We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good, but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kriemhild

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kriemhild to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kriemhild
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 382 hotels in Munich
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's good, but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

People in Kriemhild are really friendly. We had a misunderstanding in reservation, but they managed it really well. Location is good; very quiet, but still near to tram stops and Hirschgarten. Plus; the cleanest hotel I've ever been!

They do sell Munich's public transportation tickets, but not the ones we needed: child's day ticket and combined day & airport ticket. Of course you can buy them easily at the Romanplatz tram stop, so it's not a big deal.

For someone it could be a trouble that the common computer has not printer connected; if you happen to need boarding passes.

Breakfast is OK, but no warm dishes. (You can have early "brotzeit" in town)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    74
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
108
91
14
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On our recent trip to Germany we spent three nights at the Hotel Kriemhild in Munich. Given the reviews that I had read ion Tripadvisor, I probably expected a little more. Don't get me wrong this is a nice little hotel in a nice Muncih suberb and it cetainly met our needs quite well. The ambiance and character, however, were somewhat lacking.

Our room was adequate but reasonably small, particularly the bathroom area. Everthing was neat and clean and in fine working order. There is free WIFI in all of the rooms and it seemed to work consistently. There were also ample plugs for charging.

The breakfast room is relatively small but there was a very nice buffet with all the ususal items. There are no prepared eggs and meats as we occasionally experienced at other hotels. The staff were all very nice and extremely helful whenever we needed any assistance.

The Hirschberg Bier Garden is two blocks away and was a nice place for an evening meal. In addition there was a wine store and shopping a couple of blocks away. The tram to the city (about 20 minutes) is also a couple of blocks away - very convenient.

If you do have a car aand are not overly familier with Germany this is not a bad choice . it is easy to get to off the Autobans and there is a limited amount of free parking. We actually had no problems getting a space throughout our stay. This is primarily the reason we chose this hotel.

All in all, I would say we had a perfectly fine stay and were satisfied but I cannot rate the place extremely high due to a lack of character. Good but not great. I might look for a little more character for our next Munich stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Oktoberfest. The hotel is located close to the Kriemhildenstrasse and Romanplatz tram station and is a 15 min ride to city. Nymphenburg palace is close by
Our room was adequate size with clean bathrooms. Breakfast included various types of breads, yogurt, boiled eggs, cold cut meats and cheeses.
Staff was very helpful and gave us some good recommendation on restaurants.
Price was high due to the Oktoberfest season

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trim, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was located in a quiet suburb close to Munich city center - about 10 minutes by tram. The tram stop was a 2 minute walk from the hotel. It was also walking distance to the Nymphenburg palace.

We were two couples travelling together and had booked a two bedroom suite. The room we were in was small but equipped very well with all the necessities. The bathroom was very clean and nice with a strong shower.

When we arrived the hostess at the reception was very friendly and helpful. We arrived earlier than 2 pm (the stipulated check-in time) and the rooms were made available to us which was a big plus. Breakfast was usual but adequate with good variety.

The staff at the reception also recommended a local restaurant close to the hotel for dinner which was very good.

We traveled during Oktoberfest and therefore had to pay higher than normal prices for the rooms which was not unexpected even though we made the booking well in advance.

Overall, a very good hotel which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here with my fiance and my parents during the first weekend of Oktoberfest and what a gem! This is lovely little hotel, very quaint, family oriented and just simply splendid.

The breakfast in the morning is very good, with a wide range of options, coffee, tea, lattes, you name it. The location is quite good as well - far enough outside the city to be away from all the crazy drunk people who come during Oktoberfest, but just about a 5 minute walk from a tram that brings you right downtown.

The rooms are simple, but sufficient, which is all we need. They all have tv's (didn't use ours) and very comfy beds. My parent's room was much bigger than ours, but I think they paid more... Our room was very very small but had the feel of a loft bedroom and was extremely cosy. We loved it!

In the morning when we were going to Oktoberfest, the woman working at the breakfast area offered to iron my Dirndl skirt for me - now how great of service is that!??!?!

Definitely would recommend to stay here - wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Having spent four nights in this lovely hotel earlier this month, I feel eager to share it with others. Located in a quiet neighborhood very near a tram stop, Hotel Kriemhild is a jewel. The rooms are quite spacious and nicely furnished. The breakfast is lovely, with fresh fruit, cereals, meats, and of course awesome breads. The staff is friendly and helpful. A block away is an enormous biergarten that truly has good food. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I toured Munich with adult son and his family, including two teenagers. We stayed in a double room, while son and family stayed in suite. Our room was much larger than most hotel rooms in Europe, but my son and his family were absolutely ecstatic with the suite! The main room was very large, bathroom beautifully appointed, and side room for teens had its own TV, ports for electronics and a window. Everyone was happy! Breakfast was a treat every day, and the hotel's location, close to the Schloss Nymphenburg, botanical gardens, community gardens and a huge biergarten couldn't have been more convenient. Although the Hotel is in the western section of Munich, a tram stop is one block away; the ride into the heart of Munich takes only 15 minutes. This is a family run hotel that really cares about it's guests!

Room Tip: The website features a 360 panaromic view of a suite. There is a roomy lift so all floors are easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kriemhild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kriemhild

Address: Guntherstrasse 16, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Munich
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#12 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#13 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kriemhild 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms, family-run hotel with privat and cosy atmosphere situated on a quietly side road in the heart of the exclusive residential area nearby Palace Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Kriemhild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kriemhild Munchen Hotel
Kriemhild Munchen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kriemhild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.