We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First trip to Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Awesome place to stay! The Staff and the amenities were outstanding! For those of us who tried hard to speak their beautiful language (and butchered it, sorry) they were extremely friendly and helpful! Perfect home point for travelers! Not that far from the train and Christmas Markets and only a block, if that, from the Oktoberfest. Best time I have ever had, and yes, we plan on another trip and staying at Uhland. The building is beautiful! Full of history and once you talk to the owner, interesting stories. Fun, fun, fun! Thank you for being my first experience in Germany, UHLAND makes me want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    227
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
272
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a very good time at Hotel Uhland. The staff is amazing! They provided us with a map, information about public transport and recommendations on sights to visit. Rooms are super clean and spacious. We had a triple room and enough space.The bathroom was modern with a seperate toilet. The area is beautiful. Breakfast was buffet style and very good. Recommended 100%.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Uhland in Dec. The rooms was very big. We had 2 rooms with 3 people in each and it were very comfortable.The setting is perfect 15 min walk to main station and 5 min to nearest underground and in a quiet area. The breakfast is good but not exceptional. The staf were briliant. Nate at reception was very friendly and helpfull. He help us with information regarding the transport system and places to eat. The kept our excess luggauge for 10 days. When we booked in the second time our excess luggauage were in our room.When we depart the first time we forgot some of our stuff at the breakfast table and when we terurned it was placed with our other lugguage in our room.
I can recomend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on at least three different occasions and the primary reason we return is because the owners and the staff are so nice, helpful and friendly (special thanks to Nate who was so sweet to us and our kids). We stayed in a family room (we are a family of 4), for a great price. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was a traditional German breakfast with a very good assortment of items and everything was delicious. Location is close to the subway (Ubahn) and a very short ride into the downtown shopping area. They have free wifi which is not that common in Europe, although it was a bit spotty or slow in our room (2nd floor), however, we had no problems using the internet in the Hotel's "living room" downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a family Room with 3 beds. The staff were wonderful and helpful. Great location to walk from train station or to the centre of Munich. Even though it was new years eve the location next to the Octoberfest site it was still very quite. The area is full of beautiful buildings and delightful to walk around. Breakfast was terrific and at 130 euro a night it is very reasonable. Only one complaint the wifi was patchy but as we were on the 3rd floor that made sense. There is a small living area downstairs with coffee and tea with a free computer use for those without smartphones. Wifi perfect here. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 4 nights here. Had 2 rooms with our daughter in a single room. very good value. The rooms are in keeping with the classof the hotel but spottlessy clean and beds are comfortable. breakfast is traditional and good. Nate and the other staff were very helpful and friendly. location is great and we walked to the marienplatz in about 25 minutes.

Internet is a bit slow at least in our rooms on 3rd floor.

Wouldstay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A friend recommend Hotel Uhland to us and we were so happy we chose this hotel! It is an easy bus ride on bus 58 (only two stops) from the train station. Very easy with or without luggage. Our room, a triple, was large and comfortable. We each had our own bed, and flat screen TV as well as internet in our room. Large bathroom, hot water, and clean and comfortable stay. breakfast was awesome, and so was the staff. Hotel has elevator which was quite handy. Very helpful and friendly. Easy walk to everything, including the bus stop and S Bahn. Quiet neighborhood (actually quite lovely) and if you go for Octoberfest it is only a two minute walk to the fairgrounds. (Actually end of the block). We walked there before Christmas and they had a big Christmas festival going on. Hotel Uhland, a great value, and wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.