We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first choice in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Deutsche Eiche to your Saves list
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My first choice in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Boutique hotel in a nice and quiet downtown neighborhood, a few steps from Viktualienmarkt. Lots of small restaurants and wine bars in walking distance; also Banks, drug store, supermarket and gift shops. Rooms are functional and beautifully designed, with warm hardwood floors and an illuminated glass sink. Hotel can be reached easily with public transport from the airport: S-Bahn to Ostbahnhof, then bus 62 to Gaertnerplatz. The in-house restaurant is good, reservation recommended on weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms to the backyard are very quiet, but the street in front is not very busy or noisy either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    68
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
56
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

my boyfreind and i stay in this hotel for 8 nights! and we love it all!
best location, big and clean sauna, very good restaurant wich open untill late at night!
and the most important thing: the staff in the hotel and restaurand are so so nice and kind and will to help all the time with a smile, especially: roger! walter! and sebastian!
thank you very much for a excellent vacation!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely marvelous, great bathroom comfy bed and near everything. Stayed here for our twentyeth anniversary. Within walking distance of vittlesmarket and Marion platz. Public transportation steps away. Great restaurant serves complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights during the Oktoberfest & it was nice to see a hotel that still offered a good rate where all the other hotels charged ridiculous overpriced rates. The hotel is in a great area of various restaurants, cafés & bars. It is easy to get to from the main central train station. A short tram ride which stops almost outside the hotel. From the airport the train station is no more than a 5 minute walk. The rooms were huge for European standards. Mine came with an extremely comfortable queen size bed plus a couch & desk. They also had a complimentary mini bar with beers & non alcoholic drinks included in the room rate. The bathroom was quite large with a great shower. It is decorated in a modern style & been done well. Breakfast was included as well with the usual German continental style of cereal! breads, cold meats & fruit. Perfect for me. The main shopping & tourist area of Marienplatz was only a 5 minute walk as well. It is a gay owned hotel but there were many straight couples staying when I was there & it is very accomodating for both gay & straight cliental. The rooms were very quiet as well. I never heard a thing the entire time I was there from anyone else. The staff were all very helpful & polite. Nothing was to much trouble. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Munich.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed here during our last night in Munich for Oktoberfest and thought it was a great hotel stay. We got a quiet room on the first floor that was nicely sized, clean, cool and stylish. Liked the little extras such as the complimentary bar & welcome drink, the gingerbread cookie hearts and toiletries. The wifi worked well. The staff was great & we felt inclusive. Perfect location to Marienplatz and close to everything...there's even a fabulous gourmet store around the corner. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful. We paid 189 euros for one night which translated to approx $275 Canadian after the exchange rate. We thought that was pretty pricey but of course, it was in the middle of Oktoberfest. Great way to end our trip and would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First, please note that this is a gay hotel. They are certainly straight-friendly and welcoming to all. But, just be aware that there is a gay sauna on the premises and most of the guests will be gay.

Now, having said that, as a gay man, I absolutely love this hotel. It is European, not American (e.g. Hilton, Marriott, etc). But, the rooms are nice sized (not large) and the bathrooms are fabulous. Housekeeping service is good - not overly attentive, but they keep the room clean. They have free wi-fi if that's important to you. The front desk is shared with the sauna, but someone is always available and willing to help.

The restaurant on the premises has the best German food in town.

The location is terrific if you want to be close (half a mile) to the Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. A tram line is at the end of the block.

The price is very reasonable, especially for the location and the services provided, except during the Oktoberfest. (But then again, NOTHING is cheap during the Oktoberfest.)

Note that there is a very small elevator, but unless you are on the 5th floor, you will have to either walk up or down half a flight of stairs. As an older man, that's not terribly easy for me with my suitcase and they don't have staff to help with luggage.

For the location, the price, the room size, the presence of an elevator, the close proximity of the restaurant, and a European style hotel, I choose the Deutsche-Eiche every time I stay in Munich and having been doing so for 20 years.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, ask for the 5th floor where the elevator stops on the level. Rooms whose w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We rented one of the apartments, across the street from the hotel, to capture the feeling of being a local Müncher. Located on the first floor, the apartment had neither elevator access nor air conditioning. Still, it was clean, well equipped, and spacious. A desk provided a reasonable space upon which to work, as well as a complimentary laptop (IBM Thinkpad) and clock/ipod docking station. A small balcony had sitting area and table, overlooking a quiet, shared courtyard. The kitchen area had a table for 4, fridge, microwave, stove, sink, as well as cutlery, china, basic utensils ... sufficient to eating in if you prefer. The breakfast buffet across the street at the hotel was included with our room rate; it was basic but enjoyable and included an assortment of hot/cold food, bread, coffee/espresso, etc.. Couldn't ask for a much better location, a block from major sites, public transport, many restaurants and small shops, and parks. We visited the rooftop patio of the hotel but it was mostly unremarkable (basic, small, and overlooking many rooftops) -- although the view was useful in gaining an orientation to nearby points of interest. I'd rent an apartment again although perhaps on not so hot a day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deutsche Eiche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.