We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Am Nockherberg Hotel

Am Nockherberg Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Am Nockherberg Hotel to your Saves list
Am Nockherberg Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nockherstrasse 38A | Au, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed here for four nights in a double room. The hotel is very clean, staff is very helpful and kind, and interior of the hotel makes you feel comfortable. While booking my room, I thought that it is closer to the city center. From train station to the hotel, it takes ten minutes by walking. But it takes two minutes by walking to reach the nearest metro station, so this solves all transportation problems, as you can go anywhere by metro in Munich. It is in a quiet area, away from the noise of city center. The breakfast was really good, I can throw out that it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I had. The only thing about the hotel is that it has old fashion furnitures and system. But everything I tried works, so no worries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
12
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel provides both classical hotel rooms as well as hotel apartment rooms. I spent about one month in a one bedroom apartment room of about 50m2.

Pros:
- situated in a quiet residential neighborhood. You feel like you are living in Munich, not staying at a hotel.
- all furniture is from IKEA, but it's is very efficient and clean
- laundry on site
- tasty breakfast
- generally friendly and helpful staff (except for checkout -- see below)

Cons:
- terrible Internet connection drops all the time. It is simply not worth the money and they cannot fix it despite countless complaints. One star down for this.
- very tight "duplex" parking. Only small cars fit.
- no elevator to many units
- checkout left a bitter taste: Our cancellation notice was 14 days. Our request to move out sooner if they can rent out to a new guest was denied. However, 2 days before the end of the 14 day period we were denied access to our room on the reason that we "departed". In my book one does not depart if we still pay and have the keys. The hotel should not judge whether we departed or not. One star down for this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenija
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in a triple room. The room was in fact a bit small but this is the only real (but not really important as far as we're concerned) complaint that I can make about this hotel. The stay was really pleasant, comfy beds, clean room and bathroom, it was really quite, delicious breakfast with a really vast choice of food (we're more into continental breakfast so we were more than satisfied, there is not a huge choice of sweets though, keep that in mind just in case).
The staff is really friendly and willing to help, I got ice for my ankle even if it was almost midnight without any problem.
The hotel is just 2 minutes away from the metro station and reaching Marienplatz is a piece of cake. The hotel offers also a parking place for 9€ per day. Overall very good quality-price ratio.
I can only recommend this hotel, our stay was more than satisfying and we will stay in this hotel again if in Munich.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel was a real find. Everything catered for the guest, Friendly helpful staff from directions, general advice, good humour and printing forgotten tickets. The breakfast was fantastic, but them again i am a big fan of german breakfasts.

Its situated in a peaceful enclave just outside the center, away from throngs of tourists, giving you a chance to sample some local atmosphere.

If I was looking for one drawback, its that the curtains leave a little bit too much light in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Hotel Am Nockerberg is a small specialty hotel only a few stops from the main Bahnhof on the underground. The area is quiet residential. The room was meticulous with a small kitchenette. The breakfast buffet (included) was sumptuous. The staff was pleasant and helpful. They have one free Internet computer near the office. I had problems getting online from our room probably because we were downstairs. Munich is more expensive than Berlin, so the room price is comparable to other small hotels; however the breakfast and location alone would encourage us to return. Also, there is a park nearby where my husband ran each morning and the Nockerberg Biergarten is at the edge of this park.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

hidden gem very close to metro stop...
The breakfast here was so great that I left every day so happy to enjoy my sightseeing adventures
safe, clean, and great service from the whole team! The breakfast staff pays attention to what you like, the lobby staff gives helpful tips for hidden gems in Bavaria, and located in a quiet place to sleep very well... would come again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The hotel is located extremely close to the subway station and hence makes travelling around the city pretty simple. However, its a little difficult to locate (might be just me) and definitely isn't very grand. The morning breakfast doesn't have too much of a spread either. However the staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Am Nockherberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Nockherberg Hotel

Address: Nockherstrasse 38A | Au, 81541 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Nockherberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Am Nockherberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Am Nockherberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.