We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for stay in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #6 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Very good choice for stay in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed there a few nights while in Munich and also another night prior to our departure from Munich airport about 10 days later. Both our stays were very satisfying. The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes by tram from major attractions but the service is frequent and was not an obstacle for us. Also you can walk from this hotel to Nymphenburg palace if you are interested. The rooms in both cases were fine, the stuff helpful and the breakfast was very good. Also the parking was free at the hotel, however it was small and if you had to find a spot to park your car at the street it was not that easy. We thought the hotel was a good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    81
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
114
101
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A truly delightful hotel in every way! Cleanliness and attention to detail wonderful! Breakfasts were a taste sensation...particularly the range of fresh bread available!! The hotel staff were most helpful and accomodating. You contributed towards making our stay in Munchen and absolute pleasure. Easy access to public transport, plus living away from the heart of the city was great! Congratulations on a very well-run establishment and thank you so very much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A nice, little hotel in a residential section about 15 minutes by tram to city center. Reception has tickets. Hotel is very clean and all staff quite friendly and helpful. Our room was quite small, but our friends had a large room. We felt the breakfast was only average and although the hotel says they have free parking, we stayed for 5 nights and never once was there an available parking space. There are groceriy stores and restaurants within 15 minutes walking distance. Don't miss the Hirschgarten only 5 minutes away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Kriemhild on my next trip to Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very helpful and friendly; particularly the ladies who prepare breakfast. Breakfast is good. Location is excellent being close to many nice restaurants and parks. Rooms are not brilliant. One complaint is the towels. They're too small. Also, sheets feel a bit plasticky. All in all, a pretty good place that could be excellent if they worked on the towels and bedding

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The family that owns and runs the hotel really makes you feel at home from welcoming you to the hotel to serving you an amazing breakfast spread. They were very helpful with directions and even have various public transportation passes that can be purchased at the front desk. The city center is only about a 15 minute tram ride from the tram stop located a short walk away. The Hirschgarten beer garden and park is also just a few minute walk away which is another big plus! The neighborhood is very quiet and surrounded by very nice houses and apartments which was a nice change of pace after spending the day in the heart of the city. If I go back to Munich I'll stay here every time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at Hotel Kriemhild for 4 nights -at the Kriemhild suite . We wanted to stay for 5 but they were fully booked so we had to move to another hotel for the last night (this hotel is also highly rated on Tripadvisor and is in the same neighborhood, not far at all from Hotel Kriemhild). Having stayed at both of these highly rated hotels, I will have to say that we preferred Hotel Kriemhild for a number of reasons:

They have suites (essentially two hotel rooms joined together with a door in between) -which is great for us because we traveled with young children.
Kriemhild suite's bathrooms are newer and more spacious than the other hotel (we stayed in the family room at the other hotel). The shower cubicle is definitely more spacious (easier for us to wash our baby), there was was also more bench space to put our things.
Location. The hotel is a little closer to the supermarket and tram station than the other hotel (the difference is a few minutes, but when you have kids and you're rushing, those minutes really do count).
The hotel is easy to get to, no one-way streets and the streets though not wide, are not so narrow like the ones found around the other hotel.
The rooms are warmer.
Breakfast is until 10, compare with the other hotel which has breakfast ending at 9:30.
Parking is very easy and hotel is easy to get to.
Internet access is easier, only one code is needed for all devices (at the other hotel, we needed a code for each device (up to two) and we needed to log in every time...).

Some things which we think could be improved upon:
The malfunctioning (super cold) air conditioning unit in the kids' room, it wasn't hot when we visited, so we didn't need to have it on super cold. We chose to keep the window open for the kids to have some air instead but had to close it a couple of evenings because of some passer-bys yelling on the streets around 2am.

It wasn't so straightforward to get some hot water (we traveled with our 9 months old so this was a challenge), we asked for a kettle, the guy at the front desk got my husband some hot water in a coffee pot, the water had coffee taste to it... the breakfast lady couldn't find the pot the next day, we didn't know she needed it... eventually another guy at the desk let us borrow a real kettle... Please note that the staff were very nice and friendly and tried to be helpful.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, we had a very pleasant stay here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of July 2013. It was the perfect choice. Easy access and parking by car. We stayed in the family apartment and had a separate room with TV and two beds for the kids. Large bathroom with shower and separate large bathtub. Everything clean, modern and nice. Super speedy check-in and check-out. Breakfast buffet is delicious. We walked 10 min to the Schloss Nymphenburg. Within 3 minutes walk you are at Hirschgarten, the biggest Biergarten in Munich. Walk 5 min and you get to the tram station. Trams take you to Munich old town within 15 min. Guests are from all over the world. They speak English. Great value for travelers! We love Munich!

Room Tip: ask for the family apartment/suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#20 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.