We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Save Saved
You added Hotel Deutsche Eiche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 378 hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in room 41 suite. Very pleasant staff and quiet location. Luxury room with excellent facilities. Only draw back was cleaning. There were a few areas where dust had gathered. Otherwise highly recommended. Expensive but worth the money. I viewed the single room and double room both nice but less superior.

Room Tip: 41 top floor with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
51
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and have to say we really enjoyed it. Room was of a good size and comfortable. All amenities available. Staff were extremely helpful and the adjoining restaurant had a large menu with a mix of traditional and modern choices. Meal was very tasty and although wine list was small on the recommendation of staff we had an Austrian white - excellent. Pleasantly surprised at cost of meal since Munich can be expensive.
We would stay again since location, facilities and price were good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect for walking around the city center!
The rooms are small but modern and clean. The restaurant is open till 11pm with kitchen and with even some dishes till 1am
But the huge gay sauna downstairs operates 24/7/365!!!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerque, France
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel clients can pop in and out of the gay sauna at any time of the day and come back later without an extra charge.

We all know that feeling. You enter a sauna, pay a lot but nothing's going on. You do not want to leave the spot because then the return on your small investment is zero. So you are stucked, waiting in vain for your prince charming. Or it's the opposite. The place is jam-packed and you where thinking of a relaxed evening after a day of hard working. But no quiet place to find.

This sauna has the solution for its customers. They can try again later and come back after a few hours without having to pay anything extra. That's really interesting. Besides of that, the gay crowd inside is VERY international.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed there after I flew from Beijing to Munich and had an overnight in the city. To get to the hotel you can use the train from the airport stopping at Isartor Munchen. The hotel is located a walking distance from there and also Marienplatz. The staff is friendly and the rooms are nice. The restaurant serves delicious dishes. Recommended.

Room Tip: Street view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is located in a very central, nice and quite area which 5 mintes walk to old town and 5 minutes walk to the gay street "Muller" also few minute walk to the famuos German Museum "Deutsches Museum" on Isar River, the Hotel it self is very clean the staff are very very very nice, the resturant is cosy and the food is excellent, and one big added value for gay men is the attached sauna, which the best in Munich.

Room Tip: Generally speaking all rooms are quite, our room was facing the street but no problem with the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend to visit Munich and the Xmas markets. The location is perfect for discovering the city centre and if you have had a tiring day then it is great to have the sauna downstairs to relax. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable and the restaurant and breakfast is very cozy and food is good quality.
The only thing that stops me giving this hotel 5 stars was the service. I found the service to be quite robotic, no personal touches etc. Also for the price of the rooms i was suprised that i had to pay extra for the sauna downstairs even though i got a discount. The price to enter was 14 euro. I think it would have made a lot of difference if the Sauna was included giving you more of a feeling that you are a welcomed guest.
We stayed in room 22 with a street view. Good sized room for two people. Good internet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deutsche Eiche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.