We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and out of the way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 383 hotels in Munich
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Quiet and out of the way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Initially, I was a bit leery of staying at this hotel. That's entirely because all of the tour books make it seem like there's no reason to stay away from Munich city center. Nothing could be further from the case. There was every reason to stay here. It was quiet. It's a nice neighborhood. There's a biergarten down the block that was rowdy until after the Champions League match was over, then there was absolute silence. The family that owns the hotel was wonderful, the food was great, the room was awesome. It's convenient to the tram. It's a short walk from the Nymphenburg Palace and wonderful restaurants. It was superb. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Don't let the tour books discourage you from branching out and seeing and staying at other places in Munich.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    74
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
91
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I used to stay in other hotels in Munich. This time I stayed at the Hotel Kriemhild because it is close to the beautiful castle Nymphenburg. Although the hotel is in a residental area, it is close to the tram: only a few minutes to walk. - What can I say? This hotel is a real find: very friendly and welcoming, clean and must have been recently renovated. - I was astonished to find such a hotel in a city like Munich. It's family run and in a safe area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The service was excellent, the hotel is super clean and the crew was very very nice.
Breakfast was excellent, on the spot, just what we needed.
We ordered the double room, it was charming, very clean and very comfy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kriemhild for three nights in October and loved the hotel and location. We had weighed the options of staying in the heart of the business area near Marienplatz but opted for the lovely residential area close to the Nymphenburg Palace and park. We were thrilled that we chose Hotel Kriemheld. The room was very nice, larger than many European hotels, the hotel was immaculate, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best of our one month in Europe, with a huge variety of items from which to choose. It was a delightful ten minute walk to the Nymphenburg Palace complex with its huge park and a three minute walk to the famous Koniglicher Hirschgarten beer garden and restaurant, where we enjoyed two excellent dinners. We loved Munich and the downtown sights are superb but as we traveled, we always were so happy to have chosen the Kriemheld in the quiet and beautiful residential area, only a ten minute tram ride from downtown. We recommend this hotel with the greatest enthusiasm for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is in a great area, a quick walk to the tram station and 15 min to the central station. Nymphenburg is a lovely residential area - a very un-touristy. Rooms are not small European standards - one of the largest we stayed in during our 2 wk trip. The hotel is immaculate and the room was furnished with modern, colorful furniture.
The breakfast was great - lots of selections - and the staff was wonderful. It's a family-run hotel and everyone was very helpul and friendly. We'd stay there again if we get back to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

People in Kriemhild are really friendly. We had a misunderstanding in reservation, but they managed it really well. Location is good; very quiet, but still near to tram stops and Hirschgarten. Plus; the cleanest hotel I've ever been!

They do sell Munich's public transportation tickets, but not the ones we needed: child's day ticket and combined day & airport ticket. Of course you can buy them easily at the Romanplatz tram stop, so it's not a big deal.

For someone it could be a trouble that the common computer has not printer connected; if you happen to need boarding passes.

Breakfast is OK, but no warm dishes. (You can have early "brotzeit" in town)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On our recent trip to Germany we spent three nights at the Hotel Kriemhild in Munich. Given the reviews that I had read ion Tripadvisor, I probably expected a little more. Don't get me wrong this is a nice little hotel in a nice Muncih suberb and it cetainly met our needs quite well. The ambiance and character, however, were somewhat lacking.

Our room was adequate but reasonably small, particularly the bathroom area. Everthing was neat and clean and in fine working order. There is free WIFI in all of the rooms and it seemed to work consistently. There were also ample plugs for charging.

The breakfast room is relatively small but there was a very nice buffet with all the ususal items. There are no prepared eggs and meats as we occasionally experienced at other hotels. The staff were all very nice and extremely helful whenever we needed any assistance.

The Hirschberg Bier Garden is two blocks away and was a nice place for an evening meal. In addition there was a wine store and shopping a couple of blocks away. The tram to the city (about 20 minutes) is also a couple of blocks away - very convenient.

If you do have a car aand are not overly familier with Germany this is not a bad choice . it is easy to get to off the Autobans and there is a limited amount of free parking. We actually had no problems getting a space throughout our stay. This is primarily the reason we chose this hotel.

All in all, I would say we had a perfectly fine stay and were satisfied but I cannot rate the place extremely high due to a lack of character. Good but not great. I might look for a little more character for our next Munich stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#12 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.