We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 383 hotels in Munich
West Sussex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We last stayed in the Uhland pre the refurbishment that has obviously taken place in recent years both to the rooms themselves and to the creation of the new breakfast room. The Hotel is one stop away on the U4/5 from the Hauptbahnhof or about a 10 minute walk - we walk fairly quickly though, it is is a clean safe area with many fine buildings surrounding it and adjacent to the park where the Christmas Tollwood Festival is held and in the Oktoberfest.

The Hotel is spotless, with excellent staff all of whom are helpful to a fault, they are all a mine of information and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was very good indeed in the usual Continental style, it is served from 0700 to 1000. We both found the beds very comfy and the shower room was large and very good.

We would willingly return to this very pleasant small Hotel and thoroughly recommend it.

Munich is a lovely City, very friendly and safe, with an excellent public transport system, see a few notes below.

As to transport to and from the Airport, worry not, you simply get the S1 or S8, journey time around 40 -45 minutes to the Hauptbahnhof, if more than one of you are travelling get the good value Partner Day Ticket, valid on the entire network for the day so you will get value out of using the ticket for 24 hrs - same applies if you are a singleton get a day ticket. The Munich Transportation site MVV has lots of helpful tips and all the ticket machines at the stations have multi lingual menus. It's a doddle. Check out also the Regional Bayern Day ticket valid on all the Regional trains and public transport system in Bavaria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    218
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
164
249
34
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timisoara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was my first visit to Munich and i booked this hotel reading the other reviews on this site. I was very pleased by my choice. The room was very nice, preaceful and clean. The breakfast room was nice decorated and the food was good. But what i want to mention first of everything is the stuff of the hotel. The ladies there were very friendly and helpful, giving me all kind the information. And, arriving exactly on my birthday, they impressed me offering me an unexpected surprise.
For sure i'll try to book this hotel again next time when i'll go to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herbyale@yahoo.com
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Uhland for just one night last month. It was a wonderfully located hotel. In fact, we were able to walk to Munich's old town as well as the great Pinoteke museums. As for the hotel itself, it was well run with good service. Our room was spacious, modern and with a large bathroom, The room came with breakfast included and there was a wide variety of items available to eat (eggs, cereal, ham, cheese, rolls) and plenty to drink (juice, coffee, milk. etc.). For a big city hotel, I feel the Uhland was reasonably priced. It also provided free parking. Next time I'm in Munich, I would definitely stay at the Uhland again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've stayed here many, many times. Sure, there are many hotels closer to downtown but that's okay; we don't mind walking/biking into the altstadt. I made the mistake, this time, of upgrading to a larger room for an extra €10 per night. Don't bother/waste your money. We were in room 33 this time (3rd floor) and the room is larger than standard rooms. But that extra space is simply space. Really. I had expected a couch, larger comfortable chairs, something. But no, it was literally just floor space by the door/schrank. We'd always stayed in standard rooms before but thought we'd splurge this time. Never again. Having said that, we had no complaints with the room. It was large, clean, and bright enough with just one window, the bathroom was small (same size as the standard rooms) and clean. Limited free parking (about 8 spots) is available in the hotel's courtyard.

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare with lots of cheese/meat/bread selections. Coffee was plentiful and they had both hard and soft boiled eggs.

We'll definitely stay here again but won't upgrade.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade as (room 33) was not worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at the hotel and it was part vacation/part business trip. The hotel is one or two quick U-bahn stops to Haupbahnhof (Central Station) and about 3 stops from Marianplatz. The location is quiet and away from noisy downtown.
Everytime we were heading out, the hotel staff was always there to offer advice on where to go and also places to eat and visit as well as traveling through Munich and other areas.
The breakfast is good - continential - good selection of breads, cheeses, jams, boiled eggs and cold meats - typical for German breakfast. Coffee or tea is made to order and served in a pot.
The room was a good size, considering how expensive Munich can be. Bed was comfortable. Frankly we didn't stay much - we used this hotel as a launch point for our daily excursions and loved the area.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This wonderful family owned hotel is a fabulous place to stay. Close to train station. We walked everywhere, it's a great location. Very clean, delicious breakfast. Very helpful staff, our stay could not have been better! We highly recommend it and would definitely return on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel is a deal located about a 10 minute walk from the main train station on a beautiful block , that feels like embassy row acroos the street from the oktoberfest grounds. breakfast was good, staff friendly and helpful, and the beds were very comfortable we had a double twin room on top floor , bathroom was new and big! would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#5 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#50 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list