We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save Saved
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 378 hotels in Munich
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Perfect location, very quiet neighborhood. Easy access to s and u bahn. Service was helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable .The breakfast buffet was great, very tasty. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    221
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
174
252
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This will be my third time staying at the Uhland Hotel and am very glad to say the staff, rooms,breakfast is first class everytime. The location is perfect for travel to anywhere in Munich. The bus station is on the corner and the subway is around the block. The main train station is within walking distance but for younger people, but it's 2 stops on the bus and only cost 1 euro or less if you buy a strip of tickets usable on bus or subway. This will be my last trip to Europe and Munich as I'm 74 with a bad back but would not miss this chance for anything. Tripadvisors has been very helpful on all my questions or requests. Thanks Dave

Room Tip: Any room will do just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at the Uhland the first few days of December and enjoyed every day. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Our room (#4) was quite large, and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet they had was great, with meats, cheeses, cereals, etc. The hotel is located in a very quiet residential and office neighborhood, a block from the Oktoberfest grounds (and the Tollwood Christmas Festival), just 2 blocks from a U-bahn station, and a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station. Although it's a bit of a walk to the Marienplatz, we did it at least a couple of times. We would definitely stay here again. One tip: if you're walking with luggage from the Hauptbanhoff to the Uhland, walk down the Paul-Heyse Strasse. The sidewalks are wider and less crowded than on the parallel streets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We last stayed in the Uhland pre the refurbishment that has obviously taken place in recent years both to the rooms themselves and to the creation of the new breakfast room. The Hotel is one stop away on the U4/5 from the Hauptbahnhof or about a 10 minute walk - we walk fairly quickly though, it is is a clean safe area with many fine buildings surrounding it and adjacent to the park where the Christmas Tollwood Festival is held and in the Oktoberfest.

The Hotel is spotless, with excellent staff all of whom are helpful to a fault, they are all a mine of information and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was very good indeed in the usual Continental style, it is served from 0700 to 1000. We both found the beds very comfy and the shower room was large and very good.

We would willingly return to this very pleasant small Hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

Munich is a lovely City, very friendly and safe, with an excellent public transport system, see a few notes below.

As to transport to and from the Airport, worry not, you simply get the S1 or S8, journey time around 40 -45 minutes to the Hauptbahnhof, if more than one of you are travelling get the good value Partner Day Ticket, valid on the entire network for the day so you will get value out of using the ticket for 24 hrs - same applies if you are a singleton get a day ticket. The Munich Transportation site MVV has lots of helpful tips and all the ticket machines at the stations have multi lingual menus. It's a doddle. Check out also the Regional Bayern Day ticket valid on all the Regional trains and public transport system in Bavaria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was my first visit to Munich and i booked this hotel reading the other reviews on this site. I was very pleased by my choice. The room was very nice, preaceful and clean. The breakfast room was nice decorated and the food was good. But what i want to mention first of everything is the stuff of the hotel. The ladies there were very friendly and helpful, giving me all kind the information. And, arriving exactly on my birthday, they impressed me offering me an unexpected surprise.
For sure i'll try to book this hotel again next time when i'll go to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbyale@yahoo.com
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Uhland for just one night last month. It was a wonderfully located hotel. In fact, we were able to walk to Munich's old town as well as the great Pinoteke museums. As for the hotel itself, it was well run with good service. Our room was spacious, modern and with a large bathroom, The room came with breakfast included and there was a wide variety of items available to eat (eggs, cereal, ham, cheese, rolls) and plenty to drink (juice, coffee, milk. etc.). For a big city hotel, I feel the Uhland was reasonably priced. It also provided free parking. Next time I'm in Munich, I would definitely stay at the Uhland again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've stayed here many, many times. Sure, there are many hotels closer to downtown but that's okay; we don't mind walking/biking into the altstadt. I made the mistake, this time, of upgrading to a larger room for an extra €10 per night. Don't bother/waste your money. We were in room 33 this time (3rd floor) and the room is larger than standard rooms. But that extra space is simply space. Really. I had expected a couch, larger comfortable chairs, something. But no, it was literally just floor space by the door/schrank. We'd always stayed in standard rooms before but thought we'd splurge this time. Never again. Having said that, we had no complaints with the room. It was large, clean, and bright enough with just one window, the bathroom was small (same size as the standard rooms) and clean. Limited free parking (about 8 spots) is available in the hotel's courtyard.

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare with lots of cheese/meat/bread selections. Coffee was plentiful and they had both hard and soft boiled eggs.

We'll definitely stay here again but won't upgrade.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade as (room 33) was not worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#4 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#55 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.