We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Deutsche Eiche to your Saves list
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Super friendly staff! BEAUTIFUL rooms and a huge bathhouse. This hotel is worth every penny! Though if you are there during the hottest day of year (as we were) make sure you ask for a room with AC (which we did not). But even with the heat we had such a great time we extended our stay! Munich is an amazing city and the location of this hotel is fantastic in the city. Wish I were there now!

Room Tip: If your there in the summer, make sure you get a room with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    69
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
58
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A lovely hotel. In central Munich. The neighbourhood has a friendly and cosy atmosphere. Public transport (2 tramlines) just around the corner on the Reichenbachplatz. The two nearby metro stations (Marienplatz and Frauenhoferstrasse) can be reached within a five minute walk. The area is wonderful, close to the Viktualienmark. As a matter of fact, all the main attractions are within walking distance. And also the the gay venues. For a sauna visit you don't have to walk at all. Even better, you don't have to leave the hotel. The very nice, clean and exiting gay sauna is on the ground floor of the hotel, and part of the hotel. Hotel guests get discount. You can also have a good mail and a nice drink in the sauna. Quality is very good and so are the really abundant german portions. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast offers plenty of choice. All the staff are very helpful, friendly and well informed about Munich and it's places of interest and things to do. The hotel is also a very popular meeting point for gays in Munich and outside. The quality provided is for a fair price. I can recommend Hotel Deutsche Eiche.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms are good and large by European standards, with modern bathrooms, good beds. Very clean. A mini fridge in the room with complementary beer and water, a nice touch. Typical included continental breakfast. The hotel includes a mostly gay bar and restaurant with a very friendly clientele, and the nicest gay bathhouse I've ever been in -- highly recommended whether you stay in the hotel or not! I will definitely return to this hotel in the future and would recommend it especially for gay travelers. Also, a good location easily walkable to city center and the gay section.

The negatives are minimal but notable: hotel desk staff is a bit surly and not real helpful in the concierge-type information. It's very hard to get a taxi at this hotel and staff does not help with this. The rooms are a bit dark even with all the lights on. Most questionable is that the guy at the desk could not locate my reservation even though I had my confirmation number and a printout of the confirmation. Luckily it was not a big problem because they had available rooms, but I had to be pushy to get him to honor the quoted rate. Not cool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was a perfect City Break when we stayed here just before Christmas 2011 to savour the famous Christmas Markets, and enjoy Munich at its winter best. The Deutscher Eiche truly has a heart of oak, solid, dependable, and rich in history. From the simple on-line check-in, the quality of the welcome, the spotless rooms and quality bedding, or just the simple, freshly cooked breakfast you will not be disappointed. Just jump off the No18 Tram and you are in the front door, or a short walk from the hotel and you are in the centre of the old city. This was our third stay, and we will be returning again this year. Good food, excellent service, even if it is just a beer, dinner, or the great breakfast (scrambled eggs and bacon are the best) we were always satisfied. I ordered the schnitzel and this was perfectly cooked and served with a fresh salad garnish and piping hot French fries. This hotel is best suited to couples as there are few facilities; just the bar/restaurant area in this old town house but that is the attraction for us. Clean, simple, and mid price, ideal for a long weekend, or longer stay, quality and style in a great setting.

Room Tip: Book early, standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a real gem! The location near Viktualien Markt is excellent. You are 10 minutes from Marienplatz. The rooms are simple and small but more than adequate. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast included in the price is excellent! The gay vibe is very welcoming without being "in your face".

Room Tip: Try to request a room that is not on the street and upgrade to the "comfort" room if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel has a few quirks and isn't for everybody. Otherwise, it's a very nice hotel in a great location that isn't too expensive for Munich. It's clean, modern, a very good breakfast is included, and the staff tries hard to be helpful. The location is great as it's close to the Marienplatz, beer garden, good shopping, good restaurants, and public transit. Essentially, it's in the middle of the action. Really convenient for seeing everything.

Our room was a good size, the bed was good quality, there was a good computer/work desk, there were curtains, sheers, and metal shutters that could be raised and lowered for more privacy and sound protection (which seemed weird to me but they worked, so there's that). I love that they have it set up for you to put your room key in a slot near the front door to turn on the lights in your room and when you leave the room, you take the key and all the lights are turned off. It's energy conscious and slick. The only clear downside of the room was the AC, which didn't cool the room as well as we liked. One quirk of the room was that the room was separated from the bathroom by frosted glass and the door to the bathroom was a sliding door that didn't quite close all the way. If you're a shy bathroom user, you won't like this. If you trust your partner/roommate/spouse or tend to leave the bathroom door open anyway, nothing to worry about. Another quirk which seemed to be a German thing rather specific to this hotel was that the pillows weren't at all firm. If you're German, you're fine. If you're American, hey, you're the one that came here, not the other way around.

The bathroom is a very good size. It's very stylishly appointed. The lighting is ample, which is a particular preference of mine. I prefer a lot of light. There is a tub and a shower in the bathroom. The shower is roomy and the tub is pretty big. The sink and counter in our room were one continuous piece with plenty of room for toiletries. As well, the floor of the bathroom was heated. Another slick feature of the hotel room.

The internet was free and a good speed. The quirky thing with the internet access was that you had to log back in every time you wanted to use it, even if you'd put your computer or phone to sleep for just a few minutes. That's the kind of thing that drives me a little nutty, but, once you logged back in, service was fast and reliable. And, they provided a laptop computer in the room to use as well.

The elevator was clearly a much later add on to the hotel. It wasn't very big, a European style, it seems, and it didn't stop directly at any of the floors except the lobby. When the door opened to our stop, we then had to go down half a flight of stairs to our floor. This wasn't a big problem for us but it might be inconvenient for some and seems a little odd.

Finally, this hotel seems to be ground zero for gay Munich. The local Pride parade takes place right down the street. The hotel itself has a men's bathhouse on the ground floor. There is literature about gay activities in Munich in the lobby and a quasi-shrine to King Ludwig II of Bavaria, who, turns out, wasn't mad but gay. My wife and I joked that it wasn't a gay-friendly hotel, it was straight-friendly. There were all types of people staying at the hotel, young and old, families with young children, couples. Everyone seemed equally comfortable and welcome. If you are gay, this hotel is likely a plus. If you hate gays, this isn't the hotel for you, which is too bad for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We've stayed here several times. It's cheap, clean, modern, and very well located. Breakfast is a bit limited, but the restaurant has excellent Bavarian food at good prices for lunch and dinner. Staff is sweet. Two downers: (1) the wi-fi system is temperamental and the staff don't seem to have a clue how to help you when you get locked out; (2) the mattresses now have some sort of plastic cover, like you use with children who wet the bed. There's a thin pad over it, but not thick enough to protect you. We wound up sweating, tossing and turning. This might be a deal breaker for some people, and probably is for us as well. If that doesn't worry you, you should be fine.

Room Tip: Always get a "comfort room" or a suite. The price difference is modest, but the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Deutsche Eiche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsche Eiche

Address: Reichenbachstrasse 13 | Gärtnerplatzviertel, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Deutsche Eiche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deutsche Eiche Hotel
Deutsche Eiche Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Deutsche Eiche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.