We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine small hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #8 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Middleburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine small hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the top floor. Super clean, spacious, and bright. Hotel is in an upscale residential neighborhood, about 3 miles west of downtown Munich. We were there the Thursday and Friday before Easter. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Free, off-street parking. Free WiFi. Standard solid German breakfast included in rate - boiled egg, selection of cold meats and cheeses, selection of very tasty whole grain breads, muesli, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee.

Very good access to downtown Munich. Bus and tram stops are a two-minute walk from the hotel, which saved driving and trying to park in crowded, pedestrianized center of the city. The Nymphenburg Palace and adjoining park are a short five/six minute walk from the hotel - "Mad" King Ludwig II of Bavaria was born there in the mid-19th century - the fellow who later built Neuschwanstein Castle in Fussen, further south, the castle that inspired Walt Disney.

In the neighborhood, there is a good, authentic German beer garden at the end of the street, though we ate inside because it was still quite chilly in Munich in late March. There is also a very respectable Italian restaurant in the area, Osteria Il Golfo, where we dined on our second evening. It was very reassuring to see that these were local establishments patronized by the residents of the area. Both restaurants were recommended by the helpful, welcoming hotel staff.

It is a very quiet area, no problem with noise, and very good for a night's sleep. There are a number of upscale little shops around the Romanplatz, the square at the other end of the street, which cater to the day trip visitors to Nymphenburg Palace. We caught the tail end of a nice Good Friday service at the parish church of Christ the King in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: The top floor suite is large, quiet, and has a spacious, nice bathroom with a full-sized tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    76
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
110
95
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Small, family-owned. Walk to a super great restaurant with authentic German food, just down the street. Five minute walk to catch the bus. Loved everything about this hotel. If you take the train into Munich, make sure you grab the bus to the hotel, we walked with our luggage and didn't need to (or a Taxi is also good).

Room Tip: My friend and I each got a private room for less than $100 US. Small but very clean and comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We reserved a "comfort" room at the Hotel Kriemhild, and are very, very pleased with our choice! We have a large room with sofa and coffee table, and plenty of room to spread out. Everything is first rate and comfortable, and the staff here is outstanding. They have been very helpful with transit passes as well as making recommendations for local eating places. We really enjoyed being in a residential neighborhood -- but one that has tram service to downtown Munich just a long block away. Tomorrow when we leave, we will take the tram directly to the train station; it doesn't get more convenient than that! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and quiet place to stay, we would highly recommend the Hotel Kriemhild.

Room Tip: Our "comfort" room is definitely worth a splurge; plenty of room to spread out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on business. It is just a 15 minute tram ride from the city centre, and whilst there is not much in the area itself - except a nice beer garden- the location is ok.
The rooms are clean and a decent size. They are well thought out - a neat little desk for a laptop, place for your bag, etc. My room had twin beds whichever not suit a couple staying on holiday.
The room key is also the front door key, and as it is a normal key it makes you feel like you are coming home rather than back to a hotel.
The breakfast is good and a typical German one, no bacon and eggs, but nice breads, yogurts, cheeses and meats.


The service was excellent also.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Kriemhild for 3 nights in May 2011.

It is only a few minutes walk from the tram stop, so getting to and from the city centre is quick and easy.

It is very close to the Hirschgarten, and walking distance from Nymphenburg Palace.

Our room was extremely clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and the staff were universally friendly, helpful, and professional.
Free Wi-Fi was a nice added bonus.

We actually used the TripAdvisor iPhone app to "find restaurants near me" and so for one of the evening meals we walked less than 5 minutes to the excellent Wirtshaus Kurgarten restaurant, which was actually a lot better than the restaurant in the Hirschgarten itself (even though that was quite good too, in its own right).

Overall, we highly recommended the Hotel Kriemhild, and if we go back to Munich we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a two night stay in a room for three blind on the internet. What a pleasant surprise we had in store. The hotel has free off street parking and is sufficiently on the outskirts of Munich to allow hassle free access. It is very close to the Nymphemburg and the trams into the old City run from Romanplatz, which is directly outside the palace gardens. There are some decent local restaurants within easy walking distance, and a No.16 tram has you in the city centre in less than twenty minutes.

Our room was pleasant and clean with an excellant bathroom. The minibar was reasonably priced (a real rarity, this!) and the breakfast (which is included in the room rate) was excellent, with lots of choice, and is eaten in a pleasant ground floor dining room.

The Reception staff are excellent and speak very good English. There is a free safe service, free wi-fi and a lift, for those who find stairs too much.

All round an excellent hotel, offering excellent value and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the place
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kriemhild for two snowy nights in February and could not have been happier. The property sits in a nice, quiet neighborhood within walking distance of several restaurants. It's also an easy 15-minute drive to the BMW Welt (BMW World), which was the focus of our trip to Munich. We were also very pleased to find a tram stop within a 5-minute walk, and a 15-20 minute ride (with transfer) to the center of town. The free Wi-Fi was strong, breakfast was more than adequate, and the room and bathroom were both spotless. Will most definitely stay here again on future trips to Munich.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Munich
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#17 Business Hotel in Munich
#26 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.