We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Munich hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 380 Hotels in Munich
herbyale@yahoo.com
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Munich hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Uhland for just one night last month. It was a wonderfully located hotel. In fact, we were able to walk to Munich's old town as well as the great Pinoteke museums. As for the hotel itself, it was well run with good service. Our room was spacious, modern and with a large bathroom, The room came with breakfast included and there was a wide variety of items available to eat (eggs, cereal, ham, cheese, rolls) and plenty to drink (juice, coffee, milk. etc.). For a big city hotel, I feel the Uhland was reasonably priced. It also provided free parking. Next time I'm in Munich, I would definitely stay at the Uhland again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    224
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
181
264
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
490 reviews 490 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've stayed here many, many times. Sure, there are many hotels closer to downtown but that's okay; we don't mind walking/biking into the altstadt. I made the mistake, this time, of upgrading to a larger room for an extra €10 per night. Don't bother/waste your money. We were in room 33 this time (3rd floor) and the room is larger than standard rooms. But that extra space is simply space. Really. I had expected a couch, larger comfortable chairs, something. But no, it was literally just floor space by the door/schrank. We'd always stayed in standard rooms before but thought we'd splurge this time. Never again. Having said that, we had no complaints with the room. It was large, clean, and bright enough with just one window, the bathroom was small (same size as the standard rooms) and clean. Limited free parking (about 8 spots) is available in the hotel's courtyard.

Breakfast was pretty good with the standard German fare with lots of cheese/meat/bread selections. Coffee was plentiful and they had both hard and soft boiled eggs.

We'll definitely stay here again but won't upgrade.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade as (room 33) was not worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at the hotel and it was part vacation/part business trip. The hotel is one or two quick U-bahn stops to Haupbahnhof (Central Station) and about 3 stops from Marianplatz. The location is quiet and away from noisy downtown.
Everytime we were heading out, the hotel staff was always there to offer advice on where to go and also places to eat and visit as well as traveling through Munich and other areas.
The breakfast is good - continential - good selection of breads, cheeses, jams, boiled eggs and cold meats - typical for German breakfast. Coffee or tea is made to order and served in a pot.
The room was a good size, considering how expensive Munich can be. Bed was comfortable. Frankly we didn't stay much - we used this hotel as a launch point for our daily excursions and loved the area.
We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This wonderful family owned hotel is a fabulous place to stay. Close to train station. We walked everywhere, it's a great location. Very clean, delicious breakfast. Very helpful staff, our stay could not have been better! We highly recommend it and would definitely return on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Valley, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel is a deal located about a 10 minute walk from the main train station on a beautiful block , that feels like embassy row acroos the street from the oktoberfest grounds. breakfast was good, staff friendly and helpful, and the beds were very comfortable we had a double twin room on top floor , bathroom was new and big! would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are currently staying at the Hotel Uhland dates November 4-11 2012. We agree it is a nice hotel with a lovely traditional german breakfast . Staff are pleasant, informative and willing to accommodate English speaking guests. We stayed in room 2 and it was noisy if guests in room 1 were talking loud and when guests came in at night. There was an additional glass door to close off the entrance to room and that helped keep the noise down. It was generally Quiet after 10 pm. The room did not have a dresser or shelves for clothing, only hanging closet space. A dresser in the room would have been nice. Also the safe was awkward with a Euro deposit slot that was not visible and occasionally the euro slipped into the wrong slot making safe inoperable. We did appreciate having the safe and the free wi fi. Reservations were easy to make thru there website.
We would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here during a brief stay in Munich. The staff is excellent, and the breakfast was good. It's in a good location, with reasonable access to a metro station, and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are cozy, our bathroom was super, super small. When you have a 6'2" husband, that caused a little bit of an issue. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and thought the staff ensured we enjoyed ourselves. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#69 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.