We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A friend recommend Hotel Uhland to us and we were so happy we chose this hotel! It is an easy bus ride on bus 58 (only two stops) from the train station. Very easy with or without luggage. Our room, a triple, was large and comfortable. We each had our own bed, and flat screen TV as well as internet in our room. Large bathroom, hot water, and clean and comfortable stay. breakfast was awesome, and so was the staff. Hotel has elevator which was quite handy. Very helpful and friendly. Easy walk to everything, including the bus stop and S Bahn. Quiet neighborhood (actually quite lovely) and if you go for Octoberfest it is only a two minute walk to the fairgrounds. (Actually end of the block). We walked there before Christmas and they had a big Christmas festival going on. Hotel Uhland, a great value, and wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    227
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
272
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A three and a half block walk from the train station makes this the perfect location for getting around Munich and for day trips using the trains. It is also a block from Oktoberfest grounds. Our room was large and had both a window and a small balcony looking out on the street. Nate, at the front desk, was extremely helpful and kind. There was always someone there with a friendly face and a great attitude. The breakfast spread was plentiful and extensive and came with the price of the room. There was meat, eggs, cheeses, breads, cereal, yogurt, fresh juice, fruit, coffee, tea--one left feeling ready for a full day of sightseeing. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Perfect location, very quiet neighborhood. Easy access to s and u bahn. Service was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable .The breakfast buffet was great, very tasty. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This will be my third time staying at the Uhland Hotel and am very glad to say the staff, rooms,breakfast is first class everytime. The location is perfect for travel to anywhere in Munich. The bus station is on the corner and the subway is around the block. The main train station is within walking distance but for younger people, but it's 2 stops on the bus and only cost 1 euro or less if you buy a strip of tickets usable on bus or subway. This will be my last trip to Europe and Munich as I'm 74 with a bad back but would not miss this chance for anything. Tripadvisors has been very helpful on all my questions or requests. Thanks Dave

Room Tip: Any room will do just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Uhland the first few days of December and enjoyed every day. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Our room (#4) was quite large, and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet they had was great, with meats, cheeses, cereals, etc. The hotel is located in a very quiet residential and office neighborhood, a block from the Oktoberfest grounds (and the Tollwood Christmas Festival), just 2 blocks from a U-bahn station, and a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station. Although it's a bit of a walk to the Marienplatz, we did it at least a couple of times. We would definitely stay here again. One tip: if you're walking with luggage from the Hauptbanhoff to the Uhland, walk down the Paul-Heyse Strasse. The sidewalks are wider and less crowded than on the parallel streets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We last stayed in the Uhland pre the refurbishment that has obviously taken place in recent years both to the rooms themselves and to the creation of the new breakfast room. The Hotel is one stop away on the U4/5 from the Hauptbahnhof or about a 10 minute walk - we walk fairly quickly though, it is is a clean safe area with many fine buildings surrounding it and adjacent to the park where the Christmas Tollwood Festival is held and in the Oktoberfest.

The Hotel is spotless, with excellent staff all of whom are helpful to a fault, they are all a mine of information and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was very good indeed in the usual Continental style, it is served from 0700 to 1000. We both found the beds very comfy and the shower room was large and very good.

We would willingly return to this very pleasant small Hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

Munich is a lovely City, very friendly and safe, with an excellent public transport system, see a few notes below.

As to transport to and from the Airport, worry not, you simply get the S1 or S8, journey time around 40 -45 minutes to the Hauptbahnhof, if more than one of you are travelling get the good value Partner Day Ticket, valid on the entire network for the day so you will get value out of using the ticket for 24 hrs - same applies if you are a singleton get a day ticket. The Munich Transportation site MVV has lots of helpful tips and all the ticket machines at the stations have multi lingual menus. It's a doddle. Check out also the Regional Bayern Day ticket valid on all the Regional trains and public transport system in Bavaria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was my first visit to Munich and i booked this hotel reading the other reviews on this site. I was very pleased by my choice. The room was very nice, preaceful and clean. The breakfast room was nice decorated and the food was good. But what i want to mention first of everything is the stuff of the hotel. The ladies there were very friendly and helpful, giving me all kind the information. And, arriving exactly on my birthday, they impressed me offering me an unexpected surprise.
For sure i'll try to book this hotel again next time when i'll go to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.