We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many trips to Munich and still my favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Many trips to Munich and still my favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I travel to Munich every year with my family of 4 and every year we stay at the Kriemhild. This year I traveled twice to Munich in June and again in August and of course stayed at the Kriemhild. Before finding this hotel we tried other hotels and rented apartments but were never satisfied. This hotel feels like home to us for many reasons. The staff is always very friendly, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. In the past we stayed in the family suit 302/303 which has 1 normal sized double room and a small double room attached through a door. The benefit of this room is that it has the 2 bathrooms, which is a bonus when travelling with kids. This year we stayed in 301 and will probably never change rooms again. It was very large, had a small room for the kids with 2 twin beds, so no fighting, and the bathroom was huge with a bathtub. Both suites (301 and 302/303) had air conditioning which was great in August.
When I traveled in June I was without my kids but with other family members and was able to see what a normal sized double room looks like. We stayed on the 1st floor at the beginning of the trip and the 2nd floor at the end of the trip. All the doubles I saw were a large size for a German hotel and had good bathrooms. Again, all very clean. These rooms did not have air conditioning which was not needed in June.
The Hotel is located in a great location for anyone but especially nice with kids. The park nearby, Hirschgarten has a restaurant/beergarten and the park has 3 playgrounds! Castle Nymphenburg which is close by in the other direction has huge grounds to let the kids run and it also has a restaurant/beergarten. The area is safe and clean and we always feel safe walking back from our adventures, even when it is dark. There are other restaurants in the area include a French restaurant and an Italian restaurant, both within walking distance. Also in the area are several pastry shops.
The hotel staff speak English which is great for when my German is a little rough during the first few days in Germany. The tram which takes you to downtown is only a 7 min walk away (about 3 blocks) and the front desk sells the transportation tickets. The hotel also has parking for about 7 cars for free, but if the lot is full there seems to always be parking on the street within a block.

My children look forward to returning to the Kriemhild every year because the staff is friendly and helpful. They like running up the stairs while we take the elevator. They especially love the breakfast. Often we meet interesting people at breakfast, sometimes English speaking tourists, others who are staying here while visiting family members who live in Munich, like us. Because we travel to Germany every year we have stayed in a lot of Germany hotels and this one is always our favorite. We look forward to staying here every year!! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    95
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
134
116
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A family run hotel where service comes very naturally. What you will love the most is the breakfast by the alcove. Its calm, perfect and they provide an excellent selection of breads. Due to diet restrictions for my parents, we had to get some food and use the kitchen quite often in the night...team kriemhild was always so helpful providing us plates and waiting for us to get settled. They made our stay very comfortable and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had some difficulty finding this hotel (no GPS) but the staff was very helpful when we called looking for directions. This was a family run B & B with nice rooms with all the amenities, an excellent breakfast, a guest computer in the lobby, and a very friendly staff. It is walking distance (two blocks) from the Tram to downtown and other locations in Munich, and two blocks from the Hirschgarten beer Garden and ten blocks from the Nymphenburg Palace. This was a very good stay and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed in October 2013, and was very very happy with this hotel. It's family run and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. Most also speak very good English and were very helpful with maps, directions, tram tickets etc.

We were in suite 304, it was immaculately clean - I'll always notice the slightest thing but this was faultless, including the bathroom. It was all in excellent condition too wear and tear wise.

Bed was comfortable, shower was probably the best hotel shower I've used - powerful and constant hot water.

We got the train and taxi from the airport - easy ; and then a tram and train back - again easy! We also took the tram into Munich town centre with no problem at all in 15 mins. (Tram tickets can be bought from hotel reception.)

The breakfast choice was good (bread, pretzels, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, cheese, meat etc) everything again was spotlessly clean.

There are things to do nearby also, the palace and beer gardens! It's a lovely quiet location too, the street is tree lined and beautiful and walking around even late it felt perfectly safe.

My only gripe was the internet, the wireless signal on the 3rd floor wasn't always great. Sometimes it stayed connected and was fast enough to browse the internet/email etc however 2 evenings (out of 3) the signal would drop in and out every minute or so.

I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked three rooms for three nights for my family's stay in Munich. The location was very convenient for the tram station and the short trip to Munich and the central train station. Our first night there we dined at Hirschgarten and enjoyed the food and beer!
The rooms are basic, but very clean. The beds are not as comfortable as some others that I have slept in, but were adequate.
Breakfast was very good with a great selection of food. The lady working there was very kind and accommodating. No one left hungry!
We spent our last day at Oktoberfest and it was a joy to return to the quiet of Hotel Kriemhild.
Everyone with whom we interacted were helpful and gracious.
Because it was Oktoberfest, the price of the rooms were quite high, but that is to be expected at this time of year.
I would certainly recommend Hotel Kriemhild for anyone attending Oktoberfest who do not want to be in the middle of the craziness!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel Kriemhild has perfect location: 5-10 mins walk to the Nymphenburgh garden, 5-7 mins walk to the Hirschgarten, and 15-20 mins on the frequent trams 16, 17 to the city center (and central train station.) Both Nymphenburgh and Hirschgarten provide nice contrast to the noisy city center and food in the Hirschgarten was excellent, much better then in the city beer-gardens we tried, and not many tourists. We had 4 nights stay in September 2013 and spend part of our arrival and departure days enjoying both Nymphenburgh and beer and food in the Hirschgarten. Our room was clean, spacious and had everything that is needed, including heated place to dry clothing. Breakfasts were excellent with a lot of choices. We travel a lot and we wish there were more places like Hotel Kriemhild.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived early for our five night stay and were greeted warmly by a wonderful woman who proceeded to give us coffees and croissants even though we were far past the breakfast hour. She was so accommodating and kind, making us feel right at home. The rooms were basic but appointed with all necessities and free wi-fi. Breakfast was nice and plentiful and the location couldn't have been better. We were within walking distance of a beer garden, the train to downtown, and the grocery store. It also included free parking. The father went out of his way to help us take group photos and get us on our way to Oktoberfest. The only issue we had was with our laundry (not done by our hotel directly) and again, the father helped us to get things corrected. When we visit Munich again, we plan to visit the same hotel.

Room Tip: We had two adjoining rooms that worked perfectly for two couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#7 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#6 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Styles
Ibis Styles
#23 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#33 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.