We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was really great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #5 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel was really great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked one night so that we could see a concert close by and had a wonderful stay. The small hotel was clean and comfortable and in a great location. The breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly, courteous and very helpful and made us feel welcome. We will definitely stay again when we return to Munich!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    81
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
114
101
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A genuine family hotel, owned by the same family for several generations. Rooms are very nice (ours was large with a small sitting room). The breakfast was superb with every option imaginable. Setting is in a nice quiet neighbourhood - a few minutes walk to the tram stop to the city centre and also a short walk to the Nymphenburg Palace and Park (where you can pick up the city sightseeing tour buses - we used this as a good solution to a very wet day).
Service is friendly and hospitable - much more the 'gasthof' feel that you get in small hotels outside the cities.
There are also options to eat in the evening locally, includign beer garden and local pubs which do food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is run by a family which you can see wants to treat their guests like they are family. Place has wifi, parking and breakfast which is a plus. Located near bier garten and tram. Ask about the laundry service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I feel the room is very good, and hotel offers good service. If I go to Muchen again, I will choose the hotel. The Chinese like drink hot water and tea, so I suggest hotel should offer a kettle for hot water. The breakfast have some Chinese breakfast,and so on, If so, that will be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights - great location as you are in a residential area away from the main roads and trams, yet a short 10 minute walk to a main road and you are in easy access of the tram. We really enjoyed walking over to Schloss Nymphenburg. The room was a good size for us; the beds weren't very comfortable and the pillows were almost useless. Small price to pay however because we felt safe and enjoyed the b&b feel. The breakfast in the morning was well prepared and lots of variety. The staff are all extremely hospitable and accommodating. They were always eager to offer helpful advice and even mailed my postcards for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich/Portugal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been visting this Hotel for 12 years, without missing a year. Eric and his family haved been very helpful to me over these years. The only fault I can find is that there are not enough rooms, several times in the last few years I have had to settle for 2nd best and stay at another hotel.
This hotel is run by the 3rd generation of the same family, who I count as my friends.

A quiet location close to Nymphenburg Schloss. There are a few local restaurants close at hand. 5 minutes stroll to the Hirchgarten beergarten. Even if you are not into beer, visit have a cool drink under a shady tree and watch life go by at the best beer garten in the world.

Take tram 16 or 17 from the main train station, approx 20 mins to Gunther Str.

This will always be my 1st choice in Munchen. Long may Eric and his family keep inproving the standards.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the top floor. Super clean, spacious, and bright. Hotel is in an upscale residential neighborhood, about 3 miles west of downtown Munich. We were there the Thursday and Friday before Easter. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Free, off-street parking. Free WiFi. Standard solid German breakfast included in rate - boiled egg, selection of cold meats and cheeses, selection of very tasty whole grain breads, muesli, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee.

Very good access to downtown Munich. Bus and tram stops are a two-minute walk from the hotel, which saved driving and trying to park in crowded, pedestrianized center of the city. The Nymphenburg Palace and adjoining park are a short five/six minute walk from the hotel - "Mad" King Ludwig II of Bavaria was born there in the mid-19th century - the fellow who later built Neuschwanstein Castle in Fussen, further south, the castle that inspired Walt Disney.

In the neighborhood, there is a good, authentic German beer garden at the end of the street, though we ate inside because it was still quite chilly in Munich in late March. There is also a very respectable Italian restaurant in the area, Osteria Il Golfo, where we dined on our second evening. It was very reassuring to see that these were local establishments patronized by the residents of the area. Both restaurants were recommended by the helpful, welcoming hotel staff.

It is a very quiet area, no problem with noise, and very good for a night's sleep. There are a number of upscale little shops around the Romanplatz, the square at the other end of the street, which cater to the day trip visitors to Nymphenburg Palace. We caught the tail end of a nice Good Friday service at the parish church of Christ the King in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The top floor suite is large, quiet, and has a spacious, nice bathroom with a full-sized tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#20 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.