We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but costly parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acanthushotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Acanthushotel to your Saves list
Acanthushotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Hauptfeuerwache 14, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 385 Hotels in Munich
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“great location but costly parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were on a driving tour of southern germany booked by a travel agent the hotel website says there is parking and underground parking nearby - what they dont tell you is that you need to reserve thier parking spaces or use the nearby (five minutes walk) away parking garage at 18 euros a day. We arrived on the wettest day of the year - it was the rain that caused so much flooding to Germany and central europe so we we were tired and very wet and the receptionist was rather shirty about the the need to use the parking garage as we hadnt reserved a spot in their garage as they only have five spaces.

The room was very small so small in fact that the bathroom door couldnt open all the way as it hit the bed and there was no space to put a bedside cabinet beside the bed. Had to be carfeul not to dangle a leg or an arm out of bed in case it got hit.

The room was dark rather dingy and cramped.

The location however could not be faulted it was right in the centre of town and few minutes walk to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
27
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snarestone
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2012 and found the Acanthus a very conveniently located base, with an easy walk along the pleasant Sendlinger Strasse to the old town and Viktuallen Markt. Also easy public transport connection to the airport via U-Bahn and S-Bahn. The rooms were spacious, clean and individual - not new but we liked the antique furniture. The breakfast was excellent, with loads of choice. The manager from Oregon was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the German receptionist less so, although we speak German, so it wasn't a language thing. We thought the hotel was good value for a city break if you want a bit of local charm, rather than corporate saminess.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Four of us stayed for two nights July 5 and 6, 2012, before going to Austria. Rooms clean and comfortable. Ask for a room facing the back away from the street. We did not have ac. English is spoken. The night manager is from Oregon and on his own time, booked our train tickets to Salzburg and saved us $70 per couple in the process. Easy to get to by airport train although it did help that a Munich citizen gave us much assistance. Good location for walking around the center of the city. Breakfast was abundant, tasty, and well served. Munich is a grat city and if we make it back we will stay here.

Room Tip: Request a room facin away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I've been in acanthus just for one night and it was enough to understand that, you can spend your money in a better way,to sleep in Munich.

Mr. Witzmann as receptionist was very unkindly and arrogant, breakfast is not included and when you pay € 150 for one night, i think is incredible, rooms are dirty, lift is an archeological repert, Tv from the last century.

listen to me, this is not the right place,Munich offer better chances at loweat prices, or higher level for the same money.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I've been here several times, and I must say concerning price-value ratio it is better than most 3 star Hotels in german cities. Rooms have a certain "german style" ("antic furniture", see pics). bath is ok, breakfast is really good and even if you are a bit late in he morning they will not hustle you to finish so they can clean up... Location is also good, Sendlinger Straße is a shopping area and brings you directly to the city centre in a few minutes. Only problem is, that the sagging mattress gave me a pain in the morning and a big problem to find sleep. Service got two point because the guy is kind of moody. When I asked him if he could print something very improtant for me, which I would defnitely pay, he said: Sorry I got no vacant USB slot right now, but there's a copy shop in this or this road... and the housekeeping doesn't really respect the "do not disturb" sign, they would just come in. ... What else?
- mini bar prices are normal
- TV is old and way oo small
- view from the window to the street is good (beautiful historical building)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at the Acanthushotel for the Electronica Tradeshow at the Messe Center. The hotel is perfectly located near the U2 U-Bahn station which is about 10 stops from the Messe center. The hotel is within about a 10 min. walk from Marienplatz and about 20 min. from the Hofbrau House.

The hotel has wireless internet for about 5.5 Euro for a 24 hour period of time. However, they were frequently running out of them and only had the 12.5 Euro cards available. There is a Starbucks nearby which offers free internet access as well as the Apple store near Marienplatz.

My room was on the 4th floor right behind the tiny elevator. I thought it would be noisy, but I never heard it (though I tend to be a sound sleeper).

Breakfast was good and felt it was good for 8 Euro.

Only some of the staff spoke clear English and some didn't speak English at all.

Overall, the hotel wasn't the most comfortable, but the price and location made it a great compromise. No A/C that I could see, so it could be hot in the summer time. My room was on the street side and the street sweeper woke me up early Saturday morning as my window was open.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed here 3 nights in Sept 2010. The room was decently spacious as well as the bathroom. The elevator was a little small !!! (holds 1 person + 1 large bag), but got the job done. The breakfast here was outstanding - a great spread of meats, cheeses, bread, and also lots of local delicacies. It was just what we were looking for and there is a very cute breakfast area to eat as well. We found the front desk to not be over the top with customer service, but attentive to all needs and helpful with anything you requested. No free parking but we dropped our car off so no problem. We took the subway to the airport also and that was within walking distance (very easy!!).

Overall a very nice hotel and we would consider it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acanthushotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acanthushotel

Address: An der Hauptfeuerwache 14, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acanthushotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Acanthushotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acanthushotel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acanthushotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.