear much noise from my neighbors and slept soundly the entire stay. The hotel is an old mansion so there are some creaks and squeaks from the doors and floors but nothing unusual.

The staff were exceptional. I enjoyed chatting daily with Nate and Maria. They were very welcoming and had wonderful suggestions for things to see around town and places to eat. Breakfast was delicious. The women who staffed it would bring you tea or coffee and kept replenishing the various breads, granola/cereal, yogurt, eggs and meat for guests. There's a lounge area as well with a coffee machine and guide books and brochures of Munich and nearby day trips. There's also a computer available if you aren't travelling with your own technology.

Overall, I had a wonderful and comfortable stay at Hotel Uhland. I would recommend it to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENICE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose the Hotel Uhland due to the wonderful reviews as well as their friendly website. We were more than pleased. It is located one block from the Ocktoberfest grounds in a lovely residential neighborhood and very walkable to public transportation. Rooms are large and comfortable, and they are also a good value. (We were three couples traveling together, and we were all very pleased with the accommodations.) Everything is spotless. Breakfast was lovely each morning.

What really makes the Hotel Uhland a special place to stay is the staff. Nate welcomed us warmly and answered our many questions, adding a lot of humor. Andrea was also very helpful.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Nate greeted us in perfect English. He and other staff members were very accommodating and helpful with transportation suggestions and restaurants. Rooms nice size and even had a desk! Bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and a pot of tea or coffee was brought to your table. In the coffee room you could select your type of coffee drink. The hotel is located on quiet street but also conveniently located for walking to the train station and Marienplatz or using public transportation to go to the BMW Museum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is located between Theresenwiese and the Hauptbanhof, and therefore has convenient access to public transportation. The staff made sure that I had the information I needed to get around the city and allowed for early check-in. The room was small (a single, reminded me of rooms in Japan) but it was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was adequate and balanced local cuisine with continental staples. Excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Hotel Uhland three nights in early September. We arrived on an early flight and came to the hotel where we were enthusiastically greeted. The gentleman who worked at the desk during the day spoke perfect English and was always ready to help us by answering questions or giving suggestions. Our rooms weren't ready but we were able to sit in the coffee lounge and use the bathroom to change clothes (after traveling 18 hours) and leave our luggage for the day. The hotel is on a lovely quiet street about a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station. It is only about 3 blocks from the Thereseweise U-bahn and about a 25 minute walk to Marienplatz. We walked it several times and enjoyed the walk especially after meals of sausage, pretzels and beer! The hotel is kept up very well and is very clean. The beds were comfortable and our large double room was very large by European standards. Our adult children had a regular double room which turned out to be a room with a double bed and then a small room off of that with another bed and a large bathroom. It worked well for our two grown children to share. The rooms were at the end of a hall and had a double door that closed off between our two rooms and the hall so we were able to close that and keep our room doors open and it felt like we had a suite! :-) It was perfect for us. The breakfast was served in a small, pleasant breakfast room and was typical for a German hotel with breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, etc. One morning we had been out dealing with a car rental issue and we got back too late for breakfast but the woman serving breakfast told us she hadn't put the food away and we should come and eat anyway. It really helped us out with our schedule for the day and we appreciated it very much. This is not a hotel that Americans would call 5 star-- with fancy amenities but it is 5 star in my book for the perfect European hotel experience I hope for--with helpful, friendly staff that go out of their way for you, large, updated, clean rooms with a comfortable mattress, in a quiet neighborhood and close to the sights. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Uhland and would look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are quite nice and I thought worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I were in Munich recently and stayed at Hotel Uhland for 6 nights. One of the best stays in Europe, we have ever had! The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its a 10-12 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof, which is the main train station for Munich. The walk is pleasant and felt very safe. The city center is a 20-25 minute walk, though we only did that once and took the train most of the time. The hotel itself is on a quiet street. The room we had was big, as was the bathroom. The staff is really what made this hotel stand out for us! I must have emailed them about 20 times before we got there, with questions, requests, changes, etc., and each and everytime, the response was prompt and polite. While we were there, the staff made a wonderful gesture - they found out that it was my husband's birthday and surprised him (and me!) with a bottle of german sparkling wine at breakfast. We could not have been more touched. The breakfast, as other reviews have pointed out, is pretty good. Lots of choice - bread, meat, jam, spreads, home made flavoured yoghurt. The coffee is served in a nice pot, brought to your table by very friendly staff. We loved it! I would recommend the hotel to anyone. To be sure, this is a small, family run hotel, the building is old, but well maintained and it has more the feel of a b and b, rather than a large, unsentimental hotel. If you are looking for a cozy hotel, well situated, with a fantastic staff and good breakfast, this is your place. If we were ever in Munich again, I cannot see us staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a big room with a balcony, since we were going to be there for 6 nights. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list