We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munich, Germany Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Munich, Germany Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This wonderful family owned hotel is a fabulous place to stay. Close to train station. We walked everywhere, it's a great location. Very clean, delicious breakfast. Very helpful staff, our stay could not have been better! We highly recommend it and would definitely return on our next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Locust Valley, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel is a deal located about a 10 minute walk from the main train station on a beautiful block , that feels like embassy row acroos the street from the oktoberfest grounds. breakfast was good, staff friendly and helpful, and the beds were very comfortable we had a double twin room on top floor , bathroom was new and big! would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are currently staying at the Hotel Uhland dates November 4-11 2012. We agree it is a nice hotel with a lovely traditional german breakfast . Staff are pleasant, informative and willing to accommodate English speaking guests. We stayed in room 2 and it was noisy if guests in room 1 were talking loud and when guests came in at night. There was an additional glass door to close off the entrance to room and that helped keep the noise down. It was generally Quiet after 10 pm. The room did not have a dresser or shelves for clothing, only hanging closet space. A dresser in the room would have been nice. Also the safe was awkward with a Euro deposit slot that was not visible and occasionally the euro slipped into the wrong slot making safe inoperable. We did appreciate having the safe and the free wi fi. Reservations were easy to make thru there website.
We would recommend the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here during a brief stay in Munich. The staff is excellent, and the breakfast was good. It's in a good location, with reasonable access to a metro station, and about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are cozy, our bathroom was super, super small. When you have a 6'2" husband, that caused a little bit of an issue. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and thought the staff ensured we enjoyed ourselves. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for several nights in a triple room,rooms were really clean and the beds were very comfortable with excellent down-filled duvets.The staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of the man who checked us in who wasn't the most welcoming of people.As previous reviewers have said the breakfasts are very good with lots of variety and the ladies staffing it were very efficient at getting supplies replenished and tea/coffee/hot chocolate for everybody quickly even when it was very busy.The location is in a lovely street, it felt very safe and was within easy reach of public transport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WexfordTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked Hotel Uhland almost a year before we were to be in Munich for Oktoberfest. Because of the good reviews on this website we even agreed to the unusual payment method of a cashiers check in euros of the total amount.
The best comment I can make is that the location is superb for attending Oktoberfest.
A half a block to the fair grounds, we went every day after also including sightseeing in the old city.
The room itself was very spartan and small. I requested a double and received a room with what appeared to be a pull out futon.I knew this was a good value for a room during Oktoberfest but I feel the pictures of the rooms on the website are a bit deceiving.
I don't know if the rule that you must return the key to your room to the front desk whenever you leave the hotel, is in place all year round or just for Oktoberfest. But we were told someone would be at the front desk whenever we return to give us our key. One night there was no one there and we are returning from a night at the Oktoberfest it is difficult to be patient.Apparently the man in charge that evening was attending to a problem in a room.
The breakfast room was very nice and the staff attentive. The assortment of items including the traditional German selections of meats , cheeses & bread was very good.
Public transportation is also very close by and it is very easy to reach other parts of Munich.
All in all we enjoyed our visit to Munich very, very much. We are planning to return in 2 years and I would love to book the same Hotel but I do not know how one gets a room that others have written about on this site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Uhland during the Munich marathon weekend. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The location was great, a short walk from the central station and to the city center. The staff was very polite and helpful. They opened breakfast an hour early to accomodate the marathon runners, which was very thoughtful of them. The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety of bread, cheese, cereals, hams, ect (the breakfast was our favorite part of the hotel!). We arrived by car and were pleased with the free parking. The wi-fi connection was great as well. Overall, great experience in Munich, highly reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDiningTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#2 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#11 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1 | 80335 Munich, 80336, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#17 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing