We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but Clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Deutsche Eiche to your Saves list
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Basic but Clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Spent 3 Nights here; nothing fantastic but did the job.

Public areas are rather tired looking and staff quite disinterested and really not very helpful when it came to getting advice on nightlife etc.

Had a business suite which looked identical to pictures on the website. Was clean, spacious and had a nice bathroom.

In room amenities included safe, TV and laptop. No Minibar and just a small wardrobe.

Quite good location and lots of eating, drinking, shopping and nightlife options available near by.

Food in hotel restaurant is basic and breakfast selection is very limited.

This is definatley a 3 star product and I would suggest that the money they charge for their suites is rather over the top for the product on offer.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    69
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
58
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

We stayed in a business suite. The room is a large, modern, nicely decorated space. Our bathroom had a nice sized tub and separate shower. Our king sized bed was two twins pushed together, but that is very common in Europe. The beds were comfortable. In the business suite you get a laptop computer which was very nice. The breakfast was served downstairs in their restaurant: your typical European hotel breakfast of bread, meat, cheese, eggs, etc. The restaurant also has a great lunch and dinner menu. The staff were very helpful in helping us get around the city. It's on a quiet street close to a beautiful square. Just be aware that the rooms do not have a/c. This was not a problem for us because the weather was beautiful, but just be aware if you book in the summer.

  • Liked — nice rooms, internet access in room, close to gay area
  • Disliked — hotel guests should have free access to spa
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

Overall, a good value with modernized rooms in a historic building. It is attached to a gay sauna which has men coming and going all day and night, however, the quiet of the rooms are not affected. The location is just south of the market and but a few blocks from the Merianplatz (main S-bahn/U-bahn downtown station).

The restaurant is a traditional German menu and nicely prepared with a very friendly wait staff.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — not much of a lobby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2007

good food, good location, nice room, good price, helpful staff and sauna ( gay bathhouse attached).

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

For the price, we were very please with this hotel and would stay again. We had a business suite, and our room was just renovated, so it was very nice. I might even opt for the full suite next time, as the price is very good compared with other boutique hotels.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and even tried to fix our in room laptop when it wasnt' working. They replaced it right away after they couldn't get it to work. We used the laptop a lot to find places to go out at night, clubs, directions to our next destination, and to book a hotel in Verona, Italy.

Munich is a great city, and if you're a gay couple you will feel right at home here. We weren't impressed with the Sauna, but that isn't our scene anyway. The Sauna is a bit on the seedy side, but you don't have to use it. You just have to walk by it to get to the elevator. The elevator is very small, too small for more than one person with luggage.

The breakfast was great, as was the service. Very friendly staff. The hotel is right next to VirtualienMarket, a great place to eat and shop, and GartnerPlatz, where there was an absolutely amazing outdoor street festival. I think we were just lucky though, as I believe that was a once a year event. (We were there in mid July)

Overall, a great place to stay, but go for a business suite or other type of superior room. Avoid the cheaper rooms unless you are a serious budget traveller. It's worth the extra money for the nicer rooms.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, renovated, sleek rooms, in room laptop with internet
  • Disliked — Elevator, Sauna nearby
  • Tips/Secrets — It's worth the extra money for the nicer rooms.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed at the Deutsche Eiche for the fourth time in Mai for a weekend. Rooms are simple but very comfortable. Location is perfect as you are within walking distance from all major sights. The neighbourhood is wonderful. Hotel staff is professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

The hotel itself is okay. My room was fairly sized, clean and met all my expectations. Not very spectacular, though, average standard.

But... for me it posed little to no problems, but had I been aware that this was really a more than gay-friendly hotel I might have reconsidered my decision to stay there. Don't get me wrong on this, I did not feel really uncomfortable and of course went completely undisturbed all the time, but still...

Maybe I am just slightly too conservative for this.

All in all: if you are female, gay or very relaxed, I could really recommend this hotel to you.
I personally would not stay there again, but I'm to be blamed for this myself.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deutsche Eiche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.