We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sehr Gut!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sehr Gut!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our family of four stayed at Hotel Uhland three nights in early September. We arrived on an early flight and came to the hotel where we were enthusiastically greeted. The gentleman who worked at the desk during the day spoke perfect English and was always ready to help us by answering questions or giving suggestions. Our rooms weren't ready but we were able to sit in the coffee lounge and use the bathroom to change clothes (after traveling 18 hours) and leave our luggage for the day. The hotel is on a lovely quiet street about a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station. It is only about 3 blocks from the Thereseweise U-bahn and about a 25 minute walk to Marienplatz. We walked it several times and enjoyed the walk especially after meals of sausage, pretzels and beer! The hotel is kept up very well and is very clean. The beds were comfortable and our large double room was very large by European standards. Our adult children had a regular double room which turned out to be a room with a double bed and then a small room off of that with another bed and a large bathroom. It worked well for our two grown children to share. The rooms were at the end of a hall and had a double door that closed off between our two rooms and the hall so we were able to close that and keep our room doors open and it felt like we had a suite! :-) It was perfect for us. The breakfast was served in a small, pleasant breakfast room and was typical for a German hotel with breads, meats, cheeses, cereals, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, etc. One morning we had been out dealing with a car rental issue and we got back too late for breakfast but the woman serving breakfast told us she hadn't put the food away and we should come and eat anyway. It really helped us out with our schedule for the day and we appreciated it very much. This is not a hotel that Americans would call 5 star-- with fancy amenities but it is 5 star in my book for the perfect European hotel experience I hope for--with helpful, friendly staff that go out of their way for you, large, updated, clean rooms with a comfortable mattress, in a quiet neighborhood and close to the sights. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Uhland and would look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are quite nice and I thought worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    232
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
282
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I were in Munich recently and stayed at Hotel Uhland for 6 nights. One of the best stays in Europe, we have ever had! The location of the hotel is fantastic. Its a 10-12 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof, which is the main train station for Munich. The walk is pleasant and felt very safe. The city center is a 20-25 minute walk, though we only did that once and took the train most of the time. The hotel itself is on a quiet street. The room we had was big, as was the bathroom. The staff is really what made this hotel stand out for us! I must have emailed them about 20 times before we got there, with questions, requests, changes, etc., and each and everytime, the response was prompt and polite. While we were there, the staff made a wonderful gesture - they found out that it was my husband's birthday and surprised him (and me!) with a bottle of german sparkling wine at breakfast. We could not have been more touched. The breakfast, as other reviews have pointed out, is pretty good. Lots of choice - bread, meat, jam, spreads, home made flavoured yoghurt. The coffee is served in a nice pot, brought to your table by very friendly staff. We loved it! I would recommend the hotel to anyone. To be sure, this is a small, family run hotel, the building is old, but well maintained and it has more the feel of a b and b, rather than a large, unsentimental hotel. If you are looking for a cozy hotel, well situated, with a fantastic staff and good breakfast, this is your place. If we were ever in Munich again, I cannot see us staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a big room with a balcony, since we were going to be there for 6 nights. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about Hotel Uhland. It's convenient to the Marienplatz, the train station and it you are visiting Munich for the Oktoberfest, you couldn't be closer. The rooms are spacious, clean and have balconies and large windows. The staff is very welcoming and accomodating. We were planning to return our car at the airport and then take the train back to the hotel, the staff member suggested that we contact the car rental agency and see if we could return the car at the train station, which they did. It saved us significant time and hassle. Breakfast was nice and the wifi worked, all big plusses for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redondo beach, ca
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

we stayed there end of august 2013 and we really enjoyed our stay!... The place is clean, the breakfast great, and the room was huge. it was located close to the city of Munich, close to train station and the area was nice. one day we had a car and there was free parking too. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: we have a 14 year old, so we chose the family room... large room with lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed in Uhland in may 2013. Very good location closest to octoberfest park, not far from trailstation and center of the Munich. Very silent and comfortable place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and big room. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel Uhland provides the right balance of value for the dollar and is the right place to stay in Munich. The hotel is situated very well in a quiet neighborhood walking distance to the old town of Munich and also a block away from the setting for Octoberfest. Nice restaurants within blocks and parking area for cars. The hosts are very informative and willing to help in all ways.
It all adds up to a great value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not sure quite what the fuss is about, this is a decent, serviceable hotel but nothing 5-star. Our room was very basic but comfortable, breakfast was good. Staff were pleasant and I particularly liked Brigitte from the front desk and her tales of getting her motorcycle license, hope it is going well for her. This was one of a few places we stayed in Central Europe where we had trouble with the old-fashioned room keys, but fortunately there is 24-hour reception so we could get help when we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#7 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#8 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.