We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save Saved
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Surrey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great little hotel for a short stay. My friend and I were on our way from London to Cyprus by train and stopped off here for two nights as it was fairly close to station and centre and tucked away in a side street. It's a very welcoming place with adequate clean rooms. Breakfast was excellent and the reception staff, with the exception of one who was very abrupt on the phone and face to face, were very friendly and helpful. I found the WiFi patchy although they do have a small lounge for PC use.

I would recommend it to anyone for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    224
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
178
261
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Munich in May 2013 and the hotel is situated in an excellent location. Everything in walking distance including the must see Marienplatz. Bathrooms may be small, but the character and age of the hotel are truly unique assets. Breakfast staff is delightful as well as the front desk folks. We used a local restaurant, Lenz, twice while there and it was just great. Lovely neighborhood and walking distance to Ocktoberfest grounds as previous reviews indicate.
We rented a car as we were traveling to Rothenberg ob der Tauber after a five night stay in Munich. We drove out of Munich for various day trips while there. Parking was on property and in mid May we had no problem. Helpful hint: bring your own shampoo, conditioner as well as a bar of soap.

While we visited the well known Hofbrau House, we also ate at a large restaurant called Hacker- Schorr, which " appears" to be a chain serving good beers and good German fare. We have never eaten such delicious bratwurst and sausages in our lives and the sauerkraut is simply so different from that in the States. Easy to eat Low carb diet in Germany. Although must admit that the bakery rolls at breakfast are too hard to resist! When in Munich, right off Marienplatz, ask for the locals favorite bier garden/ restaurant called Andechser am Dom, or Augistiner am Dom..locals ate here and it was packed. Inside as well as outside where we enjoyed fabulous German fare.

Anyway, all within walking distance from Hotel Uhland! Enjoy!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I along with our two daughters, their husbands, and our four grand children invaded Hotel Uhland the second week of June. With such a large group we were a bit concerned, but our stay could not have been better. I have to first compliment the reception staff, Andrea, Maria, and Nate. They were very helpful, pleasant, knowledgeable, and professional.
My wife and I were in room 17 and found it to be comfortable, clean and roomy by German standards, each of our daughters had rooms for four and they too found very acceptable. In fact when the left us to travel to the Mosel valley, the e-mailed us once they checked in to their hotel and said, "this hotel in no Uhland"! The free wi-Fi was not consistent in the rooms but always strong in the computer room.

The location of the hotel is an easy 10 minute walk from the HBF, 5 minutes to the Theresienwiesse, site of the Octoberfest,
and about 20 minutes to city center. It sits in a neighborhood of huge missionary well maintained old homes, on tree lined streets.

This is a family owned and operated hotel and as guests we made to feel like part of the family. I Highly recommend Hotel Uhland.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Located at 100 mtrs from Teresienwiese, walking to citycenter is easy walk of 15 minutes. Parking for free

Nice old house in a quite neighbourhood (Outside oktoberfeste i guess) spacious room, bathroom too small with toilet/bassin/shower in 2 square mtrs.

Breakfast is more then owkay, extremely polite personnel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hotel Uhland is near the train station, but far enough away from the strip clubs, etc. It is located in a nice quiet neighbor, but only a block away from the Oktoberfest field. The service was helpful and patient in answering questions during our stay. The room was spacious for two people. The walk from the hotel to Marienplatz was very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great Hotel! , the hotel is actually pretty close to the main train station.plus it's also within walking distance from Munich's main attraction. The staff are also very knowledgeable and provided very clear instructions on how to get to places and also provided good advice on where to dine :) The rooms are clean, breakfast is delicious. our room came together with a spacious balcony which is really nice as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel Uhland, thanks to Rick Steves and the RS forum who recommended it, did not disappoint. A very short walk from the main train station, it is located away from the busy station in a quaint quiet neighborhood lined with trees and fragrant blooms that wafted through the air each time we traversed to-and-from the hotel. Ah! what a great reminder to stop and smell the flowers. The entire staff was wonderful--friendly, helpful and pleasant. While this is not a luxury hotel--and we didn't pay luxury hotel prices--the room was clean, spacious for European standards, and beds/pillows were extremely comfortable. Our room was freshly painted with an updated bathroom, so our stay was made even more enjoyable. The breakfast was comparable to other hotels, with a variety of cheeses/meats, hard/soft boiled eggs, breads, yogurt, fruits, juices and an organic station with a variety of whole grain stuff. My only complaint is that no one in Europe seems to offer oatmeal, but my tummy was satisfied every morning and I got the energy boost to explore Munich. There's a restaurant about a block away that offered very tasty wiener schnitzel and white asparagus (seasonal). So I was a happy camper!

Hotel Uhland is located right next to the Oktoberfest fairground...but that didn't help us since we didn't visit during this time. But if you do come for the beer fest, don't miss staying at this gem.

Room Tip: Room 17 has new paint, updated bathroom/shower and no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#64 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.