We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 379 hotels in Munich
Rosemere, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Uhland for 3 nights in January for the BAU.
It is a quiet place, not far from the subway station, the rooms would need some upgrade, we can see that the furniture is clean but old.
The staff is very friendly and are willing to help you anytime.
Compare to other hotel close to the train station, this one is really a good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    208
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
151
232
31
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel is close to Munich DB station but with quiet and safe environment. Staff are friendly and active for providing help. Breakfast is also great. I will recommend this hotel and stay here next time visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Uhland. On arrival we walked from the Munich Hauptbahnhof. I don't particularly recommend that, as the neighborhood nearest the station seemed rather seedy. We weren't bothered at all, but I wouldn't (and didn't) walk through that area again.

The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a nice size room with a nice bathroom and a good shower. Plenty of storage for clothes and luggage. We had a good wifi connection from the room.

The nearest U-bahn station was a little bit of a hike, as was the center of town. Not a problem for us, but if you have mobility problems could be a concern. That said, the hotel is quite close to the Oktoberfest grounds and the location would be hard to beat if you wanted to go for Oktoberfest.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They provided us with a map and oriented us to the area and to town.

We liked the breakfast and found plenty of options that suited us.

There is a lift.

The only other thing I'd recommend is paying the evening before if you have an early departure. We inquired at the desk and were encouraged to wait until morning, as they have staff on duty 24 hours. However, when we arrived at the desk to check out, the clerk was away and we had to wait a few minutes. If we'd been cutting it close we could have missed our train, or worse, our flight.

This is quite a nice hotel and a good value and we'd definitely stay at Hotel Uhland again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Awesome place to stay! The Staff and the amenities were outstanding! For those of us who tried hard to speak their beautiful language (and butchered it, sorry) they were extremely friendly and helpful! Perfect home point for travelers! Not that far from the train and Christmas Markets and only a block, if that, from the Oktoberfest. Best time I have ever had, and yes, we plan on another trip and staying at Uhland. The building is beautiful! Full of history and once you talk to the owner, interesting stories. Fun, fun, fun! Thank you for being my first experience in Germany, UHLAND makes me want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a very good time at Hotel Uhland. The staff is amazing! They provided us with a map, information about public transport and recommendations on sights to visit. Rooms are super clean and spacious. We had a triple room and enough space.The bathroom was modern with a seperate toilet. The area is beautiful. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Uhland in Dec. The rooms was very big. We had 2 rooms with 3 people in each and it were very comfortable.The setting is perfect 15 min walk to main station and 5 min to nearest underground and in a quiet area. The breakfast is good but not exceptional. The staf were briliant. Nate at reception was very friendly and helpfull. He help us with information regarding the transport system and places to eat. The kept our excess luggauge for 10 days. When we booked in the second time our excess luggauage were in our room.When we depart the first time we forgot some of our stuff at the breakfast table and when we terurned it was placed with our other lugguage in our room.
I can recomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on at least three different occasions and the primary reason we return is because the owners and the staff are so nice, helpful and friendly (special thanks to Nate who was so sweet to us and our kids). We stayed in a family room (we are a family of 4), for a great price. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was a traditional German breakfast with a very good assortment of items and everything was delicious. Location is close to the subway (Ubahn) and a very short ride into the downtown shopping area. They have free wifi which is not that common in Europe, although it was a bit spotty or slow in our room (2nd floor), however, we had no problems using the internet in the Hotel's "living room" downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich
Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list