We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice well run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uhland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Uhland
Save
You added Hotel Uhland to your Saves list
Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice well run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed 4 nights at this hotel and nothing but nice things to say about it. Location is good, about a 15 minute walk to the City Center and right next to the Oktoberfest grounds. Hotel is on a quiet street, no problem with road noise.

Cool furniture, modern fixtures, comfortable beds.

Breakfast buffet is highly recommended-well run and lots of choices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    224
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
180
263
39
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at hotel uhland and were very impressed! The hotel is actually a converted mansion and as such our room featured 10 foot ceilings and even a sun room attached! The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the hauptbahnhof and is also very close to the Oktoberfest grounds. The walk from the train station takes you past a few strip clubs and other less than desirable areas, but still felt very safe. Our room was a double room with private bathroom, The double bed is actually 2 twin beds pushed together with a small space them, so you have to mind the gap.

Hotel Uhland is a great value. Our room cost 88 Euros per night and included a very good breakfast. The rooms and hotel are kept very clean. The staff was very friendly and they seemed surprised that a couple as young as us (29 and 27) was staying there. It seemed as if many of the guests were business men or middle aged couples.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I selected this hotel for our trip to Munich because of Trip Advisor reviews regarding location to Octoberfest. We walked from Munchen Hbf train station to the Hotel Uhland in about 10 minutes with no problem. Upon arrival at the hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful with information about Octoberfest. The hotel was less than a block from Octoberfest! As long as you don't expect too much out of the room you won't be disappointed. The beds were comfortable. Make sure you eat the complimentary breakfast. It was fabulous! We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is the second time in two years we have stayed here. Great location, just a couple of blocks from the subway, 15 minute walk to the main train station, one block from the Oktoberfest grounds. Nice breakfast, friendly staff, free parking in rear (can be rather tight at times). Located in a quiet, residential neighborhood. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night, as the first overnight stop on a rail tour of central Europe. Plus points include very friendly and helpful staff, a pretty decent breakfast included in the rate, free wifi and the location in a historic old building within walking distance of the main rail station and city centre. I would have given the hotel 4 stars, but I was a bit disappointed with the tried and dated feeling of the room which was at odds with the very modern and new public areas of the hotel. I also had difficulties with the incredibly powerful water pressure as mentioned by a previous poster. Anyone thinking of booking this hotel should have no worries, it is a good place to stay with lovely staff, however it did not quite live up to expectations.

Room Tip: I probably would not bother paying the extra for a 'comfort class' room if you are staying f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We've stayed in this hotel before and it has good points and bad ones.

On the plus side, the rooms are large, very clean and mainly comfortable. The hotel staff are also extremely friendly and helpful. It's very convenient with a 'Ubahn' station just around the corner and is only one stop from the main Munich railway station.

Breakfast, which was included, was ok but not a great deal of choice.

On the negative side, the hotel is right next door to an emergency blood bank and sometimes during the night you are woken by the bang, crash, wallop of them loading up one of their vans. There is no air-con, so you have to have the windows open if it's warm.

Our other gripe was the shower - it was so forceful it was like an instrument of torture! It was like having pins and needles being shot into you and you couldn't alter the shower head or the pressure to make it do anything else.

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the quiet side street location, unique ambiance, and great breakfast. It is a bit of a walk to the train station (10 min but the #58 bus is close by) and Marienplatz (pleasant 20 min). Rooms were fine. I would have given them a higher rating but we had to cancel a night and gave them a week's notice. We were still charged 80% since they didn't fill it. I thought that was harsh with that amount of notice. I see in the reviews that others were caught by this policy. Not too many restaurants close by but we enjoyed Lentz and several middle eastern "fast" food places near by.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uhland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uhland

Address: Uhlandstrasse 1, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#4 Family Hotel in Munich
#8 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#68 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical landmark, located in a neo-renaissance building, dating back to the 19th century, in a quiet residential area, near Theresienwiese (Oktoberfest). Free parking in the back yard. Allergy rooms, family rooms and connecting rooms. Two rooms with water beds. Offers and weekend packages. Brekfast included. Family business. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uhland Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uhland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.