We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Opera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Anna Strasse 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Opera is well located, within walking distance of the city centre but cheaper than more central hotels. The rooms are sumptuous and comfortable. Unfortunately it was very hot when we were there and the rooms are not air conditioned. Also accessing the internet wifi was more complicated than at most hotels. A great breakfast included in the price.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperaMunich, Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay in the Hotel Opéra. I am glad you liked the rooms and our individually served breakfast.
Unfortunately, since this is a historic old building it is impossible to implement air conditioning. Hopefully, next time it will be a bit cooler and you can enjoy your stay even more.

Best regards

Malte Wiedemeyer/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
57
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stay here whenever visiting Munich on business because of its location. It is in an authentic and trendy neighborhood (Lehel) and convenient to sights, shopping, museums, etc. I checked in quite late this week and immediately felt at home with the warm welcome and efficient reception. This is a boutique style hotel and the rooms are decorated differently. I just loved my room (44) this time. A big bonus is that the hotel is very quiet. The bed is comfy, the bathroom well equipped and it is all very clean. If I were to make one suggestion for the room it would be to include coffee making amenities.
The breakfast area is charming and includes an enclosed garden if you wish to eat outdoors. Everything is made to order: special coffees, omelettes, eggs, fruit salad with or without yoghurt, etc. the staff are helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperaMunich, Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
I truly appreciate your good rating - thank you a lot for taking the time to point out the positive things you experience and value when staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Malte Wiedemeyer / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We all loved this unimposing little hotel on St. Anna Strasse in Munich. Super location in a very authentic neighbourhood. Handy to major attractions and shopping, but tucked away from the tourist masses. Gracious lobby and interior courtyard. Spacious well appointed bedrooms.
Best breakfasts ever! And the most accommodating friendly staff we have ever encountered.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and hope to return.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were very spacious. There is no A/C or minibar in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOperaMunich, Manager at Hotel Opera, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback and kind words. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. The fact that you compliment our breakfast and our employees this way is very motivating for all of us and helps us to do our very best for our guests every day. Again, thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you next time again in the Hotel Opéra.

Kind regards

Malte Wiedemeyer / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Chose the hotel for its location, it turned out to be pleasent, causy, very clean, with a tiny breakfast facility and tiny garden/terrace. It is within a few minutes walk from the main shopping pedestrian area, the river, the English Gardens and several museums. You coul not pick a better location in Munich.

It is on a very quiet side street with nearby parking facilities. An easy walk to lots of eating places.

Stayed there with familiy and were all very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

very central Location, very quiet and stylish little Hotel, private owned. Service is good, the place is clean. there are some nice Restaurants and bars around and you get into the City by Walking. this is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel opera is an elegantly decorated hotel near the city centre. My room came with a balcony which overlooked into a garden!!Breakfast is served high teas style with a triple decker tea set & your own pot of tea! Romantic place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas with my son and his partner. Booked with Booking .com and when I arrived I was a little surprised…for some reason I thought it was bigger! That being said this turned out to be one of the nicest niche hotels I have stayed in recently. From the Lake District to Munich in a week..quite a change!
We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor(43) and it was superb with a large walk in wardrobe large bedroom with table and 2 chairs,TV and bathroom with shower over bath. Very clean and recently decorated.Bathroom smallish but OK. All very well fitted.Having read other reviews it seems most of the rooms are different and some maybe a little on the small side but both our rooms were very good.
Excellent location on quiet street just off mail road into centre 10 mins walk away or 10mins from some very nice parks to walk in if you need a break from shopping and eating! St Anna Sq 100yds away has a nice selection of restaurants one of which belongs to the hotel and although it was closed over Christmas based on the hotel breakfast I would certainly have given it a go.
The hotel reception areas are quite small and breakfast is served in a series of small areas which makes it a very pleasant experience. In the summer there is an outside area with tables which we did not use. Breakfast was excellent being served at your table and like something I have not experienced before! Fruit salad,choice of eggs and then smoked salmon, cold meats and cheese served up on a beautiful cake stand! Good selection of bread with jam etc and coffee in a really nice silver pot! Looked forward to it each morning!
The bar is 24 hrs but has limited seating. The reception area has multiple long mirrors to give the impression of more space and several times I nearly walked through a door that wasn't there!
The staff were always pleasant and helpful even when they forgot my second pot of coffee from time to time.
There are lots of restaurants within 15 mins to suit all pockets but if you want a real treat try Knuffler Restaurant just off Maximillian Stra. Expensive but really nice.
If you like something a little different this hotel fits the bill very well.

Room Tip: The trick here seems to be to get the right room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Opera

Address: St Anna Strasse 10, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#78 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.